We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sundial Beach Resort & Spa

1451 Middle Gulf Drive, Sanibel Island, FL 33957
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    234
    83
    52
    17
See reviews for
343
168
5
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (674)
  • Mar-May only
    (227)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (237)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (70)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (140)
All months
Raymore
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Our expectations were exceeded during our stay at the Sundial resort. Our room seemed to have been completely upgraded with new carpet, granite counter tops in the kitchenette area, all of the kitchen appliances needed and more. We also enjoyed sitting on the balcony (though we didn't have a view of the ocean, didn't matter to us). This resort is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Long Island, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We love the central location on Middle Gulf. Close to shopping, restaurants and Ding Darling NWR and Sanibel in general. Love the pool, walking on the beach, our room etc. personnel, and that's why we have been staying at the Sundial for the past 5 years! We hope and look forward to many more stays at the Sundial!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Norwalk, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Our family had a wonderful time at the resort . We loved all the activity for the whole family .So nice having bikes and kayaking all the pools, and great staff. The resort is right in the middle of island made it so easy to get around. Our rooms and the grounds were very well kept. Just a great place... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The property is very pretty with a great view of the gulf. Our room A401 was terrible. The carpets are nasty filthy, and the rest of the place is in desperate need of an update. Certainly not up to standards for a $400 a night room.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Julio M, Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Scott T: We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the amazing views of the Gulf from the Resort! Thank you for your feedback regarding your particular unit. We will be sure to share your comments and concerns directly with the Owners in an effort to resolve any pressing issues. Thank you again and we hope you return soon.... More 

Columbus, Ohio
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I have been viviting since 2009. Sundial has made good investment in the outer facilities and grounds however some of the condos are dated, need upgrades (carpet, flooring, appliances, etc.) Big improvement in internet last year with condos rented having their own service vs past communal internet. Sundial rates have increased a great deal to the point where is it... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Julio M, Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Michael C: Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are glad that you appreciate our improvements as you have been a visitor since 2009! We are still in the process of updating some of the units here, however we are making great progress. Thank you again and we hope to see you back on the... More 

West Hartford, Connecticut
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Our first trip but it will not be our last. A great place to stay with a 4 and 7 year old. We stayed in a 2 BR/2BA unit in building J. For families it has everything you need--actual bedrooms to separate kids from parents, 2 full baths, full kitchen with dishwasher, screened-in porch, short walks to beach and pool,... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Julio M, Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Allison F: Thank you for your wonderful comments! Your review almost perfectly sums up all that Sundial has to offer. We are glad that you mentioned Sanibel Sea School since it is a fairly new. As you experienced, the Sanibel Sea School at Sundial is such a great option for families to consider when visiting our Resort as it... More 

Milford, Connecticut
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

While there were a lot of nice improvements to the overall resort, I was disappointed with the room this time. The maid service was also not the best this time - had to call the front desk twice. Once to say they never came that day and then again to say they left us with no toilet paper.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Julio M, Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Jacquelyn K:” Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to see that you enjoyed the improvements that we have been working on this past year. It is however, unfortunate to hear about your housekeeping experience. We will address your comments immediately with the appropriate personnel to prevent this from occurring in the future. Thank you again and we... More 

2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Very disappointing as far as location goes. Was not told that our studio unit faced a concrete wall. I asked at the front desk if they could make a change for us, we would be willing to pay for an upgrade, but they just blew us off, telling us that they would call us when a better location became available.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Julio M, Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Andrea B: Thank you for your feedback. We would like to apologize for your recent experience here at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa. Some of our studio units do overlook other buildings but there are very few and still within a small walking distance to the beach and main building. We would like to address your concerns promptly, therefore,... More 

Downers Grove, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I had a great time. I would recommend this resort to anybody. I liked that beach umbrellas were complimentary. The location of this resort is central to most restaurants and shopping. I would like to see the in room safe updated to an electronic version instead of an old fashioned key type.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Julio M, Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Anthony K: Thank you for a great review and for recommending our Resort! Like you mentioned, our location is central to most restaurants and shopping which are accessible by bicycles that are offered at our Resort to our guests. Also, we are in the process of researching alternative options of in room safes, therefore we should get that addressed... More 

Lakeland, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

great location on beach,not too crowded on beach,tons of shells, restaurant very good food and friendly service,check in took a long time due to told one thing via hotel phone reservation and another once I got to hotel,that took about an hour to straighten out but did get straightened out to my satisfaction.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Julio M, Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Mary T: Thank you for your review. We are glad to see that everything was straighten out for you by our staff and that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you were able to take some shell treasures home with you! Thank you again and we look forward to your return. Julio Morales Director of Services More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

216 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (188)
Viewed
View from room (20)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (55)
Viewed
Room/suite (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Family/play areas (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (23)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question