We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 45 Panama City Beach hotels

Hotel at the Boardwalk Beach Resort

2.5 of 5 Resort   |   9600 South Thomas Drive, Panama City Beach, FL 32408 (Formerly Howard Johnson)
Hotel amenities
Hotel at the Boardwalk Beach Resort
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel at the Boardwalk Beach Resort to your Saves list
Ranked #44 of 45 Hotels in Panama City Beach
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    26
    32
    47
    142
See reviews for
73
49
2
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (262)
  • Mar-May only
    (56)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (127)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (66)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (13)
All months
Dothan, Alabama
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Went for the first time with our dogs. Room was clean. Didn't have enough toilet paper in the room. Slight problem with water in room but it was fixed ASAP. We went to the bar, Rusty Anchor and the wine was old and they were out of beer. Not a very happening place during the off season. Great place to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here as it was the host hotel for the 2014 Ironman. We had read that the hotel was under renovation, so when we checked in, we asked for one of the rooms that was completed. We were told that all of the rooms were done and that the renovation was complete. If that is true, then there is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BoardwalkBeachResort, Public Relations Manager at Hotel at the Boardwalk Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Jason B, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and we are sorry to hear about your negative experience. You are correct about how our hotel rooms are not yet completely remodeled and we apologize if you were ever under any different impression than that. Some of these renovations have already been completed, while others are... More

Mayfield
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

When we stayed at the boardwalk beach resort hotel everything was great. Right on the beach, walking distance to pineapple willys and spinnakers. The room was 2 double bed room non smoking pool view 3rd. floor and it was very nice. No complaints at all with the room. absolutely worth the money. Will definitely will stay again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
BoardwalkBeachResort, Public Relations Manager at Hotel at the Boardwalk Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Thomas W, Thank you for very much for taking the time to write this nice review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to hosting your next trip to the beach! Thank You, Boardwalk Beach Resort Hotel & Convention Center Guest Satisfaction Team More

Tallahassee, Florida, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at this hotel overnight 10/25. When making the reservation a GULF VIEW was requested. We are given a room on the 1st floor with a wonderful view of the tent set up behind the hotel. It took 45mins for a different room to be located and made available. After we checked out on 10/26 we were about 2hrs... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BoardwalkBeachResort, Public Relations Manager at Hotel at the Boardwalk Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Nichole P, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and we are sorry to hear your Kindle has not yet been located. When our housekeeping team finds an item left behind by a guest, we have measures in place to ensure those items are returned to the owner as quickly as possible. So we may look... More

Zephyrhills, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I drove over 6 hours from Tampa to the Boardwalk for a one night stay the end of August. We have two small dogs that we brought with us. We arrived around 3:30 in the afternoon. We thought we reserved one of the condos but we were wrong. No big deal, it was just one night. Once... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BoardwalkBeachResort, Public Relations Manager at Hotel at the Boardwalk Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Jenny C, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your experience and would like to look into some of the issues you cited in your post. If you would, please email GuestSatisfaction@BoardwalkBeachResort.com with your dates of stay, reservation name and confirmation number if possible. In the meantime,... More

Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

We chose, last minute, to take a trip to PCB this weekend. There was a class reunion as well as another event going on. We paid for hotel rooms, but couldn't get a parking space, and as other travelers said - had to park in an "overflow" lot a good piece away. The lot was not secure, anyone could walk... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BoardwalkBeachResort, Public Relations Manager at Hotel at the Boardwalk Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Christina M, Thank you for taking the time write this review. We are concerned to hear about some of your complaints and would like to discuss them in further detail. Please email GuestSatisfaction@BoardwalkBeachResort.com with your contact information and more details of your stay. We will be happy to look over all details and get back in touch with you.... More

Panama City, Florida
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

I am a LOCAL. We stayed 10-11-2014 for our 40th class reunion. I had made the reservation 4-6 months in advance. Upon arrival, we were told our gulfside room was not available, but could get a reduced price in a "poolview" room. I said ok. What I got was a room looking at a wall with a roof full of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BoardwalkBeachResort, Public Relations Manager at Hotel at the Boardwalk Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear William H, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are in the process of updating and renovating all of our hotel rooms, and one these updates will include new flat screen televisions in each room. Unfortunately, parking spaces do get tight during a special events and we do our best to accommodate everyone. In instances... More

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014 via mobile

I am from Nashville, TN and found the "buy 2 get 1 free"so I chose this hotel. First, there was hair all over the "clean bed" and "clean bathroom". Then, the refrigerator didn't work. Next, the "clean" towels had all sort of human hair on them! Yuck!!! Then finally, on our last night here, there were absolutely no parking spaces... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BoardwalkBeachResort, Public Relations Manager at Hotel at the Boardwalk Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear William H, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are in the process of updating and renovating all of our hotel rooms, and one these updates will include new flat screen televisions in each room. Unfortunately, parking spaces do get tight during a special events and we do our best to accommodate everyone. In instances... More

Nashville, Tennessee, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

This hotel was advertising a Buy 4-Get 1 Free night during Thunder Beach so we opted to try it out in order to save money. We will not be returning to the hotel due to the most uncomfortable beds we have ever slept on. They were extremely hard! The hotel rooms definitely need to be updated.

Was this review helpful? Yes
BoardwalkBeachResort, Public Relations Manager at Hotel at the Boardwalk Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Tenfsunole, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are happy to hear that you did find a value in our cleanliness and service, but disappointed to hear about your quality of sleep on our beds. We would like to let you know that we are currently in the process of updating our entire hotel, and... More

Tallahassee, Florida
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2014

I can honestly say this is the worst hotel I have ever stayed at. It was very outdated, had a musty smell and looked like it had been through one too many spring breaks. I called to complain and they offered me a bigger room that was still disgusting. Surprisingly the bath tub had been replaced and looked very nice... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BoardwalkBeachResort, Public Relations Manager at Hotel at the Boardwalk Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear 52bikerchick, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are happy to hear that you did enjoy our location and the view from your room, but sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the rest of your stay with us. We are in the process of updating all of our rooms as well as upgrades... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Hotel at the Boardwalk Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel at the Boardwalk Beach Resort

Address: 9600 South Thomas Drive, Panama City Beach, FL 32408 (Formerly Howard Johnson)
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel at the Boardwalk Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 319
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Hotel at the Boardwalk Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel At The Boardwalk Beach Panama City Beach
Resort At The Boardwalk Beach

97 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (87)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (27)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (10)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
3:57
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay