We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Alden Suites

Hotel website
5900 Gulf Blvd, Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alden Suites
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Alden Suites
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    370
    119
    50
    45
See reviews for
371
253
18
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (907)
  • Mar-May only
    (277)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (266)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (190)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (174)
All months
There are newer reviews for Alden Suites
See the most recent reviews
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2015

I do not know if this will be removed because it is not technically a review of my upcoming stay. I just booked a stay here 22-25. I did so after reading almost all the reviews and responses from management. I really appreciated how each negative review seemed to be addressed and openly explained. I am sure it is possible... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
rgaryr, Owner at Alden Suites, responded to this review

Dear D.S. Thanks for noticing that I, personally, respond to each and every Trip Advisor review, whether good or bad. It is important to me and when a problem or negative issue arises, I make sure to investigate it thoroughly, and also to thank guests that praise us, because it takes time and effort to say good things as well.... More 

Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2015 via mobile

We stayed at the Alden for 4 nights. We were overall pleased with the hotel. This was our first time in the area. Staff: very friendly, always willing to recommend locations of places to eat and things to do. Pools/hot tub: very nice, they were warm and well kept. Enjoyed swimming and relaxing in them. Poolside studio king: the room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
rgaryr, Owner at Alden Suites, responded to this review

We will look into that Bed issue...those suites were totally renovated in late 2010, including all new bedding...we will look into that ASAP Otherwise, thanks so much for the kind comments! Gary Renfrow President & part owner More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2015

Just stayed at the Alden for 4 nights. The staff were very helpful and friendly... we had something come up and were going to need to go in search of a notary, but learned that there is a guy on staff, Chris, who is a certified public notary! Saved us the hassle of finding someone in an unfamiliar area, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
rgaryr, Owner at Alden Suites, responded to this review

Thanks very much for the 5-star review! The beach cabanas are operated buy a independent 3rd party, so I am sorry to hear of your displeasure in the fees charged for renting them. Many of the local hotels charge a "resort fee" which includes use of beach cabanas, but why pay for something you may not use? At Your Service,... More 

Vasteras, Sweden
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2015

Thanks to Chris and his pleasent manner we were able to change room without any problems. The hotels location is great, located directly on the beach. However, it really needs an over all renovation..

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
rgaryr, Owner at Alden Suites, responded to this review

Thanks for the Excellent Service comments... Not sure what suite this guest occupied, but all of them have been renovated between 2008-2104... Gary Renfrow President & part owner More 

Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2015

We had such a wonderful experience at this hotel. We had a newly renovated room which was huge with a new good sized refrigerator, stove with oven and even a dishwasher. Grills were a great money saver. The very friendly gal at the front desk told us where to get massages which were great. Snappers across the street was very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
rgaryr, Owner at Alden Suites, responded to this review

Thank you very much!!! What a nice review! At Your Service, Gary Renfrow President & part owner More 

Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
18 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2015

Shower and tub would not drain and backed up with old soap suds. Headboard on bed filthy. Couldn't get in to parking lot at night because key would not work. Attitudes were poor when brought to there attention. Very outdated. Would not recommend and would not stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
rgaryr, Owner at Alden Suites, responded to this review

Sorry to hear of this...brand new locking system of all doors and the parking gate...had a few "bugs" worked out and all work fine. Drain was fixed immediately. Hotel is not "outdated" Constant renovations prevent that from happening Not much detail to respond to in this review... Gary Renfrow President & part owner More 

Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2015

Stayed for three nights with our 3 teenage boys in a Suite. Had two queen beds in the bedroom as you walked in and a sofa bed in the lounge/kitchen area. Had a great view from the 4th floor beachside room and there was a nice balcony with chairs. Definitely worth getting the Beachside rooms as others look over the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
rgaryr, Owner at Alden Suites, responded to this review

Nice to swim outside in January, in the Florida sunshine! Thanks for your kind comments, Gary Renfrow President & part owner More 

Boulder, Colorado
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2015

I have never written a bad review for any hotel… But my experience at the Alden was THE WORST I'VE EVER HAD! Be warned, that upper management did not try in anyway to rectify this awful situation. I booked a room for a training that was amazing, thank goodness! But I arrived to a completely outdated, dirty, unsafe, over-priced dump.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
rgaryr, Owner at Alden Suites, responded to this review

Sorry to hear of this very unfortunate situation, and it is the first time in my 14 years as President of the Hotel that we have a guest reporting that their free in room safe had been broken into. There is only one key to that safe, so it is difficult to believe it was broken into. The master key... More 

Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
26 hotel reviews
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2015

We really enjoyed our gulf view suite at the Alden. Clean space, comfortable bed, pleasant sitting area with couch and small table, balcony with a lounge chair, 2 side chairs, and a small table. TV's in both the sitting area and bedroom. The kitchenette was tiny despite having a 4 burner stove and oven, and there was barely enough counter... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
rgaryr, Owner at Alden Suites, responded to this review

Thanks so much... Gary Renfrow President & part owner More 

Asheville NC
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2015

We reserved a room through a third party site for one night. This hotel advertises itself as an all suite hotel with no mention of a single room availability. Yet we were given a truly crummy outdated tiny room for not really a low rate. When I commented on this I was told they reserve these rooms for those booking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
rgaryr, Owner at Alden Suites, responded to this review

Yes, this is not a very nice review of Alden Suites...However, very easy to respond to... First some basic FACTS : 1) We have 143 total units, of which 139 are SUITES. 2) We have 4 "ROOMS" which are not advertised on our website, in any brochures or other sales materials. 3) The 4 ROOMS are small, with a Queen... More 

Hotel Review Summarization

What travelers say

  • Cabana bar(6)
  • Great location(3)
  • Very nice(3)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

566 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (317)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (62)
Viewed
View from room (41)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (75)
Viewed
Room/suite (45)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
1:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (81)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (226)
Viewed
Amenities (36)
Viewed
Beach (12)
Viewed
One Bedroom Suite (50)
Viewed
One Bedroom Suite Gulf View (65)
Viewed
Pool (22)
Viewed
The Hotel (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question