We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sarasota Surf and Racquet Club

Certificate of Excellence
5900 Midnight Pass Road, Sarasota, FL 34242
Sarasota Surf and Racquet Club
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    31
    13
    2
    2
See reviews for
81
19
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (122)
  • Mar-May only
    (41)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (36)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (24)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (21)
All months
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

As a family, we've stayed at SSRC on an almost annual basis for over 10 years. The beach is undeniably beautiful. Siesta Key and the surrounding area are tourist and family-friendly. We've never had a bad time on Siesta Key. However, this year we noticed a less-than-hospitable attitude among the SSRC staffers in the office. They displayed no enthusiasm for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Kerry W, Guest Services at Sarasota Surf and Racquet Club, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. We are glad to hear that you and your family are very comfortable at SSRC, and that overall your trip was a good experience. We strive for excellence in customer service, so we are disappointed that our staff was not hospitable and we will address that issue. We hope... More 

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our family of 4 (kids ages 6 & 8) have stayed in Y508 for the last few years over spring break and have had a wonderful time. The beach is one of the most beautiful in the world, and the SSRC has become one of our favorite resorts. It is the only resort on Siesta that has a nice large... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Kerry W, Guest Services at Sarasota Surf and Racquet Club, responded to this review

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed another vacation here at SSRC. We will be sure to let the owner of Y508 know that you have specifically chosen their unit because of the recent updates, nice furnishings, beach view and direct views of the sunset. Thank you for considering us one of your favorite resorts. We look forward... More 

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We just completed our first nine day stay at the Sarasota Surf and Raquet Club. It was wonderful!! Our condo was large, well equipped, beautifully furnished, and very clean. The location of this facility is convenient to stores, restaurants, movie theaters, and attractions. It was nice to have the choice of two pools or a fabulous beach. The staff were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Kerry W, Guest Services at Sarasota Surf and Racquet Club, responded to this review

It is so nice to hear that you had a great vacation at SSRC. We are glad that you enjoyed all of our amenities, beautiful beach and our convenient location to the stores, restaurants and attractions. Thank you for recommending our facility and we look forward to your next visit. Sincerely, Kerry Wanglund, Guest Services More 

Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have stayed at the SSRC (Y bldg) several times and have always had a great experience. The rooms we have selected are updated, very clean and have incredible views. Grouds maintenance/landscaping is flawless, pools inviting and just step down onto the beach. Plenty of beach chairs are provided - umbrellas are available for daily rental. Excellent facility for all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Kerry W, Guest Services at Sarasota Surf and Racquet Club, responded to this review

We are thrilled to hear that you have had great experiences every time you have stayed at SSRC. Our staff works hard to keep our property well maintained and it is nice to know that our guests appreciate their efforts. Thank you for making SSRC your Siesta Key vacation destination. Sincerely, Kerry Wanglund, Guest Services More 

New Brunswick, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This was our first stay at the SSRS where we (2 adults and one 2 and half year old child) stayed in unit T1206. The unit itself was very clean, cozy and was not outdated as some other units appear to be. The only little thing that I would add to the unit would be beach towels as it is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Kerry W, Guest Services at Sarasota Surf and Racquet Club, responded to this review

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your first visit to the Sarasota Surf & Racquet Club. Our staff works hard to ensure that the grounds are well maintained for the pleasure of everyone staying with us. The beach is naturally beautiful and we are grateful to be able to share it with our guests. We look forward to... More 

Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
19 hotel reviews
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015

We rented a 2 bedroom, 2 bath condo for a month this past February. The SSRC is on a perfect location of Siesta Key beach. You can walk for 40 minutes on way toward Siesta Key Village or 25 minutes another direction to the "wall". They offer free yoga 3x/week and the instructor was great. She is very instructive and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Kerry W, Guest Services at Sarasota Surf and Racquet Club, responded to this review

We are fortunate to have such a great location on such a beautiful beach, and are thrilled that you enjoyed it. We are glad that you enjoyed the yoga on the beach, meeting people at sunset and all of the amenities SSRC has to offer. We are also happy to hear that you also enjoyed the Village, the drum circle... More 

Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015

We stay at SSRC every Spring Break and this stay was another good one. Check in was quick and smooth. Parking was adequate, maids checked on us for towel needs, love the new laundry card system. Mike and Cameron patrolled the beach and pool area very politely, they also spent time with the guests kids :) We stayed in Y504... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kerry W, Guest Services at Sarasota Surf and Racquet Club, responded to this review

We would like to thank you for always taking the time to review your vacations with us at SSRC. We are so glad that you enjoyed another Spring Break with us. We always appreciate recommendations that might enhance our guests time spent with us. We hope to see you on any future visits to Siesta Key. Sincerely, Kerry Wanglund, Guest... More 

Zionsville, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2015

Our stay in W402 was great. Perfect layout for our group of 6. Loves the fact that there was no carpet! Nicely equipped kitchen. Comfy beds. Quick clean and towel service mid week was great. Beach and pool were great. Cabana company was the best too. Will return!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kerry W, Guest Services at Sarasota Surf and Racquet Club, responded to this review

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay in W402 and will be sure to relay it to the owner. It sounds like you enjoyed all of the amenities that SSRC has to offer. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Siesta Key. Sincerely, Kerry Wanglund, Guest Services More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015

Although the sunsets and the beach were beautiful, our short stay in W502 was not up to the standard expected for the price paid. From the moment we walked into the unit there was a strong, unpleasant smell in the unit which never subsided the three days we were there. Knowing we were in Florida, you expected to see some... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kerry W, Guest Services at Sarasota Surf and Racquet Club, responded to this review

We are sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. We do have pest control done quarterly throughout the property, but occasionally insects can get inside the unit. We do have a housekeeping and maintenance staff that could have addressed some of the of the issues that you encountered during your stay. We are not permitted to leave any cleaning... More 

Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015

We stayed with our family at Christmas for a week and had a wonderful time. We came back in Feb for one week and ended up staying three. Everyone was so friendly, our condos had everything we needed and we were right on the beach. The tennis was fabulous and the sunset cocktails made the day complete Can hardly wait... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kerry W, Guest Services at Sarasota Surf and Racquet Club, responded to this review

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed both of your stays at SSRC. Our professionally organized Round Robin tennis tournaments are a great way for our guests and owners to get together. We are glad that you found the condo's well appointed and sunset cocktails do sound like a perfect way to to complete the day. We look forward... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

69 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (61)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (28)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities