We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL

Hotel website
Hotel deals
6100 Gulf Boulevard, Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706
Special Offer
Free High Speed Internet
Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ranked #22 of 31 Hotels in Saint Pete Beach
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Carolyn T STACY
Share an Experience

1,096 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    420
    246
    132
    87
See reviews for
406
342
49
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1096)
  • Mar-May only
    (451)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (220)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (225)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (200)
All months
STACY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Very nice hotel. Had a kitchenette with full size fridge and small stove. Was very convenient. The Bar/Restaurant was very convenient and had good food. There are sun cabanas for rent and the beach is absolutely gorgeous. We were there over spring break and would go back to this hotel in a heart beat.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stellarton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Great place, best rates on the beach for a shore stay mid March. Hotel right on a beautiful beach. Room was clean fridge and microwave but some what dated. Everyone was very friendly. All shopping, restaurants, drug stores and grocery stores in walking distance. Pool was warm and clean. Beach bar had live music and the food was good .... More 

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
GR
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Called in advance to ask about early check-in. Was told no guarantees but they would try to have it ready. It was not ready early or even at 4pm the advertised check-in time. We couldn't get in until 5:30, no explanation. Room had a kitchenette but virtually no cookware and not enough dishes/bowls for all guests in room. We had... More 

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
Crystal A, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL, responded to this review

Dear Christine T. The Howard Johnson St. Pete Beach would like to thank you for writing your review. I'm sorry to read of some of the issues you experienced while with us. In regards to your room not being available by our 4 PM check in time there is no justifiable excuse and for that I'd like to offer my... More 

A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We loved where the HJ was located. The pool, and beach bar, nearness to beach was perfect. The rooms...very tired and needed much updating. Balconies dirty...rugs not appetizing and the furniture falling apart. The worst was the air condtioning system and fan. I ended up with a sinus infection from the blasts of air and then nothing. We tried adjusting... More 

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
Crystal A, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL, responded to this review

Dear TripAdvisor Member. Thank you for your feedback of your recent stay at the Howard Johnson St. Pete Beach. I apologize for the issues you experienced while with us. I've forwarded your review to the management staff to ensure that the issues you experienced are rectified. Again, thank you for writing your review. More 

Annapolis, Maryland
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I have never been to this area before. The reservations and check-in process was easy. The hotel seems very old and lost of little things were broken like doors, floor tiles, sliding door locks, and the bathroom mirror. The whole hotel and my room had a very strong odor of cleaning supplies or 'carpet fresh.' It was so strong I... More 

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
Crystal A, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL, responded to this review

Dear John T. The Howard Johnson St. Pete Beach would like to thank you for sharing your recent experience. I'm terribly sorry for the issues you had in your guest room. I have forwarded your review to my management staff. We are going to discuss our cleaning products as the scent shouldn't be that strong. Again, thank you for your... More 

Dyer, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We were disappointed that the front desk incorrectly put a hold on our debit card instead of our credit card. This cost us $10 charge from our bank since it caused our balance to go under the minimum. When we brought this up to the manager it was basically too bad. The cleaning crew did not clean our room one... More 

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
Crystal A, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL, responded to this review

Dear chuckmo48. The Howard Johnson St. Pete Beach would like to thank you for writing your review. I'm sorry for the inconvenience you experienced with your credit card, however what ever card you check in with, is the card that will be authorized for your stay. I understand you switched your card shortly after checking in, but the hold was... More 

Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The hotel grounds were well kept and the location is great, it is on the beach. The interior of the hotel is overdue for a renovation. The carpets are old, the elevators are slow, and the wifi is non-existent. The bathrooms are dated and the towels had a scratchy rough feel.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
Crystal A, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL, responded to this review

Dear Duncan S. Thank you for your review of the Howard Johnson St. Pete Beach. I'm pleased to read that you saw the value in our location as being located in the heart of St. Pete Beach and directly on the Gulf of Mexico makes our property a prime choice. In regards to your comments about things needing a "renovation"... More 

indiana
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Could be such a great property. Needs updates and the cleaning staff does very little. Carpet and tile dirty and stained. Hallway decor is dated furniture dated. Great access to beach and a very good price. Booked a king room and was given two queens. Had to check out of a queen room to be moved to another queen room... More 

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
Crystal A, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL, responded to this review

Dear Ken B. The Howard Johnson St. Pete Beach would like to thank you for sharing your recent experience. All feedback is very valuable and I have forwarded your review to our management staff. We hope that the next time your travels bring you to St. Pete Beach you will give us another chance. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

500 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (169)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (32)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (35)
Viewed
Room/suite (39)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
View from room (12)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (33)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (323)
Viewed
Amenities (43)
Viewed
Beach (18)
Viewed
Other (50)
Viewed
Pool (39)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (48)
Viewed
The Hotel (43)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Suite (82)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question