We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sunset Beach Inn

3287 W. Gulf Dr., Sanibel Island, FL 33957
Hotel amenities
Sunset Beach Inn
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ranked #23 of 27 Hotels in Sanibel Island
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Kristin880 Gilberts, Illinois
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    164
    54
    39
    37
See reviews for
184
236
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (514)
  • Mar-May only
    (142)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (142)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (104)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (126)
All months
Gilberts, Illinois
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited the second week of May. We stayed in the 1 bedroom unit. It was a good price, and had plenty of space for us. It was nice to have a room for the parents. While the kids didn't use the hide a bed, we did use two pack and plays, and with those set up the kids had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Charlie W, Manager at Sunset Beach Inn, responded to this review

Dear Kristin880, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent stay at Sunset Beach Inn! I am very pleased to know that our staff was able to exceed your expectations and provide you and your family with a fantastic stay. Thank you for taking note of the many amenities that we offer at our resort.... More 

Claypool
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I stay several days in the first week of May. We enjoyed the great location and being able to walk onto the beach. The sunsets were beautiful and I had a great time collecting many sea shells. The pool was large and beautiful. We had no trouble finding chairs by the pool and on the beach. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Charlie W, Manager at Sunset Beach Inn, responded to this review

Dear Daniel Y, Thank you for taking a moment to highlight your recent visit to Sunset Beach Inn! I am pleased to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and were able to relax while enjoying the beautiful sunsets and shelling opportunities that Sanibel has to offer. We look forward to serving you again very soon. Sincerely, Charlie Watkins Assistant... More 

Maine
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here in April for 7 days in a 2 bedroom, 2 bath unit. Though a little tired, our unit was clean and comfortable. We had a partial ocean view from our lanai, and it was wonderful, the screening kept out all but the most persistent no-see'ums. No need to get in the car to see the sunset, just a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Charlie W, Manager at Sunset Beach Inn, responded to this review

Dear Thunderbolt2665, Thank you taking a moment to highlight your experience at Sunset Beach Inn! I am very pleased to know that you enjoyed every minute of your stay with us. Our beach view certainly allows for a wonderful, relaxing experience, we are glad you were able to take advantage of it. We look forward to seeing you again very... More 

West Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I recently stayed at the Sunset Beach Inn in Sanibel Island, FL for an anniversary getaway. We had high hopes because we felt it would be casual, comfortable, affordable and wheelchair friendly. Unquestionably, lodging in Sanibel Island can be expensive and we planned to enjoy some privacy, the Gulf of Mexico, the sun, sand, fresh air, shopping... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Charlie W, Manager at Sunset Beach Inn, responded to this review

Dear Lisa K, Thank you for taking the time to share your delightful experience at Sunset Beach Inn! I am so glad that we were able to provide you with an enjoyable experience to celebrate your anniversary. I appreciate you allowing myself and our staff to assist you in providing every accommodation you needed to enjoy your special getaway. I... More 

Okemo Valley Vermont
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The sheets, the bathroom, the kitchenette were clean. The water pressure was surprisingly good. The location is fantastic. The property is tired and the staff might be too. Free bikes for guest-use were tired, but still a great touch. Kitchenette is great for packing lunches from (but too small for real meal preparation).

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Charlie W, Manager at Sunset Beach Inn, responded to this review

Dear GoldenVT, Thank you for taking a moment to share your thoughts on your recent stay at Sanibel Inn. I am glad to hear that you were able to enjoy your second-floor room and were able to take advantage of some of our complimentary amenities. We look forward to seeing you again soon! Sincerely, Charlie Watkins Assistant General Manager More 

2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015

Stayed at Sunset Beach Inn in March for 4 days. Loved the location, our room was clean and really enjoyed having a fridge and microwave. None of us are Florida vacationers, so sitting on the beach, we really could have imagined we were on a Caribbean island. The room was a little expensive, but the whole island was expensive. Took... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Charlie W, Manager at Sunset Beach Inn, responded to this review

Dear Eileen S, Thank you taking a moment to highlight your recent stay at Sunset Beach Inn! I am very glad to know that you and your family thoroughly enjoyed your stay at our resort and were able to take advantage of some of our complimentary amenities. We appreciate your kind remarks and I will pass them along to the... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015

I have stayed here twice and going for my third stay which I've booked already for June 2015. This hotel is clean , nice bathrooms, linens etc. they have free continental breakfast in their lobby and coffee , the first time I stayed here was in the suite " spacious and beautiful" full kitchen with granite counter top, full size... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Charlie W, Manager at Sunset Beach Inn, responded to this review

Dear Mariangel O, Thank you for taking the time to highlight your recent experience at Sunset Beach Inn! I am very pleased to know that you were able to enjoy a wonderful vacation while allowing our staff to take great care of you. I am glad our resort was able to exceed each of your needs and desires. We look... More 

Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

Find another hotel! This is a total rip-off!! There are much nicer places in Florida for a lot less money. I usually only write good reviews but this was so outrageous that I feel the need to warn others. The room appears to have avoided any updates for the past few decades and a good cleaning hasn't occurred anytime in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Charlie W, Manager at Sunset Beach Inn, responded to this review

Dear Mary J, Thank you for taking a moment to share your thoughts on Sunset Beach Inn. I apologize that your stay was anything less than satisfying. We do not wish for anyone to have a negative experience at our resort, that is not the image that we wish to portray of our rooms. As I'm sure you have read... More 

Wantagh, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015

Room was clean and spacious. Had a full fridge, stove, microwave and kitchen accessories. Nice white linens, updated bathroom and DVD player. Could've used thicker pillows and more than one pillow per person. The hotel is at an angle to the beach so your view is about 90 degrees unless you get one of the two rooms on the end... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Charlie W, Manager at Sunset Beach Inn, responded to this review

Dear Imas98, Thank you for taking the time to highlight your recent stay at Sunset Beach Inn. I am very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us while being able to take advantage of our complimentary amenities. Our beach certainly has many qualities that make it incomparable to others, so we are glad you enjoyed that experience!... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

Rude lady at the front desk, not a very welcoming person. dont think it looks like the pictures on the website and for that price we didnt expect to have breakfast(choice of mufin or fruit mufin) in our rooms on a tray.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Charlie W, Manager at Sunset Beach Inn, responded to this review

Dear Julien E, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Sunset Beach Inn. I am sorry to hear that your stay with us was not a memorable one. As our guest, you should have been treated with respect and a welcoming demeanor. Please know that I will be addressing this issue with my staff and assure... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

700 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (305)
Viewed
View from room (22)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (58)
Viewed
Room/suite (57)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (64)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
0:51
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (85)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (381)
Viewed
Amenities (35)
Viewed
Beach (22)
Viewed
Pool (31)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (6)
Viewed
Standard King Room (51)
Viewed
Standard Room (64)
Viewed
The Hotel (53)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Suite (119)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay