We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Knights Inn St Petersburg Tropicana

2.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
2595 54th Ave North, I-275 Exit 26, St. Petersburg, FL 33714 (Formerly Days Inn)
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Knights Inn St Petersburg Tropicana
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Add Photo Write a Review

83 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    13
    14
    10
    18
    28
See reviews for
14
19
18
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (83)
  • Mar-May only
    (39)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (12)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (13)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (19)
All months
Columbus, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

it's my home away from home,the staff always are friendly and make sure my stay in st Petersburg is always comfortable.I've been staying at the knights inn tropicana st Petersburg for the last two yrs and they've treated me the same way every time and I highly recommend this hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ocala, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Neglected to mention at any point in the process that the pool was not operational. No vending machines, Could not even find an ice machine. Not located near any activities. Building run down in general, No water pressure in shower. Nothing good to say about the place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nothing special to say. The room was quite clean, and the staff alright. There were AC, microwave, fridge,free wifi and tv in the room. Swimming pool for guests. St Petersburg downtown is about 15-20mins away.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
KnightsInn54, General Manager at Knights Inn St Petersburg Tropicana, responded to this review

THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR YOUR REVIEW! I am glad you received and took the time to share your experience regarding our Quiet Clean Rooms and that we provide complimentary WIFI. I am glad you enjoyed your well Air Conditioned room as well as the convenience to downtown. I hope you will stay with us again in the future. Sincerely... More 

St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

Mold, Bugs, Holes in the carpet, Cigarette burns on the 'comforters' & sheets, all that would be bad enough without the bad attitude by the staff. I understand this hotel is going to be 'rebranded' again & maybe undergo a renovation... however nothing short of a complete demolition & reconstruction would help in my opinion - & even that might... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KnightsInn54, General Manager at Knights Inn St Petersburg Tropicana, responded to this review

Hello Scuba S - Thank you for your feedback. Yes we are actually going to be demolishing and rebuilding a brand new Marriott within the year. I am sorry to hear you had an unpleasant stay at the Knights Inn and hope you will visit us once the new property is here. Sincerely - Jeremy Robinson General Manager More 

Anderson, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

We booked this hotel for a week in March for 3 adults and 1 child. The hotel is horrible. Rating this one star is way too high, but u had to select something. First, our room wasn't in the system as being reserved since December. The lady at the desk, Nicole, was not pleasant at all. As I was trying... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KnightsInn54, General Manager at Knights Inn St Petersburg Tropicana, responded to this review

I am glad we were able to refund your money and you were able to find a hotel to your liking for the additional $250/night that you spent. You mentioned the pool didn't look very clean but that it was closed due to renovation. I am sorry this bothered you but I hope you understand that the pool was exactly... More 

Orlando, Florida, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2015

Stayed 4 days for business. It ranks in the top 5 worse places I've ever stayed. The bed was lumpy or smoke infested, I woke up two nights sick before I decided to sleep on the floor. The bad, anything important about a hotel. No quality sleep. $130 a night rooms. The good, they have hot water and there is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KnightsInn54, General Manager at Knights Inn St Petersburg Tropicana, responded to this review

Hi Taylor - Thank you for your feedback and it sounds like you stayed with us during the High Season for our area. I assure you during this time we are priced $150 or more LESS than our competition but in any event I apologize for not meeting/exceeding your expectations. We hope to do better in the future. Sincerely -... More 

Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

If I could post pictures about the room(which I can but chose not to), the term of a picture is worth a thousand words would just tell you how poor it was. Yes the front staff was good but it was all downhill from there. Be careful about what you are told.

Was this review helpful? Yes
KnightsInn54, General Manager at Knights Inn St Petersburg Tropicana, responded to this review

I am saddened by your review being all negative since you mentioned our staff was good. We truly try our best to provide exceptional service despite being a budget hotel. I am sorry we did not exceed your expectations and hope your travels will be better in the future. Sincerely - Jeremy Robinson General Manager More 

Clearwater, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

I was a little apprehensive about staying here, but I called and talked with the staff. They were awesome, and re-assured me that the nasty and negative reviews that have been left were totally absurd! When I checked in I was greeted with big smiles and a pleasant staff. I was even surprised when I was acknowledged by the staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KnightsInn54, General Manager at Knights Inn St Petersburg Tropicana, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to talk about the reviews you read vs your actual experience at our hotel. We are definitely an economy hotel there is no doubt about that but we do offer clean accommodations in a very convenient area to all locations in town. Are our rates higher during season? Yes but we are regularly $50... More 

Port Orange, FL, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

When you drive up to the hotel, it looks nothing like the picture on their website-it looks like a dump. There was a huge stain on the carpet in the seating area next to the front desk. There were two women working the front desk who were unprofessionally dressed. Old mattresses stood in a corner next to the hotel's perimeter... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KnightsInn54, General Manager at Knights Inn St Petersburg Tropicana, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear you were unsatisfied with your accommodations at our hotel. Just to clarify those mattresses you mentioned near the front door are inside the restaurant that is currently closed and is being used as storage. I could go on and rebut all the items in your review but in any event we failed to meet/exceed your... More 

Sebring, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

Do not stay here! This hotel looks like somthing off of the tv the first room was so roach infested could not see a place in it that didn't have a roach crawling. I opened the door and walked out. The desk attendent did place us in an alternate room in which I am thankful or I would have had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KnightsInn54, General Manager at Knights Inn St Petersburg Tropicana, responded to this review

Hi JC - I am glad we were able to get you into another room that was somewhat acceptable. In regards to your assumption that the restaurant was shut down by the health department that is completely false. We have a vacant restaurant that is currently up for lease. I wish you the best in your future travels. Jeremy Robinson... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

17 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay