We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sea Shells of Sanibel

Hotel website
Hotel virtual tour
2840 W. Gulf Dr., Sanibel Island, FL 33957
Special Offer
Summer Special Sale!
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sea Shells of Sanibel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Sea Shells of Sanibel
Add Photo

66 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    29
    20
    9
    1
    7
See reviews for
30
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (66)
  • Mar-May only
    (30)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (18)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (9)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (9)
All months
Easton, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

First time to Sanibel and the price was great. We stayed in Unit #14 which has been updated and looks great. This unit is also close to the beach access. The unit was very spacious and nicely decorated with a beach theme. We really enjoyed our stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shela L, Manager at Sea Shells of Sanibel, responded to this review

We are excited to hear that you had such a wonderful first visit to Sea Shells and Sanibel. We hope that you will return to both! More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Been here many times. Can't wait to go again next year. Can't find somewhere cheaper to stay on island and only a 5 min walk to the beach. Rms are great, staff very friendly. Great restaurants to go to and cute little shops. Never disappoints.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shela L, Manager at Sea Shells of Sanibel, responded to this review

We are thrilled to hear how much you love Sanibel and appreciate your positive feedback. We look forward to having you stay with us again! More 

Charleston, West Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We loved everything about our condo. We rode bikes daily, used the condo pool daily, enjoyed our cart to pull the floats and chairs to the beach, and loved the peaceful atmosphere at our condo:) The island is full of surprises and never ending things to do. There were wonderful shops, restaurants, a lighthouse, Captiva island, and many other wonderful... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Shela L, Manager at Sea Shells of Sanibel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a glowing review! We genuinely appreciate all of the positive things you have to say about our place as well as the island. We truly strive to keep our guests happy and we are delighted to hear that you and your family had such a wonderful visit. We look forward to... More 

Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
29 hotel reviews
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed in Unit #44. The unit is on the second floor of the condo, so if you have mobility problems you might want a ground floor apt. The management office, laundry, pool area were all sparkling clean and updated. You're not on the beach here folks, just be aware of the location and be ready for a hike to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Neenah, Wisconsin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2015

This condo is close to the beach, shopping and the nature preserve. Nice, but small pool. A great plus was being able to rent bikes on site for a reasonable cost. The condos are nicely decorated and clean. The screened in porches are very narrow, so hard for a group of people to sit in comfortably. We had to buy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2015

Sanibel Island is a wonderful getaway for families and couples. If you're looking for a relaxing, peaceful, friendly island that is extremely beautiful, bike friendly, full of nature and wild-life, look no further. I have been vacationing in Sanibel for 25 years. It's my favourite place on earth. It is not a party scene, no night clubs, so if you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Houston, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2015

THE GOOD--nice flat screen TVs, good kitchen with lovely view of trees out of window and plentiful utensils, dishes, cookware. Updated showers in bathrooms. Access to bike trails closeby. THE BAD--long distance from beach with extremely limited beach access-has one dedicated access point-others along road are private. You will walk a long way. This unit is also upstairs so beware... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Spokane, Washington
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015

At a minimum, when you pay for lodging, you should expect clean bedding and no cockroaches. After being greeted by a 2" roach on the kitchen counters, we never ate a meal there. The couch blanket and pillow had dried blood on them. Curtain rods were empty or broken. Mold lined the showers and curtains. Ants crawled around the kitchen... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shela L, Manager at Sea Shells of Sanibel, responded to this review

We sincerely apologize that you had a negative experience. Unit #33 is not in our rental program here at Sea Shells, and is rented out through the owner. We do not maintain that particular unit. We will forward your feedback to the owner and again, we regret that you did not have a better experience on your vacation. Thank you. More 

Naples, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2015

Unit 38..one of the worst hotel/condo experiences ever. We literally did not unpack the car. We complained and got our money back and left Sanibel altogether. Beware of Sea Shells and unit 38. Reeked like smoke, very dated and run down. The same goes for the overall resort. Pool is tiny and parking lot and tennis court are a mess.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Calamus, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2015

We stayed in Unit #38 on the 1st floor. Was very quiet where we stayed! The condo was a 2 bedroom/2 bath unit with lots of closet space. This unit was very clean. Plenty of towels, utensils, blankets, pillows and even several board games and reading materials were provided. Exterior grounds were kept up. Didn't appreciate hearing the lawn mower... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shela L, Manager at Sea Shells of Sanibel, responded to this review

Hi Roxanne! Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your feedback and are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us! We apologize for the lawn service coming so early and we hope that your little ones are feeling better! We hope to see you again soon! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

59 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (50)
Viewed
Other (50)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay