We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove

3.0 of 5
Hotel website
6800 Sunshine Skyway Lane, St. Petersburg, FL 33711 (Formerly Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort St Petersburg - Marina Cove)
Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ranked #22 of 42 Hotels in St. Petersburg
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013
shelian00
Add Photo Write a Review

359 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    102
    120
    71
    34
    32
See reviews for
117
113
18
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (359)
  • Mar-May only
    (134)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (97)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (64)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (64)
All months
There are newer reviews for Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove
See the most recent reviews
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

A group of friends and family stayed for the Labor Day Weekend. Very convenient location for boating activities. Restaurants, supermarkets, gas stations and some area atractions are within couple minutes from the hotel. Excellent service, very helpful and friendly staff. Rooms were little outdated but clean. Price is reasonable.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
springmans, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review! We are so happy you enjoyed our hotel. Please come back and see us soon! Our staff would love to have you back with us! More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Room stunk, outside smelled like sulphur, yes we forgot the 'do not disturb sign' but yelling quite loud "sorry we're in here" 4 times should've stopped the very loud knocking. I don't see many places that, even if they don't have conditioner, don't have a shampoo plus conditioner. Have signs about not washing towels if they're hung up, but took... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Dalton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I brought my daughter to Eckerd for her 3rd year. I wanted to stay someplace closer to the school as it was only two nights and from experience, it's easier to stay closer to the school. When I first drove up, I was concerned. The outside wasn't what I expected. Pretty dated. But much to my surprise, I had a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
springmans, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove, responded to this review

THank you so much for your review. We are sorry about the smell from the bay. With the heavy rains and tides we do experierience it this time of year. We have a tractor that takes the seaweed away but again it depends on the tides if we can get the tractor out on the beach. It just seems to... More 

Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
65 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

After searching through numerous hotel reviews in St.Petersburg my fiance and I finally decided on this one because of the reasonable price and the attractiveness of the "private beach". I had read reviews of other hotels similar in price/amenities but they had gotten negative comments on noise and loud partiers, which this hotel had none. I will say if you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
springmans, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. I am sorry about the smell from the seaweed. WIth the rain and the high temperatures it sometimes causes us to come across this sitation this time of year. We have a tractor that does clean up the beach of the seaweed. It depends on the tides when we can get the tractor... More 

Lexington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
95 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed here one night on a college tour. It was a very convenient location and we chose it for that reason alone but I would definitely recommend it for a short stay. The staff was super friendly and our room, while dated, was nice and clean and quiet. We had a great view of the pool and the bay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
springmans, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments! Please come back and see us soon! More 

Acton, MA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Dropped off daughter at Eckerd college this weekend. This is closest hotel. The service is good the two pools are nice, plus a playground if you have young kids. Breakfast not included, but tried it twice and food was very good, as was service. Had a second floor room two dbles. Room was dated. Adequate water pressure and hot water.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
springmans, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments! We are glad you had a nice stay. Please come back and see us soon. We would love to have you back! More 

Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on our first trip to Tampa. I picked this hotel for the price and for the lovely beach image that is displayed in pictures when researching this hotel. While the price was right on, the beach was a HUGE disappointment. It is right in a corner and gets debris and sea weed washed into... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
springmans, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on our hotel. We are sorry that our beach did not meet your expectations. This time of year with the storms and the heat we do have seaweed but we also have a tractor that removes the seawood daily depending on the tides. We do suggest that most people rent a car as we are... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Smell all throughout hotel is horrendous -- rotten fish guts. Phone doesn't work -- can't even call front desk. Lobby computers were broken. Wifi is so slow that we do laundry while a page loads. Dog friendly but only inside the room. Small beds. Bumpy pillows. Stained curtains. Ants on carpet. waterfront is really a view of a smelly stagnant... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
springmans, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove, responded to this review

We are sorry our hotel did not meet your expectations. I wish you had contacted management while you were here to address the problems you were having. I will go over your review with my management team here at the hotel! More 

Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed here for one night with a large group and were overall pleased. The resort is very dated but the staff was very friendly and the rooms were clean. The pools were very nice and the little cove beach area was also very nice. I would stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
springmans, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. We really enjoyed having your group here at the Magnuson! We do have a wonderful staff here at the hotel.. They take great pride in our hotel. Please come back and see us soon! We look forward to having you back with us! More 

United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

As everyone has stated previously.....it's dated...looks about late 80s or early 90s and the outside painting reminded me of a circus...all that being said we had a nice visit there. The room was clean, the tv fine for our use. The Internet was horrible, I could get a signal in my room in one spot of the room, but our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
springmans, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove, responded to this review

I want to thank you for your comments and your concerns. We are sorry for the internet problems you had. We had a lightening strike that hit one of our access points causing our internet interruptions. We are in the process of getting it taking care of now. The man that you saw was a guest that had a little... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

639 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (133)
Viewed
View from room (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (41)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (4)
Viewed
Other (28)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (469)
Viewed
Amenities (71)
Viewed
Beach (11)
Viewed
Double Full Bay View Room (49)
Viewed
Double Full Marina View Room (48)
Viewed
Double Standard Room (51)
Viewed
King Standard Room (51)
Viewed
Large Pool (32)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (69)
Viewed
Small Pool (27)
Viewed
The Hotel (60)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay