We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Song of the Sea

3.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
863 E. Gulf Dr., Sanibel Island, FL 33957
Song of the Sea
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ranked #14 of 27 Hotels in Sanibel Island
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
23Deb Waterford, Wisconsin
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    172
    48
    18
    16
See reviews for
60
383
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (520)
  • Mar-May only
    (134)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (151)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (122)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (113)
All months
Waterford, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Song of the Sea is relaxing, very clean, comfortable, and quiet, with a great continental breakfast. We already booked a week for next year because we were so impressed! Right on the water for great beach walks at sunrise and sunset. The staff could not have been more helpful and friendly!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Charlie W, Manager at Song of the Sea, responded to this review

Dear 23Deb, Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts on Song of the Sea. I am so glad our quaint, romantic location provided such a fantastic getaway for you. Thank you for allowing our staff to make your stay memorable. We look forward to seeing you again next year! Sincerely, Charlie Watkins Assistant General Manager More 

Wheaton, Illinois
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We recently stopped and asked for a tour of the hotel as we are looking for a spot to stay next spring. The man at the front desk told us to check it out on their website. Interestingly enough we stopped at Island Inn nearby and asked the same question and were shown three potential room types. Our guide there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Charlie W, Manager at Song of the Sea, responded to this review

Dear Wheatontravelers, Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience visiting Song of the Sea. I am very sorry to hear that you were not treated in a professional manner. As you can see from many other reviews, the main focus of our staff is customer service and being able to go above and beyond for our guests.... More 

State College, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Everything was wonderful! From the beautiful cozy room, to the free breakfast, to the chairs and umbrellas on the beach....everything! The rooms were clean, the staff were friendly. We will definitely be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Charlie W, Manager at Song of the Sea, responded to this review

Dear Rachel F, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on Song of the Sea. I am glad you were able to enjoy your experience at our resort and enjoy our complimentary amenities. Thank you for allowing our staff to exceed your expectations, I will be sharing your kind remarks with them as well. We look forward... More 

Boston
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have been vacationing at Song of the Sea since 2003 - every March faithfully. My husband and I were drawn to the property because of the location, quaintness as well as the friendly staff that greeted us each time we walked in the door. I'm not fussy on vacation as long as I have clean room, comfortable bed and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Charlie W, Manager at Song of the Sea, responded to this review

Dear Plowhearth, Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience at Song of the Sea. We thoroughly appreciate your continued loyalty over the past 12 years. As a repeat guest, I am sure you can see many of the various improvements we are currently making across the board at Song of the Sea. We look forward to welcoming... More 

Massachusetts
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay on Sanibel Island. Although the rooms are somewhat dated at Song of the Sea, we found the accommodations to be very clean, comfortable and restful. The room itself was large by today's standards and included a kitchen equipped with a full size refrigerator, small apartment-size range, microwave and coffee maker. The bathroom was small but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Charlie W, Manager at Song of the Sea, responded to this review

Dear Clc043, Thank you for taking the time to express your feelings about Song of the Sea. I am very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay and our staff helped make your vacation relaxing and comfortable. You are absolutely right, there is no better way to start your morning than sitting on a balcony overlooking the ocean with... More 

North Carolina
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The rooms in this hotel are very dated: the one large burner on the stove did not work at all. Stove was ancient. Dishes, glasses and utensils were minimal in quality and quantity. Front door to room was peeling and in need of replacement. Bathroom was small, which is fine, but very badly outfitted. The one tiny bar of soap... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Charlie W, Manager at Song of the Sea, responded to this review

Dear LW1147, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Song of the Sea. I am very sorry to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations. As you can see from many other reviews, we aim to make each of our guests feel welcome and comfortable during their visit, and clearly we did not provide... More 

west hills, ca
Top Contributor
329 reviews 329 reviews
83 hotel reviews
284 helpful votes 284 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel has a lot going for it. We had a large end room with partial gulf view. It came with a small but usable kitchen, seating area and two large armchairs. We had a spacious screened in balcony. The morning breakfast had fruit, breads, waffles, hard cooked eggs, yogurt, coffee and juices. Chairs and umbrellas were provided at the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Charlie W, Manager at Song of the Sea, responded to this review

Dear JFD, Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts on Song of the Sea. I am very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay and very glad you were able to take in the gorgeous weather Sanibel offers this time of year. We look forward to serving you again very soon. Sincerely, Charlie Watkins Assistant General... More 

Takoma Park, MD
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lots to like here -- quiet location, view, bikes, nice pool area, nice breakfast, nice staff. I'd really like to love it here but might need to compare to other places next time for the price. They need to focus on comfort more. In the room the only comfortable place was the bed. The room had really outdated uncomfortable high... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Charlie W, Manager at Song of the Sea, responded to this review

Dear LinnyKTakomaPark_MD, Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience at Song of the Sea. I sincerely appreciate your feedback, and I will be using this feedback to make adjustments and improvements to our amazing property. I apologize that your room was not adequately stocked and prepared for your arrival. I will address this issue and assure it... More 

Akron, Ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had an early morning flight and arrived on the property around 10:30 A.M. The staff was wonderful. We were offered coffee, a place to change clothes and allowed to fill out paperwork and given maps of the grounds. I don't remember her name at the desk, but she was wonderful! She took my cell # and offered to call... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Charlie W, Manager at Song of the Sea, responded to this review

Dear Mike-Staci11, Thank you for taking a moment to share your thoughts on Song of the Sea. I am very pleased our staff was able to allow you to enjoy our property, even before your room was ready. I will pass your kind words along to the rest of our staff, it will surely be appreciated. I will also be... More 

Boston, MA area
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

I loved staying in a smaller hotel. The staff is very friendly and helpful. My husband and I used their expertise in many instances. They had good recommendations for restaurants. They even helped with our return flight. They are very conveniently located. The rooms were very clean, quiet and comfortable. I slept great. Loved the screened in porch and microwave... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Charlie W, Manager at Song of the Sea, responded to this review

Dear OlderMom60, Thank you for taking a moment to share your impressions of Song of the Sea. We agree that our resort is a quiet gem, one that allows our guests to fully relax and unwind while they are here. I am delighted to hear that our staff went above and beyond to assist you. I will pass this review... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

516 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (231)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (46)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (61)
Viewed
View from room (14)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (40)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (54)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (263)
Viewed
Amenities (28)
Viewed
Beach (32)
Viewed
One Bedroom Suite (92)
Viewed
Pool (27)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (14)
Viewed
The Hotel (70)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question