We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Makai Beach Lodge

707 South Atlantic Ave, Ormond Beach, FL 32176
Hotel amenities
Makai Beach Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ranked #19 of 28 Hotels in Ormond Beach
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Kari J Daytona Beach Shores, Florida, United States
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    58
    34
    20
    52
See reviews for
85
54
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (219)
  • Mar-May only
    (85)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (54)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (45)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (35)
All months
Daytona Beach Shores, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have stayed in this hotel multiple times, and have enjoyed it each and every time. And everything has been clean and well kept. We normally stay on the 2nd or 3rd floor, in a king suite overlooking the balcony. And I couldn't ask for a more relaxing environment. The manager and the guy at the counter did everything they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I am amazed that so many people have commented that the updates are great and so much work has been done-I can only imagine what this place looked like before. Our room was dirty-The edges had not been vacuumed for a long time and there were piles of dust and dirt around the entire perimeter of the room. The furniture... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ocala, Florida
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our family, Floridans, have been going to the Makai since 2007. When we made our reservations for a beach view room, we made certain to see if we could have a late checkout, as we were bringing our 14 year old small dog with us and we were taking a day off of work. We were told that we could... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Jackson, Michigan
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Don't believe any pictures they have on their website! Even the pictures of the location are a lie. They put pictures of the buildings surrounding the boardwalk in Daytona, nowhere near the hotel. The rooms need a complete scrub down! The kitchens are a joke, and they stink. Everything about the place is dirty and rundown. The parking lot is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Troy, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015

Photos of this hotel looked nice online, but clearly it was not. The only reason I rated it "poor" and not "terrible" is for the view, which the hotel does not control. The sliding doors leading to the balcony had a broken latch, so you kinda had to stick your finger into the hole where the broken latch was and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Marisol M, Manager at Makai Beach Lodge, responded to this review

We are updating our property daily, and we will take your complaint under advisement to try and make changes accordingly. Thank you for your feedback, it lets us know how we can make improvements our property. More 

1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

Where do I even begin... First off the only reason my fiance and I stayed here is because we couldn't get a refund. The front desk lady Kara or whatever was rude, incompetant and unprofessional. She had the audacity to decline my request to book a room over the phone because she was too busy checking in and out guests.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Vienna, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

The Makai is an inexpensive beach front motel. If you are expecting the Ritz, or even the Holiday Inn, you likely will be disappointed. However, if what you want is a reasonably priced room on the beach, it's perfect. Our family has gotten together here for many years, and it works. Unfortunately, they recently changed their pet policy so that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015

On a recent trip to the Daytona 500 with my 81 year old Dad, we checked in to the Makai Beach Lodge with Guest Services Manager Steve & his assistant Giovanni, only to find that my father was not happy with the assigned room. Steve bent over backwards to accommodate us by offering to move us to a more suitable... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cape May Court House, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2015

Rooms were clean and well kept. It wasn't fare from Daytona but not so close that you couldn't get any piece either. Sits on the beach and have a nice sized pool that sits on the beach. We had a room with a mini kitchenette that was ready to o with everything we needed.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Jacksonville, FL
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
3 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

If you're looking for a clean, neat 1950's style motel, this is the place. Tile floors, white tile bathroom. Nothing fancy but a decent place for moderate price. It's on the beach and close to area attractions.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

88 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (79)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
View from room (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (10)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question