We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Comfort Suites Downtown

Hotel website
Hotel deals
42 San Marco Avenue, Saint Augustine, FL 32084
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Comfort Suites Downtown
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

262 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    53
    102
    55
    31
    21
See reviews for
74
107
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (262)
  • Mar-May only
    (73)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (79)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (53)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (57)
All months
Lancaster, MA
Level Contributor
63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a good place to stay if you're on a budget and want to be near the historic district. The rooms are dated and in need of some updates/repairs but were very clean and quiet. Continental breakfast was a nice bonus. Parking is $10/night. Overall a good stay and would return if the rooms were updated.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shefali P, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this review on our behalf. We truly appreciate your business and value your feedback. We are happy you had a satisfactory visit with us. Also, glad to hear you enjoyed our convenient location. We will use your feedback to improve our services. We hope you will stay with us again when in... More 

Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Worst internet connection ever encountered at any hotel we stayed at. If you rely on having any type of internet service then you might want to stay elsewhere. Not only did we have excessive problems with all failed attempts to connect, our friends staying in another room were unable to connect as well. We repeatedly mentioned to the front desk... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shefali P, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to complete this survey. We apologize for the internet. We have been in contact with the service provider and are waiting on a better solution. We recently upgraded to high speed, but it's still not satisfactory. Also, we apologize for the leaks due to the storms. We will take your feedback to... More 

Mount Dora, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great hotel, great price walking distance to all historic old town sites :) Looked recently renovated, staff was lovely! We were in a clean cold room at 2:30 with no prior reservation. Breakfast is good eats and free. Wifi in our room was basically non existent. BUT we had a coffee, pot, mini fridge, microwave and balcony. I would definitely... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shefali P, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review on our behalf. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your visit again in the near future. Thank you and have a wonderful day! More 

Dalton, Georgia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here for 3 nights in between two beach stays. Great location. Close enough to walk to everything but far enough away from the crowds. Above average breakfast and a very nice staff. Would diffidently stay here again for downtown St. Augustine activities.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2015

This hotel is in a great location. Once we arrived at the hotel we didn't get back into the car until check out. All the attractions resturants and bars are all in walking distance. however, there isn't ac in hallways so the are warm and musty. There is only one elevator, which was dirty and also no ac. Rooms were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Shefali P, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you so much for writing a review on behalf of our hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and our wonderful location. We truly appreciate your business and value your loyalty. We look forward to your next visit. Have a wonderful day! More 

Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2015

As a long time standing member of Choice Hotels, I was very disappointed when I checked in, and was informed there would be a $7.00 per day, charge for my outside parking spot. {I was told that was with my Senior discount}.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Shefali P, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete this survey. We apologize about the inconvenience of the parking fee. This is a policy that has been adapted by several places in the historic district. This fee also allows guests to park their car at hotel before checkin and after check out. This saves the guests from the hassle and fees... More 

Estero, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2015

We stayed at the Hotel because it was walking distance to downtown so we "thought" we would not have to pay for parking. We were totally fooled. We were charged $10 for parking. We visit St Augustine's a lot. We WON't be staying her again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Shefali P, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We apologize for your unsatisfactory visit. We understand you have other choices and hope you will have a better experience elsewhere. Thank you and have a wonderful day! More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2015

Great location! Clean and extremely comfortable. Good water pressure, breakfast is adequate & the staff was very pleasant and helpful. Cost is affordable. Walking distance to all historic district sights. The parking fee is ok. The elevator needs a bit of work

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shefali P, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review on behalf of our hotel. We truly appreciate and value your business. Your kind words will be encouragement to continue great customer service. Again, thank you for your time and have a wonderful day! More 

Cranford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2015

On way to the Keys from NJ, stopped for a night to see St. Augustine...a beautiful historic city. King "suite" on 4th floor wasn't a suite at all. It was a room with a bathroom, small fridge and microwave. That said, the room was comfortable with bedding and pillows offering a good night's rest. Small balcony was a plus. A... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Shefali P, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete this review for our hotel. We apologize that your stay wasn't completely satisfactory. We try our best to use the feedback to improve our hotel and service. We hope you will consider giving us another chance. Thank you again for your time and feedback. Have a wonderful day! More 

Jesup, Georgia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2015

We stayed here for our honeymoon and came back for Valentine's Day. It isn't super nice but it's clean and in a great area where you can walk to downtown. We stay here every time we come and enjoy it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shefali P, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete this survey. We truly appreciate your loyalty with us and are delighted you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your kind words. This will serve as encouragement to the staff to continue great customer service. We look forward to seeing you again! Have a wonderful day! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

53 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (23)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Augustine hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Spanish Quarter Inn
BEST WESTERN Spanish Quarter Inn
#32 of 78 in Saint Augustine
4.0 of 5 stars 443 reviews
5.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#14 of 78 in Saint Augustine
4.5 of 5 stars 415 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. A...
#33 of 78 in Saint Augustine
4.0 of 5 stars 512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Historic St. Augustine
Magnuson Hotel Historic St. Augu...
#58 of 78 in Saint Augustine
3.0 of 5 stars 301 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Ba...
#18 of 78 in Saint Augustine
4.5 of 5 stars 1,054 reviews
1.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Augustine Downtown Historic District
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#40 of 78 in Saint Augustine
3.5 of 5 stars 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay