We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2.0 of 5 Cottage   |   1081 Shell Basket Lane, Sanibel Island, FL 33957
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Gulf Breeze Cottages
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Gulf Breeze Cottages to your Saves list
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
sullyhr Pepper Pike, Ohio
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    25
    5
    3
    5
See reviews for
30
35
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (98)
  • Mar-May only
    (20)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (29)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (23)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (26)
All months
Pepper Pike, Ohio
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for only two nights. Hubby and I were going for a charming spot, not a resort or hotel. The accommodations are truly cottages. I had no problem with them. We were in cottage 3, a one bedroom. True, you do not see the beach from the room, but it is literally a three minute walk. The room was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Beautiful, updates cottages is certainly not this place. Beach is delightful, location convenient BUT not clean, old chairs , hear noise from other occupants- should be torn down completely and rebuilt- never Ever again- first time that I had a terrible place to stay on island

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sandra H, Guest Relations Manager at Gulf Breeze Cottages, responded to this review

We're happy that you enjoyed our beautiful beach and hope that you continue to enjoy Sanibel Island. More 

West Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2014

All the women in our family take a shopping trip each year close to Christmas. We decided to jump on a plane from West Virginia and fly to Florida. We came down for the Luminary Festival which was so much fun! We stayed in one of the cottages for a long weekend. We had the best time on the island.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sandra H, Guest Relations Manager at Gulf Breeze Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us! We're happy that you had such a great family getaway here and look forward to seeing you again! More 

Marion,IN
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
47 hotel reviews
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014

I am actually sitting in my cottage writing this as we are leaving tomorrow morning. I can never say enough about our stays at Gulf Breeze as Sandi and company are always friendly and accommodating to our needs. The cottages are always clean,fresh and well stocked. Its just a short walk to a great beach and Sanibel shells and they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Sandra H, Guest Relations Manager at Gulf Breeze Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you! We make sure our cottages are clean and comfortable for our guests on every visit! Thank you for staying with us this year and we look forward to seeing you again soon! More 

Homestead, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

One of the best cottages we've stayed in. Super clean and really well equipped. Sanibel, as well as these cottages are the definition of "a place with soul". Thanks a lot, you gave us a wonderful gift.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sandra H, Guest Relations Manager at Gulf Breeze Cottages, responded to this review

Hello Gloria - we're happy to hear that you had such a great stay on Sanibel - we make every attempt to exceed our guest's expectations. Looking forward to seeing you again!! More 

missouri
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014

We stayed here twice a few years ago (the form would not let me submit without a date). Spent a week in January. It is lovely there nestled among flora and fauna. There are some of the newer condo type buildings around but there are so many flowers and palm trees that you don't even realize how close they might... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sandra H, Guest Relations Manager at Gulf Breeze Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review - we sincerely appreciate your kind words and are very happy that you enjoyed your get-away in our "Quaint Olde Florida Cottages". We look forward to seeing you again! All the best to you! More 

Arnhem, The Netherlands
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Lovely place with good accomodation. We had the big house 12a. Everything was in it. Dishwasher, 2 bathrooms, 3 bedrooms, kitchen and a livingroom. Calm area with immediate Beach acces. Take a walk in the morning of evening on the beach. During the day take a chair, bed or the provided umbrellas with you. Find seashells and enjoy the sun.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sandra H, Guest Relations Manager at Gulf Breeze Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us for your sun, shells, beach vacation! We look forward to seeing you again! More 

Kansas City
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Stayed during the week and enjoyed the experience at Gulf Breeze. The room was small but affordable. It was nice to have flatware and other cooking materials although our particular room lacked an oven/stove. Walk to the beach was easy and during our stay the beach was not too crowded. The chairs and umbrella supplied by Gulf Breeze were a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sandra H, Guest Relations Manager at Gulf Breeze Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us at Gulf Breeze Cottages - we look forward to seeing you again! More 

Otlando
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

My husband, children and I were so excited to visit Sanibel. We called Gulf Breeze and they sounded nice on the phone, packed our car and drove from Orlando. We were disappointed to find our location was far more than 500 ft away from the beach, actually off property but we made the best of it. The unit was old,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Sandra H, Guest Relations Manager at Gulf Breeze Cottages, responded to this review

We’re very sorry to hear of your disappointment in the unit that you booked. We strive to make sure that our guests have an enjoyable and relaxing experience at Gulf Breeze Cottages by providing all the kitchen essentials, beach chairs, beach umbrellas, wifi, beach towels, etc . Our website is very specific about the location of each cottage in relation... More 

Savannah
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Laid back quiet place to unwind and just relax. Located on the second floor, efficiency #7 has awesome views of the Gulf. ( I believe it is the only room with the Gulf view). There are two wicker chairs and a little table on the balcony--perfect for feeling the wonderful Gulf breeze while you sip your beverage of choice. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Gulf Breeze Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gulf Breeze Cottages

Address: 1081 Shell Basket Lane, Sanibel Island, FL 33957
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Gulf Breeze Cottages 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Gulf Breeze Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gulf Breeze Cottages Hotel Sanibel Island

69 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (65)
Viewed
Room/suite (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (8)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay