We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sea Shells of Sanibel

Hotel website
Hotel virtual tour
2840 W. Gulf Dr., Sanibel Island, FL 33957
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Sea Shells of Sanibel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

77 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sea Shells of Sanibel
See the most recent reviews
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2015 via mobile

Been here many times. Can't wait to go again next year. Can't find somewhere cheaper to stay on island and only a 5 min walk to the beach. Rms are great, staff very friendly. Great restaurants to go to and cute little shops. Never disappoints.

Helpful?
1 Thank lovemesomesanibel
Shela L, Manager at Sea Shells of Sanibel, responded to this review

We are thrilled to hear how much you love Sanibel and appreciate your positive feedback. We look forward to having you stay with us again! More 

Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2015

We loved everything about our condo. We rode bikes daily, used the condo pool daily, enjoyed our cart to pull the floats and chairs to the beach, and loved the peaceful atmosphere at our condo:) The island is full of surprises and never ending things to do. There were wonderful shops, restaurants, a lighthouse, Captiva island, and many other wonderful... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank SusanTalib
Shela L, Manager at Sea Shells of Sanibel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a glowing review! We genuinely appreciate all of the positive things you have to say about our place as well as the island. We truly strive to keep our guests happy and we are delighted to hear that you and your family had such a wonderful visit. We look forward to... More 

Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
183 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2015

We stayed in Unit #44. The unit is on the second floor of the condo, so if you have mobility problems you might want a ground floor apt. The management office, laundry, pool area were all sparkling clean and updated. You're not on the beach here folks, just be aware of the location and be ready for a hike to... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Roadrunnergo
Neenah, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2015

This condo is close to the beach, shopping and the nature preserve. Nice, but small pool. A great plus was being able to rent bikes on site for a reasonable cost. The condos are nicely decorated and clean. The screened in porches are very narrow, so hard for a group of people to sit in comfortably. We had to buy... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Deb122014
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2015

Sanibel Island is a wonderful getaway for families and couples. If you're looking for a relaxing, peaceful, friendly island that is extremely beautiful, bike friendly, full of nature and wild-life, look no further. I have been vacationing in Sanibel for 25 years. It's my favourite place on earth. It is not a party scene, no night clubs, so if you... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank BrendaLOVEStoTRAVEL
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2015

THE GOOD--nice flat screen TVs, good kitchen with lovely view of trees out of window and plentiful utensils, dishes, cookware. Updated showers in bathrooms. Access to bike trails closeby. THE BAD--long distance from beach with extremely limited beach access-has one dedicated access point-others along road are private. You will walk a long way. This unit is also upstairs so beware... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank nexttripleez
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015

At a minimum, when you pay for lodging, you should expect clean bedding and no cockroaches. After being greeted by a 2" roach on the kitchen counters, we never ate a meal there. The couch blanket and pillow had dried blood on them. Curtain rods were empty or broken. Mold lined the showers and curtains. Ants crawled around the kitchen... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank SeoulDoc
Shela L, Manager at Sea Shells of Sanibel, responded to this review

We sincerely apologize that you had a negative experience. Unit #33 is not in our rental program here at Sea Shells, and is rented out through the owner. We do not maintain that particular unit. We will forward your feedback to the owner and again, we regret that you did not have a better experience on your vacation. Thank you. More 

Naples, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2015

Unit 38..one of the worst hotel/condo experiences ever. We literally did not unpack the car. We complained and got our money back and left Sanibel altogether. Beware of Sea Shells and unit 38. Reeked like smoke, very dated and run down. The same goes for the overall resort. Pool is tiny and parking lot and tennis court are a mess.... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Walt R
Calamus, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2015

We stayed in Unit #38 on the 1st floor. Was very quiet where we stayed! The condo was a 2 bedroom/2 bath unit with lots of closet space. This unit was very clean. Plenty of towels, utensils, blankets, pillows and even several board games and reading materials were provided. Exterior grounds were kept up. Didn't appreciate hearing the lawn mower... More 

Helpful?
Thank Roxanne M
Shela L, Manager at Sea Shells of Sanibel, responded to this review

Hi Roxanne! Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your feedback and are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us! We apologize for the lawn service coming so early and we hope that your little ones are feeling better! We hope to see you again soon! More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2015 via mobile

We stayed in a unit at sea shells of Sanibel and it was a really great atmosphere. The unit seemed a tad bit outdated and could have had better cooking utensils and been a little bit more clean, but everything else was great. It is really close to the beach and great for a family vacation. Everyone at the office... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

65 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (50)
Viewed
Other (50)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
2.4 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#8 of 18 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 stars 1,319 reviews
4.1 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#14 of 18 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 stars 556 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Sanibel Island
Holiday Inn Sanibel Island
#17 of 18 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 stars 1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Shalimar Cottages and Motel
Shalimar Cottages and Motel
#6 of 18 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 stars 256 reviews
0.9 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#9 of 18 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 stars 937 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sanibel Inn
Sanibel Inn
#16 of 18 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 stars 1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay