We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala

#12 of 36 Hotels in Ocala
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Hotel website
Hotel deals
3951 NW Blitchton Road, I-75 exit 354, Ocala, FL 34482
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala
Share an Experience

731 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    249
    127
    56
    38
See reviews for
213
164
106
148
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (731)
  • Mar-May only
    (171)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (176)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (168)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (216)
All months
Cheshire, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Everything was all right, the room was clean, beds were good, breakfast was adequate, and the staff was friendly and helpful. There was plenty of room to walk the dog away from the road. I would go here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ocoee, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The room was nice but the carpet in the room needs cleaned. had a lot of amenities pool was clean and nice the breakfast could have had more choices . Over all great stay.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stillwater, Minnesota, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The inside of the room were very nice. We had a no smoking, no pets room. Not that I object to the pets, but I was not traveling with my precious "Tippy" the Rat Terrier. However I do have allergies to pets, so it was nice to have this option, The Pool area was just so beautiful. They had covered... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nurjehan S, Owner at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala, responded to this review

Thank you so much for staying with us at Howard Johnson Inn of Ocala. We truly appreciate you taking the time to rate us as a 4-star property. We are happy to offer our non-smoking/non-pet friendly building to our guests that are not traveling with pets or do not have pets. We listened to the reviews of our guests about... More 

Montgomery, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I will have to re-evaluate my opinion of HoJos after my stay. Spent 8 nights aand was very surprised. As an outside access hotel it has an old feel but the rooms( I stayedd in 2) have been redone recently. I found the staff extremely pleasant and Chris and Brittany were particularly helpful. Only downside was water pressure and my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nurjehan S, Owner at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at Howard Johnson Inn of Ocala! We truly appreciate you taking the time to review your stay. We are so happy that our Ocala property changed your opinion on how you see Howard Johnson! We do realize that you had a choice to choose which hotel was going to be the right choice for you, and... More 

Madisonville, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked this motel last minute with a large group (30+) for a one night stay, and were treated so well start to finish. We arrived late, around 10PM. The nightshift staff collected payment, assigned rooms in a timely fashion, and offered to set up a separate area for us to have breakfast the following morning. They even offered to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nurjehan S, Owner at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at Howard Johnson Inn of Ocala! We appreciate you taking the time to review our property and rating us as a 5-star hotel! We strive hard to ensure that each guest feels at home and with you having such a large party, we wanted you to feel the same way. At Howard Johnson Inn of Ocala,... More 

Coconut Grove
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My room was very clean, had coffee maker, good tv, refrigerator and microwave. The front desk staff was wonderful and the lady who manages the restaurant was friendly and helpful. The noise from interstate traffic is a bit loud at times but not bad.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nurjehan S, Owner at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at Howard Johnson Inn of Ocala! We truly appreciate you staying with us and taking the time to review our property as a 4-star property. We strive hard to continuously provide the most excellent service we possibly can to each guest. At Howard Johnson Inn of Ocala, we simply want to ensure your comfort, which is... More 

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were driving down I-75 and started looking for an overnight place to stay well north of Ocala but quickly found all the rooms were booked in and around Gainesville. Finally, we were directed to the HoJo in Ocala, which fortunately did have rooms for the night, but was charging luxury accommodation prices for them ($209 before taxes). It was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nurjehan S, Owner at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We truly appreciate you taking the time to review your stay. We see that you did enjoy your stay, and for that we are happy. As you can see, we do take our guests reviews very seriously. During the weekend that you stayed, Ocala hotels were quickly selling out. Most hotels had very high... More 

Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Parents travelled extensively in the states - have been to every state bar Hawaii. Just back from a self drive your and stayed in 13 motel /hotels. Howard Johnson in Ocala West was one of the worst of all states trips. First room was far too small with no fridge, microwave and only one chair. The parents upgraded eventually (hindered... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nurjehan S, Owner at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala, responded to this review

Thank you so much for staying with us. We do appreciate you taking the time to respond about your stay. However, we feel that there may have been a certain miscommunication. All of our rooms have complimentary microwaves and refrigerators. We spoke to our maintenance and housekeeping crew and it was confirmed by our General Manager that there is indeed... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

121 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (74)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
2:59
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (47)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question