We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

West Wind Inn

3.0 of 5 3345 West Gulf Drive, Sanibel Island, FL 33957
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
West Wind Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
West Wind Inn
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    235
    50
    39
    4
See reviews for
173
257
20
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (616)
  • Mar-May only
    (143)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (182)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (122)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (169)
All months
Paducah, Kentucky
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
21 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This was our second visit to West Wind Inn in three years.... Very relaxing with great view of the Gulf. Although the pool was very clean and the area around it was very inviting, we preferred the quieter beach lounging. Pool bar had great service and the sandwiches from the restaurant were very good. The walls seemed a bit thin... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Milton, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Pros - Clean, On the beach, Microwave, Fridge, Poolside bar and cafe, Front desk very friendly. Cons- Older property, Expensive, Key lock on door hard to open (doors need replacing and electronic locks for better security), Adjoining door in room rattled when people entered room next door. Could hear loud talking and coughing from room next door. We like Hampton... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
WWI-Guest-Services, General Manager at West Wind Inn, responded to this review

Dear Jaq777, Thank you for your recent stay and honest review of the West Wind Inn. I agree that one of our best attractions for guests is our location directly on the Gulf of Mexico. Our Upper Deck pool bar with an elevated view of the Gulf is 2nd to none. I also agree that replacing the old style keys... More 

Chaska, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The Good- Overall grounds, Pool, bar tenders, and waitresses. Outstanding !The beach access 2nd to none. The Bad- Besides the 2 gentlemen who checked us in, the hotel "staff" are not to be bothered, no kitchenette even though you paid for one? Not THEIR problem. Need glasses, plates, or silverware...here take some plastic ones or borrow from the restaurant. Really?... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
WWI-Guest-Services, General Manager at West Wind Inn, responded to this review

Dear VernonDozier2015, Thank you for your recent stay and your honest review of the West Wind Inn. I agree that the grounds, bars and location on the beach are 2nd to none on Sanibel! Based upon your note of a specific room and your location in your profile, I was able to view your reservation. The rate you paid was... More 

West Chester, Ohio
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This is not a resort. It is a great location on the beach. Quiet & convenient to everything. But for $300+ per night we expected sparkling clean bathrooms, tiled floors not old dirty carpet, nicer towels, cushions for the beach chairs & readily available wifi. That wasn't the case. The bathroom, although updated, needs serious cleaning. There was mold in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
WWI-Guest-Services, General Manager at West Wind Inn, responded to this review

Dear Kathy S, Thank you for your most recent stay and your honest review of the West Wind Inn. I would 100% agree, we are not a resort. No where in any of our literature do we make mention of being resort and we don't pretend to be. We don't charge resort fees, we don't charge for parking, and we... More 

North Central Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great location midway up the island without a lot of people on the Beach. Hotel is very hospitable with welcome drinks our first night and a champagne brunch Valentine's Day. The king bed was very comfortable. The screened in porch was a nice place to sit with a koi pond just outside. The pool was warmed quite a bit which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Minnesota
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We picked this hotel based on Trip Advisor reviews and availability. I realize now you need to book months in advance for more Feb options on Sanibel. That being said, we found the hotel itself to be well maintained including the landscaping. The room, particularly the bathroom was sparkling. The kitchenette also very clean. The bed was comfortable but the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
WWI-Guest-Services, General Manager at West Wind Inn, responded to this review

Dear JustBeadIt2, Thank you for your recent and stay and honest review of the West Wind Inn. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your room as well as housekeeping, landscaping and guest services. Obviously your experience regarding the food and beverage operations concerns me. Personally I made a New Year's Resolution to avoid soda pop so I had... More 

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our second trip and again got a second floor room with expansive Gulf views from the screened balcony. Kitchenette convenient. The staff eager to address guests' needs. The very new, extra - firm beds were too hard for our comfort, so Cheryl found a pillow-top mattress pad to soften the bed. Very good breakfasts and dinner in the Normandie restaurant... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is just perfect all around. It has great accommodations. The rooms are updated. We stayed in a room with a kitchenette which was very nice, it had a screened in porch and you can look out and see the water. Yes, it's close to the water, has a great pool, a cute bar which serves food. There is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Michigan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a great time at the West Wind Inn. We loved how close we were to the beach. We rented the beach chairs each day, a great deal if you love the beach. The beds were very comfortable and we slept well. We ate breakfast at the restaurant & it was good. The room was clean, but the daily... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
NYC
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Once more, my Trip Advisor research paid off! The West Wind Inn could not be better located. We got a "partial" view of the gulf, but it was quite a bit, and the large, modern room with a great shower and bathroom had its own balcony. It was fun to go down to the private beach at sunset. The price... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to West Wind Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Wind Inn

Address: 3345 West Gulf Drive, Sanibel Island, FL 33957
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — West Wind Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, EasyToBook, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, T4B, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your West Wind Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Wind Hotel Sanibel Island
West Wind Sanibel Island
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Sanibel Island
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island

820 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (295)
Viewed
View from room (28)
Viewed
Room/suite (45)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (80)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (61)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Other (60)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (482)
Viewed
Amenities (50)
Viewed
Beach (16)
Viewed
Gulf Front Studio (71)
Viewed
Gulf View Guest Room (57)
Viewed
One Bedroom Gulf View Suite (66)
Viewed
One Bedroom Suite (106)
Viewed
Pool (43)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (23)
Viewed
Splash Pool (7)
Viewed
The Hotel (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (43)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay