We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sunset Beach Inn

3287 W. Gulf Dr., Sanibel Island, FL 33957
Hotel amenities
Sunset Beach Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ranked #24 of 26 Hotels in Sanibel Island
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Kimberly F Tampa
Add Photo Write a Review

533 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    224
    170
    59
    41
    39
See reviews for
193
241
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (533)
  • Mar-May only
    (144)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (159)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (104)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (126)
All months
Tampa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Just love this place! The room was better than pictured. The room was ultra clean. Very cozy. The Inn is right on the beach, however only a few rooms face the water. Thats OK because your only steps away from the beach!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Very nice hotel right on the beach! Big spacious rooms, nice pool if you are in to that! Breakfast not all that. Hotel offers free bike hire, wich is a good way to get around the island , probably the only place in the US you can safely ride a bicycle:) They also rent out kajaks for a fee, they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Punta Gorda, Florida
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We arrived early and we knew that . Asked them to call when room was available , they said they would. This was at 12:45pm, we knew we were early. We went to lunch, drove about the island, called at 200pm, not ready yet. Drove around until 3 pm, stopped in, they said that housekeeper was in room right now,... More 

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Charlie W, Manager at Sunset Beach Inn, responded to this review

Dear 805carlak, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our resort. I am very disappointed to hear that your check-in was handled in a poor manner. I can assure you that is not how we wish to conduct with our guests and I will be looking into why these issues occurred. If you have the time,... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Clean, comfy rooms at the best price! On the beach, hammocks, pools, shuffleboard. Nice to have onsite laundry if you bring along the family. Super friendly staff and a fantastic location. Beds are perfect comfort level and rooms with the kitchenette make family vacationing affordable. They offer bikes on site and helmets for the kids. Really can't get a better... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Charlie W, Manager at Sunset Beach Inn, responded to this review

Dear Kimberly C, Thank you for taking a moment to highlight your recent stay at Sunset Beach Inn! I am very pleased to know that our staff was able to go above and beyond to provide you with an excellent vacation. We greatly appreciate your continued loyalty over the years and your recommendations to others as well! We look forward... More 

Ocala
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I have been staying in this hotel or one of its sister hotels for several years in fact too many years to count. Apparently they are under new management and unfortunately it isn't a benefit. The hotel is old but it has always had a great charm and the staff used to be friendly and would go... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Charlie W, Manager at Sunset Beach Inn, responded to this review

Dear Teresa V, Thank you for taking a moment to share your thoughts on our resort. I am terribly sorry to hear that your stay was not a memorable one, like it has been in previous years. The fact that your room was not presented to you in a proper fashion, and you were not treated with respect is simply... More 

Zephyrhills, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed 4 nights our room was on the main level just down from the office room 104. It was a great room with a nice screened balcony with a pretty view of the beautiful grounds. The room was clean and had a fridge and microwave, there was also a table and chairs and plenty of storage room for clothing.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Charlie W, Manager at Sunset Beach Inn, responded to this review

Dear hushmonkey, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Sunset Beach Inn! I am very pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed every aspect of your stay. We appreciate the fact that you were able to enjoy the use of our complimentary amenities during your stay while taking in the beautiful view from your... More 

Lake Worth, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

$300 a night is highway robbery for this dump. Front desk staff super rude, attitude like you're bothering them. The place is super old and reminds me of a cheap motel. The breakfast was like another said-- cheap gas station food. Also don't think you're staying in a Gulf view room. There aren't any. None of the rooms directly face... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Zephyrhills, Florida
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

staff was great and helpful, pool was big enough for plenty of families to enjoy without bothering each other, garden view room was big enough for the family of 4. breakfast in the morning was good with choices of cereals and pastries, fruits and yogurt. nothing special but enough to get you going. there always seemed to be enough bikes... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Charlie W, Manager at Sunset Beach Inn, responded to this review

Dear Aaron J, Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Sunset Beach Inn! I am pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay and were able to enjoy our complimentary breakfast to get your days started. It was our pleasure to serve you and your family during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Sincerely, Charlie... More 

Lowell, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

After vacationing here for over 40 years, I'm looking at other options for my Sanibel Island stays. The desk staff is unfriendly and unhelpful. The housekeepers do not have enough time to do the rooms. There are all sorts of new rules and policies that seem designed to protect the owners rather than enhance the guest experience. Beach umbrellas have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Charlie W, Manager at Sunset Beach Inn, responded to this review

Dear Jdb700, Thank you for taking a moment to review your recent stay with us. I am very sorry to hear that your time with us was less than desired. I will personally look into the issues that you experienced and make sure that these circumstances do not occur again, to yourself or any of our guests. Being a repeat... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

721 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (313)
Viewed
Room/suite (57)
Viewed
View from room (22)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (58)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (64)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
0:51
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (93)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (381)
Viewed
Amenities (35)
Viewed
Beach (22)
Viewed
Pool (31)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (6)
Viewed
Standard King Room (51)
Viewed
Standard Room (64)
Viewed
The Hotel (53)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Suite (119)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
4.7 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#14 of 26 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 stars 498 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#13 of 26 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 stars 925 reviews
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Sanibel Island
Holiday Inn Sanibel Island
#21 of 26 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 stars 914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Song of the Sea
Song of the Sea
#15 of 26 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 stars 543 reviews
0.1 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#19 of 26 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 stars 724 reviews
4.0 mi away
Sanibel Inn
Sanibel Inn
#18 of 26 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 stars 986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay