We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 327 Orlando hotels

The Metropolitan Express

2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6323 International Drive, Orlando, FL 32819 (Florida Center)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Metropolitan Express to your Saves list
The Metropolitan Express
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
45%
Ranked #269 of 327 hotels in Orlando
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Gemma H Portsmouth, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (839)
  • Photos (437)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (112)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

839 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    105
    240
    206
    116
    172
See reviews for
328
224
37
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

If you are looking for somewhere that is run down, where the ceiling will cave in on you, the toilets choose when they want to flush, & bathroom fixtures and furniture are out dated .... This is the place for you! My cousin was visiting & booked this place. I went to visit them & this is how I found... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

When I read the reviews I was a quite worried. This is NOT a five set hotel but you get what you pay for. Most of the staff are friendly and helpful, I would say there is only one person who isn't. Our room was large and on the whole pretty clean. I did get a bit of cleaner for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Mike B, General Manager at The Metropolitan Express, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for giving us a try and noticing we are doing our best to upgrade our hotel for our guests. The water break was painful for all involved but we appreciate all our guests for being understanding. I do hope to see you again in the future and hopefully then you can give us more stars after... More

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The room was basic, a little run down but not too shabby. The bathroom was the same. However for the type of stay we needed it was a great location on international drive, close to universal studios and shopping outlets, and as all we needed was a place to sleep we didn't have any complaints. The price was fair to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mike B, General Manager at The Metropolitan Express, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your honest review. I do appreciate it your honest opinion. We are now going through more improvements and hope you will return to see them. More

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Despite all the bad reviews I'm seeing about the Metropolitan, I enjoyed my three night stay here. It has a perfect location; it's surrounded by gift shops and restaurants, and it's right across the street from the Wet N' Wild water park. The room rates are also pretty cheap. The rooms are clean, comfortable, and quiet. They also have fridges... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Mike B, General Manager at The Metropolitan Express, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your honest response. We do not say or promise a 5 star luxury hotel, but we do deliver what we state we have. We have just started room renovations and hope you visit us again to see our progress. More

Orlando
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Cheap hotel, location is great, condition is ok but not the best, 2 lamps did not work, toilet had stains... breakfast is very basic. Overall this hotel is not great but very affordable, ok for the price paid.

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mike B, General Manager at The Metropolitan Express, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your response. We have just started upgrading our rooms so I hope to see you in the future for your opinion. More

Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Currently at the Metropolitan express , watching all the painting going on making the hotel look really nice with yellow walls with orange trim , they have made a start on upgrading the 1st floor with new bath tubs and showers new carpets , all looking very nice . Like any remodelling it takes a time as this is a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I saw some bad reviews about this hotel but I can say that for the cost it is an excellent hotel. I stayed at the hotel in January some years ago but I have just booked it again for next December. The hotel does not offer a lot: just breakfast but it was good for a continental breakfast. Muffins, coffee... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mike B, General Manager at The Metropolitan Express, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your review. We have just started upgrades of our rooms and look forward to your next visit so you can let us know how we are doing. More

Sweden
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

If you take away the shabby condition, the poor breakfast, the customer "service", the smell of humidity in the room, and the less than punctual shuttle, it's actually quite a decent place for sleeping after visiting the amusement parks. Don't expect a place that you will want to spend a significant amount of time in, though. The location is good,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mike B, General Manager at The Metropolitan Express, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your response and please know that we are all interested in making our hotel better. To that note we are currently upgrading our guest rooms as I write this. I do hope you return so you can see our progress. More

crete
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I when to this hotel 6 years ago and because I was great I'm returning in October, I know people that have stayed at this hotel this year and had no problems, I was a little worried to return after reading the bad reviews but after reading about more hotels on I drive some of them are worse than this... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mike B, General Manager at The Metropolitan Express, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your review and I look forward to your return. We are currently upgrading our guest rooms and can't wait to get your opinion. More

Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

So I had read the reviews and expected old, worn down, loud, maybe smelly. It was cheap so I can put up with a lot. However, I cannot tolerate lack of respect. I arrived a little after 2PM and asked to check in. I was told brusquely that check-in time is 4PM. I've traveled a lot and have never been... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mike B, General Manager at The Metropolitan Express, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your response and I do apologize that you felt you were treated wrong. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Metropolitan Express, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Metropolitan Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Metropolitan Express

Address: 6323 International Drive, Orlando, FL 32819
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Florida Center
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Metropolitan Express 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, getaroom.com, Otel, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelBookers, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your The Metropolitan Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolitan Express Orlando
Metropolitan Express Hotel Orlando
Drive Inn
Holiday Inn Orlando

437 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (274)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (61)
Viewed
Room/suite (53)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (28)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (92)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (157)
Viewed
Amenities (6)
Viewed
Double Room (43)
Viewed
Pool (22)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (5)
Viewed
Standard Room (38)
Viewed
The Hotel (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Orlando with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#269 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
218

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Metropolitan Express staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer