We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal

Hotel website
Hotel deals
7800 Universal Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32819
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal
Write a Review

1,711 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    863
    543
    202
    67
    36
See reviews for
493
503
56
212
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1711)
  • Mar-May only
    (453)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (485)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (406)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (367)
All months
St. Petersburg, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Booked this for my wife and my honeymoon. Right out of the gate they charge you to park on hotel property,the beds are super hard and the breakfast was way to much money! I would not go back to this hotel!

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Anthony L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing. I am very sorry of your perception. Parking and / or resort fees are very common at full service hotels in the Orlando area and we are competitively priced. These along with all other charges are provided on our website and confirmed at time of reservation. I know that beds are a personal preference. Our bedding... More 

Hutchinson, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I read the reviews online and thought we were staying at a clean hotel. We were very disappointed. When we arrived to check in the front desk gave us a different room than what we paid for, she put us in a double queen. When I booked it I chose the junior suite for more room. I was a little... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Anthony L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. I can certainly understand your concerns and have addressed them with the appropriate members of our team. While deficiencies may occur although we go to great lengths to minimize them I am most disappointed that you felt lack of empathy from our staff when those concerns were brought to us. I do appreciate... More 

chester
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
8 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A good location in a quiet area but close to the parks.Breakfast was good. Charlotte on reception was so friendly and welcoming. Pool area was quiet during our stay plenty of sunbeds available. Very clean , large room with king bed . Decor a little dated but no problem for a short stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Terri M, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your thoughts and giving us this great review! We really appreciate it and will be sure to share with Charlotte your praise. We really appreciate the 4 stars! Please come back again soon. More 

Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Everything about this hotel felt old. The sheets and carpet felt like sandpaper, the bathroom had mold on the sealing, the shower curtain was too small and the electricity was sketchy at best. However, it's close to Universal Studios and they will let you drop your bags before your room is ready. Plus free WiFi.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Anthony L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal, responded to this review

Dear Chops_878, Thank you for completing the survey referencing your recent visit. I am very sorry that we only rated two stars during your recent stay. We normally receive much higher ratings and positive comments about our guests experiences at our hotel and I am sorry that we disappointed you. I would like to investigate further into the details that... More 

Shrewsbury
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

When I arrived at the hotel to check in, there was a delay with my check in. The employee called a manager in, had a discussion, and then proceeded to tell me there was no problem and checked me in for my week stay. Come to find out, I was booked for the day prior to my actual arrival and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anthony L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal, responded to this review

Dear VacaMan17, Thank you for sharing and I am sorry for the confusion with your arrival date and no show charge. As the Manager you spoke to explained, the convention reservations are downloaded from your convention to our hotel and unfortunately, any discrepancy must be addressed with them directly. We did hold your confirmed reservation on a sold out night.... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I booked this place using a deal from Holiday Inn Vacations and I got excited about staying there. This all changed when we got there. There was nothing special about the place, from the outside or inside, except maybe that it's close to Universal Studios and has a shuttle to it, and that isn't saying much. My gf and I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Anthony L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am very sorry that we only rated 3 stars and found our hotel to be mediocre. That is certainly not the level of review that we are accustomed to receiving. With that said, your critique is valuable to us so that we can address any concerns and use this... More 

Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our vacation was taking a twist to the negative, lost luggage, cancelled credit card from bank due to "suspicious activity" even after we notified them that we were traveling...and a rental car fiasco! We were grateful that the front desk staff were understanding and helpful...but our knight in shining armor was the valet staff! Jim Mattos the valet & transportation... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Terri M, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal, responded to this review

We know just how tiring and frustrating getting to your destination can be. We are so glad to know that Jim made all the difference for you. Thank you so much for you sharing your experience with others and for this outstanding review our hotel and team! Hopefully, the next time you come back to see us your trip will... More 

Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here with my family for a weekend, and was a little disappointed. 1st of all when I made my reservation they never said they rate's for Friday night was more expensive than Sat night until I received my bill at check out. They charge you for parking as well, when most hotels in Orlando parking is incl. Besides the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Anthony L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal, responded to this review

Thank you for your response. I am very sorry that you had a perception of being nickel and dimed. All of the information you mentioned is available at time of confirmation. Room rates are stated as "average rate" for the length of your visit. The daily actual rates can be different. Parking and/or resort fees are common at full service... More 

Syracuse, New York
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is my second time staying at the Crowne Plaza Universal Orlando. This visit, we stayed in a junior suite with a queen sized bed. It's worth the money spending a little extra for that additional 100 square feet of space. The room was very clean and comfortable. We joked that we wanted to take the bed home with us... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Terri M, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal, responded to this review

We were very happy to welcome you back on this stay and are thrilled that you shared this great 5 star review. You certainly provided others with some excellent information that will help them make their plans in the future. Speaking of future...we can't to see you for your honeymoon! Please be sure to reach out to us via our... More 

Tampa, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I guess my hopes for this hotel were too high and it left me disapointed. Cashed in some IHG Platinum award points to stay here for a one night visit and wish I had them back! For travelers to Orlando for Universal and Sea World, this hotel is very well located. Staff - very good. Professional, well trained, proactively communicated... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Anthony L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. As a IHG Rewards member I appreciate your business and your critique. I am pleased that you found our staff to be professional and helpful but also sorry that your overall visit was underwhelming and only rated 3 stars for you. We do have some exciting improvements including an upgrade to our internet that just... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

713 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (460)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (128)
Viewed
Room/suite (107)
Viewed
Bathroom (25)
Viewed
View from room (26)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (43)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Family/play areas (7)
Viewed
0:34
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (115)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (178)
Viewed
Amenities (29)
Viewed
Executive Level Queen Studio (Junior Suite) (37)
Viewed
King Room (32)
Viewed
Pool (17)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (8)
Viewed
The Hotel (55)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (75)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (25)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities