We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 44 St. Petersburg hotels

Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove

3.0 of 5 Resort   |   6800 Sunshine Skyway Lane, St. Petersburg, FL 33711 (Formerly Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort St Petersburg - Marina Cove)
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove to your Saves list
Ranked #19 of 44 Hotels in St. Petersburg
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012
Timmer304 Kimberling City, Missouri
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    107
    57
    24
    24
See reviews for
91
91
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (298)
  • Mar-May only
    (89)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (81)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (64)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (64)
All months
There are newer reviews for Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove
See the most recent reviews
Kimberling City, Missouri
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
10 hotel reviews
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

While the rooms themselves were not very spacious, they were well kept. Our lower floor room on the far end of this hotel had the distinct 'disadvantage' of requiring a rather long trek of possibly fifteen to twenty feet to arrive at the gulf beach. This room was perfecto!!! While the white sandy beach at times disappears during high tide... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
springmans, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove, responded to this review

Thank you for a great review. We will share it with our friends at Island Boat Adventures as well. On their boat ride you sure do see lots of great wildlife and beautiful scenery. Come back again and see us. Be sure to request the room/area you like. We will do our best to place you there again in the... More 

Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

The overall shape of this hotel (not really a resort) is very poor. Terrible smell, no beach just a small patch which is loaded with dirt and debris. The rooms are falling apart, the beds are terrible, and the location is in the worst part of town. I had actually called several times and spoken with the staff and I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
springmans, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove, responded to this review

Sorry to hear that you were not happy with the hotel. We do have a small man made beach, however we do sit on Tampa Bay. Perhaps the Gulf beaches would have provided you a different atmosphere. The smell of seaweed does occur at times depending on the tides and change of wind. We do clean and maintain the space... More 

Mantua, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

My mom and I were on a "girls week" trip to Florida - we stayed in New Port Richey the first couple nights - them moved to the Marina Cove Resort - what a great place to stay! The room was perfect and very clean! The staff was excellent - so helpful and welcoming! The accommodations were also great -... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
springmans, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove, responded to this review

Sounds like fun! Please come back and relax with us anytime. Perhaps you and your Mom can make our hotel in St. Petersburg a yearly tradition. An escape from reality is always the best. Hope you had a safe trip home. More 

Gulfport, Mississippi
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

My daughter and I stayed at this hotel for one week.. originally it was just 1 night.. but our car broke down and we ended up staying a week.. the staff was EXCELLENT.. they helped us all they could.. by the end of the week I felt like we knew them all. the pools are fine.. the view is great..... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
springmans, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove, responded to this review

We are so glad you made it home safely. I will sure pass on the kind words to Judy and Courtney. Our staff is like a family themselves, so they tend to go out of their way to help others. Sounds like you had more time to enjoy our amenities. Please come back to visit again soon. Maybe you can... More 

Huntington, West Virginia, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel (def not a resort) this past weekend and it was very disappointing. First we show up and the odor from the sewage line going out into the bay was unbearable. Second, we turn the corner to the man made "beach" area that looked beautiful in the pictures however looked like a sewage... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
springmans, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove, responded to this review

I guarantee you that we are not taking your experience lightly. I have read your email and shared some of your concerns with other managers. However, for all the other readers on Tripadvisor, please understand that Tropical Storm Isaac visited us last weekend and there is no sewer line creating any smell or issue. During your stay this past weekend... More 

Auburn, Georgia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

I am not even sure where to began to describe this place.... oh yes the smell that comes from where they call "beach" is completely disgusting, you think they would have a nice beach but no.. I think I saw a fish jumping out of the dirty water for help!!! pictures can be deceitful, then again they have 2 pools... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
springmans, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove, responded to this review

We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay. As you can see from other reviews, many of our guests love our hotel and amenities. We do sit on Tampa Bay and depending on the tides, some seaweed can wash ashore. We do have a man-made beach, however it is different than the Gulf of Mexico. With that said, we... More 

Raleigh
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

This hotel at first glance does not seem all that appealing. But the stay turned out to be a good one. The restaurant food was fantastic and the rooms could have been a bit cleaner but overall, matched my needs. The Calypso Cat trip was amazing and I definitely recommend it! The staff at this hotel were all extremely nice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
springmans, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove, responded to this review

We are so glad you stayed. Our hotel does have a lot to offer people of all ages. The Calypso Cat is a great way to see Tampa Bay and the surrounding areas. They take daily trips out to Egmont Key. I will pass on your kind words to Stephanie. We always appreciate hearing about our staff. More 

Ellenwood, GA
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

This was the host hotel for our 2012 Family Reunion. Everything was very nice. There was something for all ages. Children, teens and adults. The best part was watching the sunrise over the Tampa Bay. Breathtaking!!!! The only draw back was the actual location. It is difficult to get there if you are not on I-275. You need GPS to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
springmans, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove, responded to this review

We love hosting Family Reunions. So glad to hear you all had a good time. Summer is a busy time for reunions all over the St. Pete area. GPS is a great suggestion whenever you are visiting a new city, but the front desk does have various maps to help you out if needed. Hope you made it home safely.... More 

Springfield, Missouri
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

After reading some of the terrible reviews on here, I wasn't sure what to expect, but our entire stay here has been fantastic. The service has been great, all the staff have been friendly, and all of the buildings and pool/garden area have been clean and well-maintained. Nothing feels "old" about it to me. I especially love the pool area... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
springmans, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove, responded to this review

Thank you for all your positive comments and review. We agree that the rental car might be the best option to see around town, if you don't want to use public transportation. However, there are so many things to do at the hotel, you may not want the extra expense. The Calypso Cat is based in our marina and takes... More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We had a really bad experience at this hotel. We had to wake up at 3am in the morning because we had bugs in our bed. My five year old daughter had a lot of bugs in her bed. I was so upset I wanted to cancel my vacation and go home. When my husband mashed some of them it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
springmans, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove, responded to this review

We aggressively pursue any complaint about insects. As far as Bed Bugs, I can honestly say that we do not have any known bug infestation. This hotel has a very detailed inspection process that helps keep us bug free. As everyone already knows, it is everyday people like you and I that bring these pests into hotel, schools, dorms, airplanes... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove

Address: 6800 Sunshine Skyway Lane, St. Petersburg, FL 33711 (Formerly Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort St Petersburg - Marina Cove)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn St Petersburg
Holiday Inn Marina Cove
Holiday Inn Saint Petersburg
Saint Petersburg Holiday Inn
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in St. Petersburg
#2 Top resorts Hotel in St. Petersburg

159 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (122)
Viewed
View from room (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (39)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (23)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (4)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (37)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (13)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay