We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 47 Panama City Beach hotels

Hotel at the Boardwalk Beach Resort

2.5 of 5 Resort   |   9600 South Thomas Drive, Panama City Beach, FL 32408 (Formerly Howard Johnson)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Hotel at the Boardwalk Beach Resort to your Saves list
Hotel at the Boardwalk Beach Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
  • Overview
  • Reviews (239)
  • Photos (89)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A (1)
  • Room tips (53)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

239 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    24
    29
    41
    131
See reviews for
66
43
1
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Moody, Alabama, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Great hotel for a weekend in Panama City IF you like being on Thomas Drive. It was loud and crowded and we were surrounded by teenagers. But it was clean and secure and me and my child had a great weekend. NOTE: No chairs on the balconies or in the rooms, so bring your own!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Louisville, Kentucky
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Things started going bad once we gave them the bulk of our payment for everything. The lady we delt with tried to squeeze 3,000 more dollars out of us for verious reasons that were not in the contract or emails we have discussed over the past year. We had to get a lawyer to stop this issue. Once we got... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

This hotel is disgusting. So much so that we packed up our belongings at 10 pm to drive 2 hours back to Pensacola because we were so grossed out. The room was filthy, and the bathroom had dirt and mold all over it. We originally asked to see a cleaner room but it was just as dirty as the one... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is ok for a one night stay or to be used as an emergency stop, but to use it for more than that I will advise to look somewhere else. Rooms and bathrooms could use better cleaning. The only plus is it seats on the beach like it states on their hotel features.

Was this review helpful? Yes
BoardwalkBeachResort, Public Relations Manager at Hotel at the Boardwalk Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Judith H, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are happy to hear that you were satisfied with our location, but we are sorry to learn you were not satisfied with some other areas of your stay. Our housekeeping staff is here round the clock, and would have been happy to take care of any... More

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We got there and they charged $18 for there being everything so close to hotel. Got to our room and the bathroom sink was clogged,one trash can for the room,not even one in bathroom. Service was awful,room was not clean. Overall the experience was awful. Would not recommend to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes
BoardwalkBeachResort, Public Relations Manager at Hotel at the Boardwalk Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear 4amigoe, We would like to learn more about the fee you are referencing, as we do not charge for our convenient location. Customer service and room cleanliness are both top priorities for our hotel and we would like you to know that we will be improving in both areas. So we can further look into your complaints, please email... More

Panama City
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

No one answers the front desk or guest relations phone for service. Rooms are super old and run down. Outside looks dumpy and nothing like the pictures! Pictures EMBELLISH greatly! The only good thing was the price and location and I'm not sure it was worth it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BoardwalkBeachResort, Public Relations Manager at Hotel at the Boardwalk Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear SouthsideyankeeD, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are glad to hear that you did find value in our location and happy to announce that we are currently undergoing renovations. Some of these renovations have already been made, while others are still to come. The floors, bunk beds, fresh paint and more that you did... More

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I really loved this place. Everyone was very nice and it was in a great location. Great place to stay for a young couple! They also had great rates for the end of summer! The room was nice and very clean and we had plenty of room for the two of us! We had a great time and very nice... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BoardwalkBeachResort, Public Relations Manager at Hotel at the Boardwalk Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear ShelbyPick14, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are always glad to see a happy and satisfied guest speak up and write a positive review for us. We look forward to serving you on your next trip to Panama City Beach! Thank You, Boardwalk Beach Resort Hotel & Convention Center Guest Satisfaction Team More

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had to wait over 2 hrs for our room. The room was so dark. Only had one table lamp. The bathroom had mold and there were not enough towel rakes. There was a bulb missing in the bathroom light. The door did not have a security latch. There were no ice machines in the Dunes and the front desk... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BoardwalkBeachResort, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel at the Boardwalk Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Regina P, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are concerned to hear about some of your complaints. Please email details of your stay (room number, name on the reservation, etc) to GuestSatisfaction@BoardwalkBeachResort.com. Thank You, Boardwalk Beach Resort Hotel & Convention Center Guest Satisfaction Team More

LaGrange, Georgia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I recently stayed at this hotel for three days and was very skeptical about the rooms due to the reviews, but I can honestly say that I did not experience none of the bad reviews that some have stated. Yes, the hotel needs to be revamped, but my room was freshy painted and clean. The only thing I was missing... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BoardwalkBeachResort, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel at the Boardwalk Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear latoya 86, Thank you for the taking the time to write this honest review. We are happy to hear that you were satisfied with your stay with us and we always appreciate positive feedback from our guests. You are also correct about our hotel needing to be revamped and we would like for you to know that we are... More

Tallahassee, Florida
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I recently stayed at this hotel for one night. The view was a good as you would want in Panama City. The rooms were extremely disappointing though. Very damaged. Hotel needs a major facelift and a good paint job. The refrigerator was ok, but there was a 2 inch layer of frost in the freezer part. Room was clean, but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BoardwalkBeachResort, Public Relations Manager at Hotel at the Boardwalk Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear smrobin01, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are happy to hear that you were satisfied with our customer service and cleanliness. We are glad to hear how much enjoyed our beautiful location. Your comments are valued and we appreciate your honest feedback. We want you to know that we’ve heard you is actively undergoing... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Hotel at the Boardwalk Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Hotel at the Boardwalk Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel at the Boardwalk Beach Resort

Address: 9600 South Thomas Drive, Panama City Beach, FL 32408 (Formerly Howard Johnson)
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel at the Boardwalk Beach Resort 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Hotel at the Boardwalk Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel At The Boardwalk Beach Panama City Beach
Resort At The Boardwalk Beach

89 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (79)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (27)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (10)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
3:57
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Panama City Beach with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Hotel Style
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Panama City Beach #21 On the Beach Hotel in Panama City Beach
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
319

Questions & Answers

Here’s what questions travelers have asked, with answers from representatives of Hotel at the Boardwalk Beach Resort and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel at the Boardwalk Beach Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer