We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ponce De Leon Hotel

3.0 of 5
Hotel website
95 Central Ave, St. Petersburg, FL 33701
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ponce De Leon Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #20 of 44 Hotels in St. Petersburg
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014
partypartyparty Atlanta, Georgia
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    84
    61
    39
    44
See reviews for
34
106
28
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (293)
  • Mar-May only
    (97)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (62)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (48)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (86)
All months
There are newer reviews for Ponce De Leon Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Delray Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

My stay was awful. Everyone on my hallway was blacked out drunk and we even had a girl banging on our door between 3-5 am because she thought it was her room. She then proceeded to have a conversation w someone on the hallway until sunrise. We called the front desk and they did nothing to relieve the situation. If... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PonceDeLeonHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Ponce De Leon Hotel, responded to this review

Hello , I am sad that your experience was a bad one. I would like to apologize for all in conveniences. No the Ponce De Leon Hotel Is Not a frat house and we do not encourage this type of behavior. I am sure you can understand that we are unable to control grown people . I am disappointed that... More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Small room, very musty smelling, all guests woke up with severe allergies due to old a/c unit. Very unhealthy air quality. Would not stay here again. Rooms also not sound proof, very thin walls. Location is good if looking to head to a baseball game or experience the downtown night life.

Was this review helpful? Yes
PonceDeLeonHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Ponce De Leon Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, I am sad that you did not have a pleasant stay . It with comments like these that help us know what to fix, this way on your next stay with us you will be well accommodated. Thank you for taking the time to rate us it helps us fix what needs attention. Kindly accept this invitation back to... More 

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

I really liked the hotel, the room and service but the hair in the sheets and torn sheets just completely through me off... The area is nice, lots of nightlife. The restaurant is nice downstairs and have shows but please stop calling something flamenco if it's not. This is embarrassing to call girls twirling to the the gypsy kings and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PonceDeLeonHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Ponce De Leon Hotel, responded to this review

Hello , Yes the hotel is really nice and I thank you for taking the time to comment. My guess is that you were disappointed in the Flamenco dancers next door at The Ceviche Tapas Bar and Restaurant. I do hope the music made up for the dancing. Please whenever you are in St. Petersburg , please accept this invitation... More 

Clearwater, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

This boutique Hotel is quaint and very well kept for a vintage style look and feel adjacent to Ceviche (one of the best restaurants in the area). Furnishings are up to date keeping a nice balance between nostalgia and modernism. We noticed some remnants of termites in the 3rd Floor vintage water fountain which is attached to the wall right... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PonceDeLeonHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Ponce De Leon Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Thank you dearly for the pleasant comment you posted. I would like to take time to invite you back to the Ponce De Leon Hotel. When you make your booking mention this 10%off your reservation. Looking forward to having you stay with us. Best Regards Audrey .L More 

New Port Richey, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

The building is old and the stairwell has a musty smell, but this is a good value for a one night stay,the furnishings are modern, the cleanliness could be a little better for sure, but if you aren't a picky pincher you will enjoy your stay. The location is very convenient for walking to local parks and restaurants and this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PonceDeLeonHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Ponce De Leon Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, I would like to thank you for taking the time and rating us. I would like to apologize for the musky smell in the stairwell, I guess, it may be musky due to the fact that we are adjacent to the kitchen next door and all the food aroma fill our hall ways. You are right we need to... More 

Gainesville, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Honestly, we were super happy that we only stayed here one night. The room overall was not bad, relatively speaking. There was a very small and creaky bed, not too comfortable. We wanted to watch the world cup and the tv was not working. I had to keep calling the downstairs for them to check on it and in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
PonceDeLeonHotel, Public Relations Manager at Ponce De Leon Hotel, responded to this review

Hello I would like to take the time to apologize for any inconveniences. I would also like to extend an invitation to welcome you back and give us a second chance to make it up to you. Kindly accept this 10% off on your next stay with us. Again I am sad to hear that you had this experience here... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

The stay at Ponce de Leon Hotel for my husband and I was truly wonderful. Let me start by saying, the customer service/front desk staff was prompt and they made sure our stay was an overly pleasant experience. The hotel was centrally located, had amazing views, and the room had historical mystique! My husband I and will definitely return in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fort Myers, Florida
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

I stayed at this location for 2 nights. We booked a two bedroom, 2 bath room. We arrived to find that one bathroom only had a sink and toilet . We were three people. The phone did not work and the a/c didn't work properly. They did move us to another room and we were told that every room is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
PonceDeLeonHotel, General Manager at Ponce De Leon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear jng8: I would first like to thank you for taking the time in submitting your review to Tripadvisor, describing the unpleasant circumstances that you encountered during your stay at The Ponce De Leon Boutique Hotel; your candor is greatly appreciated. However, I am quite disappointed to know that we did not meet your expectations. Please accept my sincere apologies.... More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We stayed after going to a rays game and love the area and had a blast. However, upon getting back, there are no designated parking spots for the hotel. We drove for almost an hour and finally found a spot nearly a mile away. Elevator was the slowest I've ever seen. The room was obviously not cleaned and the AC... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PonceDeLeonHotel, General Manager at Ponce De Leon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Stevodod: I would like to thank you for taking the time to review The Ponce De Leon Boutique Hotel, please know your comments are valued! In regards to the A/C and the cleanliness of your room, please know that we take this type of situation quite seriously. Our Front Desk staff has been trained to respond to these types... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

We stayed her for a Rays game. There is a free shuttle that takes you to the stadium one block from the hotel, which was very nice! The hotel is older, but maintained well. Our only complaint is the water doesn't get very hot, it was luke warm at best. There is a Ceviche restaurant attacheded to the lobby, excellent... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michael S, Guest Relations Manager at Ponce De Leon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback! We truly value and appreciate the feedback provided by our guests, and we are most happy that you enjoyed your stay. Your evaluation is the best way for us to connect to our guests’ experiences and allows us to make improvements. Again, thank you for the feedback and we hope to have you as our... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

107 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (43)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (64)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question