We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Island Inn

Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hotel website
3111 West Gulf Drive, Sanibel Island, FL 33957
Offers & Announcements
BOOK DIRECT & SAVE!!!
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Island Inn
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

1,069 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My husband and I spent 2 nights in the Island Inn while freestyling down the coast making last minute reservations with Hotels.com to find a place in Sanibel. The Inn is very charming and the grounds, beautiful and well kept. The whole vibe of this place was quiet and serene. We had a room in one of the 2 story... More 

Helpful?
Thank DianatheHunter
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed one night. The location is great. The staff was very helpful. The rooms are a little dated but that did not detract from a wonderful stay. The hotel is well situated for collecting shells and they have an area to wash them off. We would definitely come back

Helpful?
Thank HappyRetirees92662
Fishingflats, Manager at Island Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us, we are glad to hear that you may be back in the near future! Our hotel has been on this location since 1895 so it is imperative to us to preserve its original history! We look forward to seeing you again! More 

Hampshire
Level Contributor
63 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We had stayed on Sanibel back in 2010 and knew that 1. you must stay in a property with beach access (because of the US practice of allowing home owners to limit beach access) and 2. there are not many attractive hotels there (there are lots of rather unattractive hotel and condominium blocks all along the sea front which is... More 

Helpful?
Thank Terlow
Fishingflats, Public Relations Manager at Island Inn, responded to this review

We appreciate all the feedback! We are also happy to have received your email about coming back again to see us next year! Can't wait! Thank you for your visit and your review, looking forward to next time. More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The Island Inn is probably one of the best vacations that my husband have been on together. I highly recommend this place. You do you have to rent a car to get here. However, it is well worth the drive. It is right on the beach with some rooms having amazing views of the ocean AND the sun setting in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Red_Hopper
Fishingflats, Manager at Island Inn, responded to this review

How wonderful that we were apart of one of your best vacations! We certainly hope that this experience will bring you back! Thank you for your kind review! More 

Holden
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Nice accommodations. We were in the section that has been renovated and it showed. Very nice. Service was good and very friendly. This was a perfect spot to just relax and unwind for a few days. Easy beach access and plenty of beach chairs for everyone. Would go back and recommend the Island Inn looking for a relaxing place to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Allan B
Fishingflats, Manager at Island Inn, responded to this review

Happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and are likely to come back! We agree that our Inn is great for relaxing and subdued with a beautiful setting. Thank you for your review and recommendation. We hope to see you again! More 

maine
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

After dealing with the busy traffic on the mainland, it was pleasure to cross the bridge to Sanibel with it's quiet streets and unhurried lifestyle. Staying at the Island inn contributed to that sense of peace . It felt decadent to sit in the lounge in front of a gas fireplace, having a drink and enjoying the soft cool breeze... More 

Helpful?
Thank mainehatty
Fishingflats, Manager at Island Inn, responded to this review

It sounds like your stay was booth relaxing and enjoyable! Thank you for your review, we look forward to seeing you on Sanibel at the Inn again in the near future! More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

As a couple of elder frequent travellers we stayed for two nights at the Island Inn in december 2015. We had a room in the building near the parking lot which is not the newest one and we loved it. Quite spacy with a touch of colonial style and with all comfort we needed. Unfortunately for a third night it... More 

Helpful?
Thank Fabrizio H
Fishingflats, Manager at Island Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review, we are glad to hear that your stay was enjoyable! Our staff is always going above and beyond to accommodate our guests, thank you for mentioning this. Please come back to see us again soon! More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had 4 Nice days at the island inn. The weather was not good, it was really raining. The restaurant is great for dinner. Free parking. Nice heated pool, however the pool surrounding and yard seems a bit dull and not so Well utilized. Great to have laundry selfservice. Good kitchen and Nice room. We missed a Drying "string" for... More 

Helpful?
Thank NikolajEOstergaard
Fishingflats, Public Relations Manager at Island Inn, responded to this review

The rain is not usual for this time of year, but mother nature took over and gave a good soak. Due to the fact that it rained so much the water would have appeared a bit brown because of. The "drying" strings are currently being replaced. Glad you enjoyed the service! Thank you for your review. More 

Danville, California
Level Contributor
69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Island Inn is a historic property located in the perfect spot on the south Sanibel beach. The beach is wide and commonly covered with shells and other sea creatures. The Island Inn has a naturalist give a short talk on shells each morning at 9A for up to 15 people, then you walk on the beach with them, really... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank DJ D
Fishingflats, Public Relations Manager at Island Inn, responded to this review

We are happy to hear that the Island Inn was able to accommodate you well! We agree that the Kimball Lodge has the best of both worlds- sunset and sunrise views for all guests. Thank you for mentioning the beach walks, which are a unique attraction for our guests all year round. We look forward to having you back for... More 

Marengo, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed January 27th-30th. 2016. This is an older place that has been updated and well taken care of. We had a very clean room in Matthews Lodge room 211. The staff were friendly and helpful Especially the lady that checked us out on Saturday morning. They have a restaurant and bar there serving dinner, which was... More 

Helpful?
Thank WSuzanneM1
Fishingflats, Manager at Island Inn, responded to this review

Very glad to hear that you and your husband had an overall great stay at the Island Inn and that you were also able enjoy the Traditions restaurant for both the continental breakfast and the Traditions' dinner. We are aware that the outside lighting is sparse, this is because of the regulations that the hotel has to follow so that... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

606 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (571)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (91)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (130)
Viewed
Room/suite (85)
Viewed
View from room (48)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Other (197)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (35)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
2.8 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#8 of 18 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 stars 1,326 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
#2 of 18 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 stars 248 reviews
4.4 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#13 of 18 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 stars 556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Sanibel Island
Holiday Inn Sanibel Island
#17 of 18 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 stars 1,015 reviews
3.8 mi away
Song of the Sea
Song of the Sea
#10 of 18 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 stars 578 reviews
0.4 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#9 of 18 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 stars 949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay