We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Beachside Resort

21905 Front Beach Rd, Panama City Beach, FL 32413 (Formerly Grand Cayman Motel)
Hotel amenities
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Beachside Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Beachside Resort
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    87
    27
    17
    6
See reviews for
78
70
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (215)
  • Mar-May only
    (29)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (104)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (51)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (31)
All months
Jersey City, New Jersey
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
28 hotel reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This was pleasant surprise. It is a clean newly renovated oceanfront motel. The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. The rate the could not be beat for a clean oceanfront resort. There was some construction going on as they continued with updates. The room was simple with new bed, bedding, furniture, refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker. They had a pool... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
John L, General Manager at The Beachside Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your kind words about your January visit. I'm so glad you enjoyed your visit. One note, all of the construction that was on-going when you were here has been completed. Again, thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again very soon. More 

Fort Worth, Tx
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

It started when we booked the hotel and had to change dates due to flight cancelations out of DFW. We were told no problem but when we arrived they added $55 to our bill which made the room $189! This room had filthy windows, sand on the floor a very noisy A/C. It looked more like a very low budget... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
John L, General Manager at The Beachside Resort, responded to this review

I wanted to thank you for taking the time to let me know about the issues you experienced with your visit. I'm so sorry that your room was not clean and your rate was not what you expected. I noticed that you mentioned you changed dates. Typically, when the dates are changed you are not guaranteed the rate you originally... More 

Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

When I arrived to the room, I was very surprised how it was set up! It was almost like two rooms, which worked out awesome! Lots of space, great view. And very friendly staff! I would recommend this hotel and I can not wait to plan my next vacation here!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
John L, General Manager at The Beachside Resort, responded to this review

Heather -- Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts about your recent visit. I'm so glad you had a great time. Our rooms hearken back to a different era, some would say it's lots of wasted space, but I think they're wonderful, Since they're larger than the average new hotel room, you've got lots of space to... More 

Montreal, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have stayed here a good 8 to 10 years before. This hotel has changed hands a few times over recent years & although they are attempting to improve things they are missing the mark dealing with their winter guests. Firstly, there is NO `Resort` in this hotel as it simply provides rooms, pool & hot tub & nothing more... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
John L, General Manager at The Beachside Resort, responded to this review

First, I'd like to thank you for choosing to spend that last 8-10 winters with us. And as I said to many in our winter community as I spoke with them, we were so sorry that your visit was upset by our continuing updates, repairs and renovations. With out getting into a blow by blow, most of the renovation was... More 

New Madison, Ohio
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The rooms were spacious, clean, and very quiet with a beautiful view of the gulf. It was at the quiet end of the beach but still close enough to get to the restaurants/shops by the beach. The staff was very friendly, especially Wendy - what a sweetheart. The day I was there checking on a room for next winter, Wendy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
John L, General Manager at The Beachside Resort, responded to this review

Greg E. -- I'm so glad you've found a new place to escape the chill of winter. I'll be sure to pass on your kind comments to Wendy. She's become a very special part of our team. Again, thank you for posting and we look forward to seeing you in February. More 

1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This place is the place you want to stay if constantly want to spend you beach vacation being lied to by the hotel staff. They said the construction was done, it is not even close. Spent the past few days listing to the masons prepping space to lay bricks at 7 in the morning. Yesterday I was woken Up by... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
John L, General Manager at The Beachside Resort, responded to this review

I wanted to thank you for posting your thoughts about your recent visit. I'm very sorry that your vacation was ruined by the construction and our pool. The information you were told was the best we had at the time. We can only provide the information that our contractors were giving us. Sadly, many of them worked with less urgency... More 

Grand Rapids, Michigan
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We arrived to check in at the Beachside Resort and when we first went up to our room we were disappointed to say the least. One of the beds was covered in dirt. Not just a few sprinkles, but actual chunks. We went to the front desk and they moved us to a different room. There ended up being tons... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
John L, General Manager at The Beachside Resort, responded to this review

I wanted to thank you for your review. First, I would like to apologize for the issues you had with your visit. The construction that occurred during your stay was slated to have been finished long before you arrived. When we were finally informed of what was to take place, it was the day of the event. Not an excuse... More 

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Have stayed here before and returned. Room is clean and just as presented. We got a 2 bedroom with the kitchen and bathroom.. Right on the beach! Some construction going on but not really a problem.. Glad improvements are in the works! Beautiful beach. On the quiet end of Panama City Beach. Perfect location! Staff very nice!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
John L, General Manager at The Beachside Resort, responded to this review

Karen D -- Thank you for posting you thoughts on your recent visit. I'm so glad you enjoyed your time with us When the Windy City is both windy and cold, remember, we're here. We'll see you then. More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

thos was my family of 5's first vacation. we stumbled upon this hotel searching the internet. we drove 12 hours from texas w/a 1 and 4 year old and we would totally do it again to stay here. We got a suite w/2 queen beds. it is huge, clean, and has the most amazing view. we wish we had booked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
John L, General Manager at The Beachside Resort, responded to this review

Shawn - Thank you for taking the time to post some thoughts about your recent visit. I'm so glad to see that you and the family had an awesome time at our resort. Hopefully, you'll be able to stay a few more days next time. There is as much, or as little, as you want to do here along the... More 

Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I chose this hotel based on it's location as I like being right on the beach. Booking it last minute I was hesitant as I had read some negative review, but chose to ignore them. I don't even know where to begin with this hotel. Our room was not cleaned properly before our arrival. The windows had stains either caused... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
John L, General Manager at The Beachside Resort, responded to this review

Aida -- I wanted to thank you for posting your review of your stay last summer. I would like to apologize for the issues you experienced. We have made many changes to our personnel and our processes that have remedied the issues you experienced in August. Again, thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts and I would... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

133 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (99)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (27)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
View from room (16)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question