We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sunset Beach Inn

3287 W. Gulf Dr., Sanibel Island, FL 33957
Hotel amenities
2 people have started booking this hotel
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Sunset Beach Inn
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

537 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    225
    172
    60
    41
    39
See reviews for
195
242
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (537)
  • Mar-May only
    (144)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (163)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (104)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (126)
All months
Pompano Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just wanted to Thank you for the wonderful weekend we had staying with you .. Room was overlooking the Ocean and very clean and cozy. Can't wait to go back. Beds were great as was staff. Management is A +. Also beautiful pool., and great employee handling the chairs, umbrellas, kayaks. We would recommend this Inn to anyone. Thank you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Charlie W, Manager at Sunset Beach Inn, responded to this review

Dear Treva M, Thank you taking the time to share your kind thoughts on Sunset Beach Inn! I am so glad we were able to accommodate your desires and allow you to experience a wonderful weekend. I enjoyed speaking with you while you were here, and it certainly looked as though your family was enjoying the use of the paddle... More 

Weston, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Overall the hotel is ok. Breakfast..... not so good, is just a morning snack if you get there before 7:30, after that is only coffee. Room was not very clean but it could have been worst. Hotel needs TLC. The location of the hotel is great....they provide beach chairs with beach umbrella.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Charlie W, Manager at Sunset Beach Inn, responded to this review

Dear amarilispr, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at our resort. While I am glad you were able to enjoy our location, I am sorry to hear there were some issues during your stay with us. As I'm sure you are aware, feedback from our guests is very important to me. If possible, I would... More 

Largo, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This place is steps away from the beach. It offers almost anything you need. The pool is big and very clean. There is shuffle board, tennis, Kayaks, bikes, umbrellas, and chairs to use. The room was nice with a little kitchenette, that came in handy. I found a deal on this place on the internet. I am not sure though... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Charlie W, Manager at Sunset Beach Inn, responded to this review

Dear kassd56, Thank you for taking a moment to highlight your recent stay with us at Sunset Beach Inn! I am very pleased to know that our resort was able to satisfy your desires and provide you with an excellent visit to Sanibel. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Sincerely, Charlie Watkins Assistant General Manager More 

Tampa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just love this place! The room was better than pictured. The room was ultra clean. Very cozy. The Inn is right on the beach, however only a few rooms face the water. Thats OK because your only steps away from the beach!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Charlie W, Manager at Sunset Beach Inn, responded to this review

Dear Kimberly F, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Sunset Beach Inn! I am very pleased to hear that we were able to exceed your expectations and provide you with a delightful stay at our resort. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Sincerely, Charlie Watkins Assistant General Manager More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very nice hotel right on the beach! Big spacious rooms, nice pool if you are in to that! Breakfast not all that. Hotel offers free bike hire, wich is a good way to get around the island , probably the only place in the US you can safely ride a bicycle:) They also rent out kajaks for a fee, they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Charlie W, Manager at Sunset Beach Inn, responded to this review

Dear Ankie H, Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience at Sunset Beach Inn! I am very glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and you were able to take advantage of our bicycles. You're right, it may be the very best way to get around the island and enjoy all of the sights... More 

Punta Gorda, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2015

We arrived early and we knew that . Asked them to call when room was available , they said they would. This was at 12:45pm, we knew we were early. We went to lunch, drove about the island, called at 200pm, not ready yet. Drove around until 3 pm, stopped in, they said that housekeeper was in room right now,... More 

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Charlie W, Manager at Sunset Beach Inn, responded to this review

Dear 805carlak, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our resort. I am very disappointed to hear that your check-in was handled in a poor manner. I can assure you that is not how we wish to conduct with our guests and I will be looking into why these issues occurred. If you have the time,... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2015

Clean, comfy rooms at the best price! On the beach, hammocks, pools, shuffleboard. Nice to have onsite laundry if you bring along the family. Super friendly staff and a fantastic location. Beds are perfect comfort level and rooms with the kitchenette make family vacationing affordable. They offer bikes on site and helmets for the kids. Really can't get a better... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Charlie W, Manager at Sunset Beach Inn, responded to this review

Dear Kimberly C, Thank you for taking a moment to highlight your recent stay at Sunset Beach Inn! I am very pleased to know that our staff was able to go above and beyond to provide you with an excellent vacation. We greatly appreciate your continued loyalty over the years and your recommendations to others as well! We look forward... More 

Ocala
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2015 via mobile

My husband and I have been staying in this hotel or one of its sister hotels for several years in fact too many years to count. Apparently they are under new management and unfortunately it isn't a benefit. The hotel is old but it has always had a great charm and the staff used to be friendly and would go... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Charlie W, Manager at Sunset Beach Inn, responded to this review

Dear Teresa V, Thank you for taking a moment to share your thoughts on our resort. I am terribly sorry to hear that your stay was not a memorable one, like it has been in previous years. The fact that your room was not presented to you in a proper fashion, and you were not treated with respect is simply... More 

Zephyrhills, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2015

We stayed 4 nights our room was on the main level just down from the office room 104. It was a great room with a nice screened balcony with a pretty view of the beautiful grounds. The room was clean and had a fridge and microwave, there was also a table and chairs and plenty of storage room for clothing.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Charlie W, Manager at Sunset Beach Inn, responded to this review

Dear hushmonkey, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Sunset Beach Inn! I am very pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed every aspect of your stay. We appreciate the fact that you were able to enjoy the use of our complimentary amenities during your stay while taking in the beautiful view from your... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

723 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (315)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (60)
Viewed
Room/suite (57)
Viewed
View from room (22)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (64)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
0:51
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (93)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (381)
Viewed
Amenities (35)
Viewed
Beach (22)
Viewed
Pool (31)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (6)
Viewed
Standard King Room (51)
Viewed
Standard Room (64)
Viewed
The Hotel (53)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Suite (119)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
4.7 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#13 of 26 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 stars 507 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#16 of 26 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 stars 993 reviews
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Sanibel Island
Holiday Inn Sanibel Island
#21 of 26 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 stars 935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Song of the Sea
Song of the Sea
#15 of 26 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 stars 549 reviews
0.1 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#19 of 26 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 stars 745 reviews
4.0 mi away
Sanibel Inn
Sanibel Inn
#18 of 26 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 stars 997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay