We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Makai Beach Lodge

707 South Atlantic Ave, Ormond Beach, FL 32176
Hotel amenities
Makai Beach Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ranked #19 of 28 Hotels in Ormond Beach
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
Chuck1962 Vienna, Virginia
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    58
    34
    19
    51
See reviews for
83
53
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (216)
  • Mar-May only
    (82)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (54)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (45)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (35)
All months
Jackson, Michigan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Don't believe any pictures they have on their website! Even the pictures of the location are a lie. They put pictures of the buildings surrounding the boardwalk in Daytona, nowhere near the hotel. The rooms need a complete scrub down! The kitchens are a joke, and they stink. Everything about the place is dirty and rundown. The parking lot is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Troy, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Photos of this hotel looked nice online, but clearly it was not. The only reason I rated it "poor" and not "terrible" is for the view, which the hotel does not control. The sliding doors leading to the balcony had a broken latch, so you kinda had to stick your finger into the hole where the broken latch was and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Marisol M, Manager at Makai Beach Lodge, responded to this review

We are updating our property daily, and we will take your complaint under advisement to try and make changes accordingly. Thank you for your feedback, it lets us know how we can make improvements our property. More 

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Where do I even begin... First off the only reason my fiance and I stayed here is because we couldn't get a refund. The front desk lady Kara or whatever was rude, incompetant and unprofessional. She had the audacity to decline my request to book a room over the phone because she was too busy checking in and out guests.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Vienna, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Makai is an inexpensive beach front motel. If you are expecting the Ritz, or even the Holiday Inn, you likely will be disappointed. However, if what you want is a reasonably priced room on the beach, it's perfect. Our family has gotten together here for many years, and it works. Unfortunately, they recently changed their pet policy so that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

On a recent trip to the Daytona 500 with my 81 year old Dad, we checked in to the Makai Beach Lodge with Guest Services Manager Steve & his assistant Giovanni, only to find that my father was not happy with the assigned room. Steve bent over backwards to accommodate us by offering to move us to a more suitable... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cape May Court House, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Rooms were clean and well kept. It wasn't fare from Daytona but not so close that you couldn't get any piece either. Sits on the beach and have a nice sized pool that sits on the beach. We had a room with a mini kitchenette that was ready to o with everything we needed.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Jacksonville, FL
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
3 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

If you're looking for a clean, neat 1950's style motel, this is the place. Tile floors, white tile bathroom. Nothing fancy but a decent place for moderate price. It's on the beach and close to area attractions.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ormond Beach, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

I have been here for a couple of weeks and it has been great. I have yet to find something to complain about. The heated pool and hot tub is lovely, also the breakfast is good and convenient. I will surely be back to visit and I can't wait to let my friends back home know about my stay. Thanks... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

the staff at the reservation desk Carrie, Steve and forgive me the lady that works there were very pleasant and professional staff. The cleanliness of the room was wonderful!!! I have been to a lot of hotels and this is probably the best by far!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

So this place isn't horrible but I wouldn't ever stay here again. We booked a particular room only to receive a completely different room. To be fair we did book only 3 days ahead because another booking fell through. The rooms are really weird. You have to share a kitchen with the next room and there is no way to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

88 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (79)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
View from room (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (10)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question