We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 52 Panama City Beach hotels

Hotel at the Boardwalk Beach Resort

2.5 of 5 Resort   |   9600 South Thomas Drive, Panama City Beach, FL 32408 (Formerly Howard Johnson)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Hotel at the Boardwalk Beach Resort to your Saves list
Hotel at the Boardwalk Beach Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
  • Overview
  • Reviews (224)
  • Photos (87)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A (1)
  • Room tips (50)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

224 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    23
    26
    36
    125
See reviews for
60
43
1
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Having to stand in line for such a long time just to check in. The staff was friendly and helpful, that's the only compliment I have for this place. The beds had sand in the bed. The beds are not comfortable AT ALL and they don't even have a headboard like the online pictures of the rooms. There is one... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

So I drove from G.A and once I got there I had to wait in line for about 30 mins. Next, As I am making my way to the room I see the floors absolutely disgusting. Not to mention the walls, DIRTY and OLD, cracked stairs. As you're walking in the hallways, you have to step over water from all... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dallas, Georgia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I don't think I can adequately explain how bad my experience was. I drove from Georgia and when I arrived I waited in a line in the parking lot, then was told I was to go inside and wait in a line to "preregister" (I already had a reservation), after over an hour of waiting I was told they would... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BoardwalkBeachResort, Public Relations Manager at Hotel at the Boardwalk Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear dmcamish, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are concerned to hear about some of your complaints. Please email details of your stay (room number, name on the reservation, etc) to GuestSatisfaction@BoardwalkBeachResort.com. Thank You, Boardwalk Beach Resort Hotel & Convention Center Guest Satisfaction Team More

Smiths, Alabama
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A picture is worth a thousand words! Let me just start by saying I'm pretty easy to please but this place is Disgusting! Please if you value your health and life ..do not even take a chance. Floors dirty, bathroom filthy and I was scared for my grand children to touch anything! Management here is a joke! They are only... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BoardwalkBeachResort, Public Relations Manager at Hotel at the Boardwalk Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear staceyoneal8, Thank you for taking the time to write such an informative review. We would like to hear more details of your stay so we may take corrective action. Would you be so kind to please send us an email to GuestSatifaction@BoardwalkBeachResort.com, including your dates of stay and reservation name and confirmation number? Thank You, Boardwalk Beach Resort Hotel... More

Fairburn, Georgia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The only good thing about this hotel is the location, right on the beach and the ocean view was gorgeous. For the price, the rooms are old and outdated, beds uncomfortable, sheets were turned inside out and raggedy. The check in time was a little extensive, front desk service was poor and slow....thank God this was just a weekend getaway.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BoardwalkBeachResort, Public Relations Manager at Hotel at the Boardwalk Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Ilovetovacay0818, Thank you for taking the time to write this review and it’s good to hear that you did enjoy our beach front location. We regret that you did not enjoy some other aspects of your stay as much as you did our location. We would like to let you know that we here what you are saying about... More

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Roaches everywhere... That's nasty enough. Besides that there were BLOODSTAINS on my bed when I got there. We stayed for 5 days and not once did our sheets get changed. The hotel has problems like loose hair driers and awful broken doors and when we checked out, they blamed the probles on us and charged us!!! The service was bad... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BoardwalkBeachResort, Public Relations Manager at Hotel at the Boardwalk Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Cape_Ryan, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We regret that you did not bring any of these issues up to our front desk staff during the time of your stay, so we could have had the opportunity to make things right. Please email us details of your stay to GuestSatisfaction@BoardwalkBeachResort.com, so we can better investigate... More

Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My friends & I spent July fourth here.. I was very skeptical about this place..(Though I didn't have much of a choice because it was last minute thing) And all the other places were either booked or way over my budget. . Surprisingly like I said.. It wasn't as bad as I thought it would be. We were on the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BoardwalkBeachResort, Public Relations Manager at Hotel at the Boardwalk Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear o1ly, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are happy to hear that you were satisfied with your stay and found that our hotel provided you with your best possible value. Thank you for your suggestion about the room outlets, we will make sure to look into the possibility of adding this project to our... More

Valdosta, Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My family and I went to Panama City Beach for the weekend, we had not stayed the weekend there before so I booked our hotel using Booking.com. Online the hotel looked average, but it was on the beach. It was one of the only hotels that had rooms available. When we got to the hotel the women at the check... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
BoardwalkBeachResort, Public Relations Manager at Hotel at the Boardwalk Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear bmlucas2014, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are concerned to hear about some of your issues and we would like to look more into them. Please email us some more details of your stay to GuestSatisfaction@BoardwalkBeachResort.com, so we can better address your issues with both our front desk and housekeeping departments. The upgrading from... More

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My family and I decided to book this hotel, despite reading the reviews. So it means we were expecting the worse upon arrival. There were many stories about how long it took for people to check in so we figured we would get there around 3 to be the first ones. There was a long line already forming, but check-in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
BoardwalkBeachResort, Public Relations Manager at Hotel at the Boardwalk Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Dave W, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are happy to hear that you were satisfied with your stay. Thank you for the compliments about our customer service, as it is a top priority with us. We would also like to apologize to you for the long wait to check-in this past Friday and... More

Dawson, Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Not pleased with my recent stay at all. Long wait just to check in. Booked 2 rooms but only given 1 at time of check in.Fee taken out for both but a 2 hour laps before second room available. Called several times for housekeeping and towels. Beds small, pillows dirty. Only 1 plug working in room. Need to remove resort... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
BoardwalkBeachResort, Public Relations Manager at Hotel at the Boardwalk Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Fairytales1, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are concerned to hear about some of your complaints and regret that we were not informed of your displeasure during the time of your stay. We would like to look more into your complaints, so please email details of your stay to GuestSatisfaction@BoardwalkBeachResort.com. Thank You, Boardwalk Beach... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Hotel at the Boardwalk Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Hotel at the Boardwalk Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel at the Boardwalk Beach Resort

Address: 9600 South Thomas Drive, Panama City Beach, FL 32408 (Formerly Howard Johnson)
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel at the Boardwalk Beach Resort 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Hotel at the Boardwalk Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel At The Boardwalk Beach Panama City Beach
Resort At The Boardwalk Beach

87 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (77)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (27)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (10)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
3:57
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Panama City Beach #22 On the Beach Hotel in Panama City Beach
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
319

See which rooms travelers prefer