We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Suwannee Gables Motel and Marina

27659 SE Hwy 19 Alternate 27, Old Town, FL 32680
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Suwannee Gables Motel and Marina
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

76 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    20
    26
    6
    2
    22
See reviews for
16
28
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (76)
  • Mar-May only
    (25)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (27)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (13)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (11)
All months
Clearwater, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This is a motel not hotel.I brought Lysol.We did not need it.The place was great, clean & our hosts welcoming.The pavilion used to cook.No one bothered our camping gear.Dock was good boat,kayak&fishing

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fort Bragg, North Carolina
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The people who own this property are very rude and they are thieves. When we stepped out of our room for the evening, they came in and took all the food, even our 7 year old's food, from the fridge. When we confronted them about it, they tried to blame it on the maid, but their kid was sitting next... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
St. Petersburg, Florida
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Huge palmetto bugs occupied the room. Can't believe they charged me $82.00 for a night. Couldn't sleep because was busy killing those things with hair spray. Gross. The towels were in worse condition than the rags I use to wash my car. And God only know what kind of burlap they used for sheets. I will never stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Callahan, Florida
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2015

The gentlemen was very rude had no compassion we checked in and with in a hour our boat broke and then we went to get it fixed and our radiator blew up. Never stayed in the room put our stuff in there it smelled the water was rusted and the floor was filthy and smelled like mildew.. Then still charged... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PARESH D, General Manager at Suwannee Gables Motel and Marina, responded to this review

Dear Ms. Broome, Thank you for staying with us again.I am sorry you had bad luck with the boat and the truck breaking down,and this was after you had occupied the room for a considerable long time.When you checked out that evening,I offered to help you use my AAA card to tow your truck home to St. Augustin.You decided not... More 

Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2015

I can tell you for sure that this is by far the worst motel I have ever stayed in....the soap is rough and the size of a postage stamp, the towels are like sandpaper, the carpet is filthy and the room itself is small and smells like mildew! Someone took one of our pillows sometime after the first night so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PARESH D, General Manager at Suwannee Gables Motel and Marina, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us, I wish you had contacted us at the office for your needs.If you were not satisfied with the room,we sould have gladley change the room for you Thanks again. More 

Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2015

I loved staying at Suwannee Gables. The river was gorgeous, Spanish moss hanging from the trees, gigantic sturgeon jumping out of the water, a clean and wonderful swimming pool. My blood pressure went down the minute I got out of the car. We went swimming by moonlight in the pool right outside our door. This is a 50-s vintage motel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Grantsville, West Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2015

My husband and I travel to Florida several times a year. I am always a little scared of smoking rooms as I am not a smoker, but my husband is. I was very surprised to find our smoking room so clean and fresh. The next day my hair and clothes did not smell like an ashtray. We slept great and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wellington, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

I was passing through late at night and they were the only hotel I could find open. I felt safe there and the guy at the front desk was very nice. After that though, it went downhill. I went in the room and the comforter was stained with what appeared to be bodily fluid, my sheets had small stains on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2015

My family lives up the road so when we surprised them for a visit this was conveniently near by. The absolute best part of it was that they are pet friendly (however I did not agree with the pet fees - but that is true of all hotels). They also offered WIFI which was another reason why I decided to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Boca Raton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015

Our family spent a few days in the area during spring break, and this motel was just right for us. There are a number of natural springs nearby (Fanning, Manatee, Ginnie, Blue, and High Springs), several of which we visited. The owners are very nice and gave us useful advice. The rooms are comfortable, quiet, have a refrigerator, and are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

29 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Old Town
8.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 2 in Chiefland
3.5 of 5 stars 35 reviews
8.1 mi away
Days Inn Chiefland
Days Inn Chiefland
#2 of 2 in Chiefland
3.0 of 5 stars 242 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wyndham Grand Jupiter at Harbourside Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay