We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Comfort Suites Downtown

Hotel website
Hotel deals
42 San Marco Avenue, Saint Augustine, FL 32084
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Comfort Suites Downtown
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Comfort Suites Downtown
Add Photo Write a Review

257 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    52
    100
    54
    31
    20
See reviews for
72
106
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (257)
  • Mar-May only
    (73)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (74)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (53)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (57)
All months
Dalton, Georgia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed here for 3 nights in between two beach stays. Great location. Close enough to walk to everything but far enough away from the crowds. Above average breakfast and a very nice staff. Would diffidently stay here again for downtown St. Augustine activities.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is in a great location. Once we arrived at the hotel we didn't get back into the car until check out. All the attractions resturants and bars are all in walking distance. however, there isn't ac in hallways so the are warm and musty. There is only one elevator, which was dirty and also no ac. Rooms were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shefali P, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you so much for writing a review on behalf of our hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and our wonderful location. We truly appreciate your business and value your loyalty. We look forward to your next visit. Have a wonderful day! More 

Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

As a long time standing member of Choice Hotels, I was very disappointed when I checked in, and was informed there would be a $7.00 per day, charge for my outside parking spot. {I was told that was with my Senior discount}.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Shefali P, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete this survey. We apologize about the inconvenience of the parking fee. This is a policy that has been adapted by several places in the historic district. This fee also allows guests to park their car at hotel before checkin and after check out. This saves the guests from the hassle and fees... More 

Estero, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at the Hotel because it was walking distance to downtown so we "thought" we would not have to pay for parking. We were totally fooled. We were charged $10 for parking. We visit St Augustine's a lot. We WON't be staying her again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Shefali P, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We apologize for your unsatisfactory visit. We understand you have other choices and hope you will have a better experience elsewhere. Thank you and have a wonderful day! More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great location! Clean and extremely comfortable. Good water pressure, breakfast is adequate & the staff was very pleasant and helpful. Cost is affordable. Walking distance to all historic district sights. The parking fee is ok. The elevator needs a bit of work

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shefali P, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review on behalf of our hotel. We truly appreciate and value your business. Your kind words will be encouragement to continue great customer service. Again, thank you for your time and have a wonderful day! More 

Cranford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

On way to the Keys from NJ, stopped for a night to see St. Augustine...a beautiful historic city. King "suite" on 4th floor wasn't a suite at all. It was a room with a bathroom, small fridge and microwave. That said, the room was comfortable with bedding and pillows offering a good night's rest. Small balcony was a plus. A... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Shefali P, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete this review for our hotel. We apologize that your stay wasn't completely satisfactory. We try our best to use the feedback to improve our hotel and service. We hope you will consider giving us another chance. Thank you again for your time and feedback. Have a wonderful day! More 

Jesup, Georgia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2015

We stayed here for our honeymoon and came back for Valentine's Day. It isn't super nice but it's clean and in a great area where you can walk to downtown. We stay here every time we come and enjoy it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shefali P, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete this survey. We truly appreciate your loyalty with us and are delighted you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your kind words. This will serve as encouragement to the staff to continue great customer service. We look forward to seeing you again! Have a wonderful day! More 

Kutztown
Level Contributor
49 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2015

This hotel is merely a few blocks from the city gate; therefore, even if you are out late enjoying the live music in town, it is no trouble at all to walk back. The area is safe. Our room was clean, the bed was comfortable, and the towels were thick and and white. The staff was amazing--friendly and helpful. Cristina,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Shefali P, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you so much for writing a wonderful review on behalf of our hotel. We truly appreciate your business and value your feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We certainly hope you will visit us again when in the area. Thank you and have a wonderful day! More 

2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2015 via mobile

Came with friends because of the location. At 11 pm got a noise complaint after being in the room for 5 minutes. We ordered a pizza and the delivery guy said the front desk asked him to see if we were loud. We paid over $100 to be told we were too loud for simply having the tv on. Will... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shefali P, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Please allow me to apologize on behalf of the hotel for your unsatisfactory visit. We hope you understand our position about the noise level, and did what we are trained to do. We truly appreciate your business and are sorry we disappointed you. Thank you and have a wonderful day! More 

Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2015

Stayed there over Memorial Day weekend 2015-my adult children stayed in one room (2 queen beds) and my husband and I stayed in a disability access room. the disability room DEFINITELY needs painting especially the bathroom and the bathroom door but the room was clean and quiet. My children enjoyed their room and their bathroom was clean. The breakfast buffet... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shefali P, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete this survey. We truly appreciate and value your feedback. Your feedback will help us to improve our services. We are glad you enjoyed our convenient location. We hope you will stay with us again when you are visiting St.Augustine. Thank you and have a wonderful day! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

49 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (23)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Augustine hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Spanish Quarter Inn
BEST WESTERN Spanish Quarter Inn
#32 of 78 in Saint Augustine
4.0 of 5 stars 431 reviews
5.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#15 of 78 in Saint Augustine
4.5 of 5 stars 407 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. A...
#36 of 78 in Saint Augustine
4.0 of 5 stars 492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Historic St. Augustine
Magnuson Hotel Historic St. Augu...
#57 of 78 in Saint Augustine
3.0 of 5 stars 294 reviews
1.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Augustine Downtown Historic District
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#39 of 78 in Saint Augustine
3.5 of 5 stars 401 reviews
0.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn-Historic St Augustine
Howard Johnson Inn-Historic St A...
#56 of 78 in Saint Augustine
3.0 of 5 stars 783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay