We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 27 Sanibel Island hotels

Sunset Beach Inn

2.5 of 5 Resort   |   3287 W. Gulf Dr., Sanibel Island, FL 33957
Hotel amenities
Sunset Beach Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sunset Beach Inn to your Saves list
Ranked #23 of 27 Hotels in Sanibel Island
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
bette113 Nashville, Tennessee
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    148
    51
    33
    32
See reviews for
175
216
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (479)
  • Mar-May only
    (118)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (142)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (104)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (115)
All months
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

we enjoyed our stay. great location. our room had wonderful ocean view. early check in was allowed as was late check out. desk folks were very nice. thank you! bikes were old but free and adequate. breakfast was bare minimum but fine for us. had no internet reception in room for most of stay which was a problem as husband... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Asheville, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We enjoyed our stay very much. The room was clean. The kitchenette had everything we needed. The bed were very comfortable. All of the staff were very helpful and friendly. We enjoyed the smiles and services from the front desk, maids, and ground personal. The beach chairs and umbrellas were placed out early so we could enjoy them all day.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Charlie W, Manager at Sunset Beach Inn, responded to this review

Marylove2014, thank you for your wonderful review of Sunset Beach Inn! On behalf of our entire staff, I would like to sincerely express how much we appreciate your kind words. It makes us all proud to know that every staff member is assisting in making our guests feel welcome and at home while you are here on vacation. We certainly... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

First the good: location is awesome, beach is great, pool is new and wonderful, comfy, comfy beds, front desk is wonderful especially Michelle, rooms are kept clean, nice little carryout AM breakfast, free bikes, and beach towels. Now for the NEEDS IMPROVEMENT: carpeting is disgusting, update caulking in bathrooms, the kitchen equipment needs to be replaced, after the rooms are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Charlie W, Manager at Sunset Beach Inn, responded to this review

Trish C, thank you for your review of Sunset Beach Inn! We are so glad that you were able to spend your vacation with us and we hope you were able to relax and enjoy yourself. I would also like to personally thank you for your recommendations on improving our resort. As you mentioned, we are in fact under new... More 

New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is the fourth time we stayed here. The rooms were modernized and clean when we first started our yearly vacation. This time we were sorely disappointed. We booked 12 days and reserved a king sized bed. When we arrived, we were told, sorry, we had to give you queen beds. They switched others' reservations as well. The rug has... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Charlie W, Manager at Sunset Beach Inn, responded to this review

Goodmealseekerreturn, I am sorry to hear that you did not have an enjoyable vacation this year at Sunset Beach Inn. I would like you to know that I will personally look into why you were told your accommodations could not be met, and I will make sure that does not happen again. I confidently assure you that we are continuously... More 

Newport, Rhode Island
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is only the second time I've bothered to write a review and the only reason I'm doing so is because the staff at this hotel were so genuine and friendly that they deserve the praise. My girlfriend and I booked the hotel last minute using Amex points and were drawn by the hotel's beachfront location and the free access... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Charlie W, Manager at Sunset Beach Inn, responded to this review

Ben B, I would like to personally thank you for your amazing review of Sunset Beach Inn. I am very proud that our staff was able to assist you and your girlfriend in having a fabulous, relaxing vacation. I would also like to thank you for your understanding in the minor mishaps that may have occurred. Surely these issues were... More 

Pembroke Pines, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We arrived to the hotel and checked in on Monday January 12th.The front desk staff were friendly and curtious to our group. The rooms were dated and the carpets were all stained. We brought it to the attention of the general manager. He informed me that these carpets had been steam cleaned. We were never informed about staying on the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked this hotel for a week and we were so disappointed. This is a filthy hotel. We were given a room on the second floor on arrival. The carpets were stained and dirty beyond belief and the seats of the chairs at the table were dirty too. Did not want to sit down. The drapery on the sliding door... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Charlie W, Manager at Sunset Beach Inn, responded to this review

Mmrnss, I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at Sunset Beach Inn. Please know that I am personally looking into the issues you described and will make sure these issues do not occur again. I am terribly sorry your room did not meet your desires, I hope we have the opportunity to serve you again... More 

West hartford Ct
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Spent three days at this hotel during Christmas week. We choose to upgrade the room to one that was close to the beach. Even with the extra charge, the cost was still competitive. Facilities at the hotel were excellent. Plenty of lounge chairs and umbrellas on the beach, a large swimming pool which was heated, tennis courts and available rackets.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Charlie W, Manager at Sunset Beach Inn, responded to this review

Arlene454, thank you for your wonderful review of Sunset Beach Inn! We are so glad that you were able to spend your vacation with us and enjoy so many of our various amenities. We look forward to seeing you again very soon! More 

Long Island, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The rugs are so dirty I wouldn't let my kids sit on the floor. The kitchen utensils and pots were dirty. I was grossed out. We even 'Upgraded" to another room closer to the beach for an Additonal $100 and the rugs in there were also dirty and stained. I actually wanted to leave the hotel and check out a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Charlie W, Manager at Sunset Beach Inn, responded to this review

Gcoffey, I am very sorry to hear that your stay at Sunset Beach Inn was less than satisfactory. Please know that I am looking into the issues you discussed and I will assure they do not happen again. I take great pride in maintaining a clean, pleasant resort and I will continue that going forward. I am sorry that our... More 

The Villages, Florida
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Property is along the beach - beach chairs and umbrellas are great. Clean beach, not very crowded, white sand. Large pool on site - we enjoyed. Property is an older two-story hotel building. Our room was disappointing - rugs were filthy and dirty (not just full of sand). Lots of little repairs needed (drawer pulls, loose towel rods, paint touch-ups).... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Charlie W, Manager at Sunset Beach Inn, responded to this review

Thaward, thank you for staying with us at Sunset Beach Inn! I am glad to hear that you were able to enjoy the beach and the pool. However, I am sorry your room was not as satisfactory. Please know that I will look into these issues and make sure they are corrected immediately. Thank you again, we look forward to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Sunset Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Beach Inn

Address: 3287 W. Gulf Dr., Sanibel Island, FL 33957
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunset Beach Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sunset Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanibel Sunset Beach Hotel Sanibel Island
Sanibel Island Sunset Beach Resort
Sanibel Sunset Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Sunset Beach Hotel
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Sanibel Island
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island

694 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (299)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (58)
Viewed
Room/suite (57)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (64)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
View from room (20)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
0:51
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (82)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (381)
Viewed
Amenities (35)
Viewed
Beach (22)
Viewed
Pool (31)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (6)
Viewed
Standard King Room (51)
Viewed
Standard Room (64)
Viewed
The Hotel (53)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Suite (119)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay