We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sea Shells of Sanibel

Hotel website
Hotel virtual tour
2840 W. Gulf Dr., Sanibel Island, FL 33957
Special Offer
Summer Special Sale!
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sea Shells of Sanibel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Sea Shells of Sanibel
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    18
    8
    1
    6
See reviews for
28
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (59)
  • Mar-May only
    (26)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (15)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (9)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (9)
All months
Spokane, Washington
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

At a minimum, when you pay for lodging, you should expect clean bedding and no cockroaches. After being greeted by a 2" roach on the kitchen counters, we never ate a meal there. The couch blanket and pillow had dried blood on them. Curtain rods were empty or broken. Mold lined the showers and curtains. Ants crawled around the kitchen... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shela L, Manager at Sea Shells of Sanibel, responded to this review

We sincerely apologize that you had a negative experience. Unit #33 is not in our rental program here at Sea Shells, and is rented out through the owner. We do not maintain that particular unit. We will forward your feedback to the owner and again, we regret that you did not have a better experience on your vacation. Thank you. More 

Naples, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Unit 38..one of the worst hotel/condo experiences ever. We literally did not unpack the car. We complained and got our money back and left Sanibel altogether. Beware of Sea Shells and unit 38. Reeked like smoke, very dated and run down. The same goes for the overall resort. Pool is tiny and parking lot and tennis court are a mess.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Calamus, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed in Unit #38 on the 1st floor. Was very quiet where we stayed! The condo was a 2 bedroom/2 bath unit with lots of closet space. This unit was very clean. Plenty of towels, utensils, blankets, pillows and even several board games and reading materials were provided. Exterior grounds were kept up. Didn't appreciate hearing the lawn mower... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shela L, Manager at Sea Shells of Sanibel, responded to this review

Hi Roxanne! Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your feedback and are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us! We apologize for the lawn service coming so early and we hope that your little ones are feeling better! We hope to see you again soon! More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2015

We stayed in a unit at sea shells of Sanibel and it was a really great atmosphere. The unit seemed a tad bit outdated and could have had better cooking utensils and been a little bit more clean, but everything else was great. It is really close to the beach and great for a family vacation. Everyone at the office... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2015

The exteriors, grounds and common areas of the Seashells of Sanibel are very well maintained. The complex is quiet, and because it's not on the beach, it's an excellent value on the island. The beach isn't too far away and the bike path is right at the entrance to the complex. We have stayed at the Seashells off and on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Okoboji, Iowa
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2015

Have stayed here twice now, and enjoy the location. Quiet, yet very close to the beach. Nice pool in the complex, and tennis courts and shuffleboard available. Billy's bikes are available on-site to rent, and there is a preserve nearby you can pedal through. Beach is an easy stroll, and shelling is usually quite good. With a bike available, you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Pittsboro, North Carolina
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
33 hotel reviews
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2015

You usually get what you pay for. I needed a place to stay, did not need beach front and more interested in price. This fit all of these needs. It was clean, well furnished (especially the kitchen) and worked out well for us. Renters should note that these is no 'legal' beach access for some distance.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2015

This is our fourth stay at Sea Shells. We have always found these condos to be pleasant places to stay, and still do. This time we chose unit 8 and I have to say we were somewhat disappointed. The first thing we noticed upon arrival was a faint smell of "old dog" or cigarettes…or something. The unit appeared clean but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2015

We stayed in Unit 11 in the Seashells of Sanibel. Overall, it is a nice place for families. The wagon was perfect for taking kids to the beach. We could only find 2 sand toys though. There are books, mostly preschool aged, which were great for us. There were movies and games with missing pieces. The beds are too soft.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glenpool, Oklahoma, USA
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
27 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2014

We stayed in Unit 39 and was a great condo. We have never stayed in a unit that was supplied as well as this one was. Games, puzzles, kids videos, movies for the whole family, books. Then a fully supplied kitchen, extra towels and everything you could want for the beach. An amazing place to stay and only about a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

59 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (50)
Viewed
Other (50)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question