We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Island Inn

3.0 of 5 3111 West Gulf Drive, Sanibel Island, FL 33957
Hotel website
Offers & Announcements
BOOK DIRECT & SAVE!!!
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Island Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Island Inn
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    495
    236
    68
    31
    10
See reviews for
226
414
23
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (840)
  • Mar-May only
    (214)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (264)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (181)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (181)
All months
Des Moines, Iowa
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This is the 3rd year we have stayed here and have just booked for 2016. The location is perfect, the rooms clean and comfortable. We have gotten to know the friendly staff which adds to the enjoyment. Great views of sunsets, right on the beach.

Was this review helpful? Yes
franklin,in
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Nice, large, clean rooms. Hotel grounds clean. Staff not friendly. Just making reservation seen to be a bother to them. Over heard them talking bad about a guest with a "stupid question". Not able to control air conditioner several days of 90 + and could not turn air up. The price of the room $$$ should be able to turn... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fishingflats, Manager at Island Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at the Island Inn last September and I truly apologize for the less than satisfactory experiences you encountered. The guest services you experienced is certainly not the norm or acceptable, but will be used to reiterate the Inn's policies concerning our valued guests. The maintenance incident described should have been addressed immediately when reported, so I... More 

Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My friend and I booked a reservation with the Island Inn based on the reviews. Needless to say we were NOT disappointed! The Kimball house was perfect. It was updated and quaint (and perfectly clean). We stayed on the 1st floor ocean side. Our "porch" door opened right onto the sand and we were literally steps away from the beach.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Fishingflats, Manager at Island Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Island Inn for your girls getaway and we are so glad you enjoyed your time with us. We hope your travels home to St. Louis were safe and you can make it back for another girls getaway to Sanibel Island soon! :-) More 

Cocoa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We checked the beach listings on Sanibel and chose Island Inn for its location, facilities and the professionalism of its presentation and marketing. We were not disappointed. We had a great time. One of the things we particularly enjoyed was the lounge enentertainment. The only downside was the room and meal were somewhat pricey, but you get what you pay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Fishingflats, Manager at Island Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying a the Island Inn and for taking the time to share your experience. We are so glad the Inn's guest services and website helped you choose our location and that the Inn's accommodations and amenities met your expectations. We will look forward to your return! :-) More 

Minnesota
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for just 2 nights on our way north along the gulf to the panhandle. We were welcomed at check-in & given a notebook detailing the grounds, tide-tables, activities, maps around the island, etc. Our room was in the Kimball Lodge (268), with views over the central courtyard and gulf coast. Our 1-bedroom, King bed was complete with full... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Fishingflats, Manager at Island Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying a the Island Inn and we are so glad our welcoming guest services and accommodations made choosing Sanibel Island that much easier! We will look forward to your return and being your seasonal neighbor soon! :-) More 

Hartford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
68 hotel reviews
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for a week in January at the Island Inn. We had a second floor room in the Matthews lodge with a full kitchen We loved the screened in lanai and gulf views...so tranquil. We couldn't have been more relaxed. If people are looking for an upscale resort with lots to do in the evening, I think that they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Fishingflats, Manager at Island Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying a the Island Inn and for taking the time to write a review of your experience. We are so glad that Sanibel Island's relaxed atmosphere combined with the Island Inn's low density, old Florida setting were a great match to your needs and expectations. We hope your travels home to Connecticut were safe and you are... More 

Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I went down to Sanibel Island for a nice romantic vacation. Of course being on a budget is always in the plan and we decided to go through Hotwire to get the best deal possible (great place for a great rate). We have used Hotwire in the past and never had a bad experience. But when we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Fishingflats, Manager at Island Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at the Island Inn and I’m sorry your expectations were not met. This is a textbook example of why the Inn strongly urges prospective guests to visit the Island Inn’s website for accurate and thorough information and to call the Inn directly to ask questions about our facilities, accommodations, amenities and guest services, ensuring your needs... More 

Kincardine, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Came here for our honeymoon and returned two years later when we are expecting! The room was modernized from our last visit, nice view and kitchenette. Love the pocket doors for privacy. Rented bikes for a reasonable price and have a number to call if anything goes wrong with the bike. Wifi is poor, they have several to choose from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Fishingflats, Manager at Island Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for returning to the island Inn for yet another wonderful celebration and we are so glad you enjoyed your overall stay. We hope your travels home to Canada were safe and you are able to return to the Island Inn again soon! :-) More 

Castle Rock, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Have stayed twice here now with the whole family and it gets better each time. Look forward to the stay because I know that here I can decompress and relax. Beach is perfect. Restaurant is a good choice as well. Good location on the island too.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Fishingflats, Manager at Island Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for being such a loyal guest of the Island Inn and for choosing to leave a review of your experiences. We will be anticipating your family's next arrival soon! :-) More 

Evergreen, Colorado
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Didn't realize when we made reservations that the Island Inn is the oldest of its kind on Sanibel Island. It's STILL charming! We stayed for 5 days in the Matthews House, and our accommodations were very nice and quite comfortable. Enjoyed the screened porch! The proximity to great shelling is a plus -- a lovely private beach. Traditions Restaurant serves... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fishingflats, Manager at Island Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at the Island Inn and for sharing your review. We are so glad you enjoyed your time at the Inn and that our location, accommodations and amenities only enhanced your Sanibel Island experience. We hope your travels home to CO were safe and you are able to return to the Island Inn again soon! :-) More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Inn

Address: 3111 West Gulf Drive, Sanibel Island, FL 33957
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Island Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Hotel Sanibel Island
Island Sanibel
Island Resort Sanibel
Is Sanibel
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sanibel Island
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Sanibel Island

487 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (449)
Viewed
Room/suite (73)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (104)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (84)
Viewed
View from room (41)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (130)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (38)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (13)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay