We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

South Seas Island Resort

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel packages
5400 Plantation Road, PO Box 194, Captiva Island, FL 33924
Offers & Announcements
5th Night Free
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
South Seas Island Resort
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

2,573 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Retuning for the second year running we were not disappointed. Staff were friendly and took every effort to welcome and accomodate us. The rooms are well appointed, clean and up the Harborside Seaview is as advertised - perfect. We even got to see Dolphins from the balcony.

Helpful?
Thank Lsjvc
Long Branch, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

captiva was a beautiful island. this hotel was high end ( which was manifested in the price). upon arrival, the front desk person was very courteous. he gave us directions to our room which was very hard to find. the desk staff on 2 subsequent calls were both snooty which was off putting for me. neither was helpful. glad to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank John C
SouthSeasCaptiva, Guest Relations Manager at South Seas Island Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent stay with us. I am pleased to know that you found our resort to be very well kept. I am disheartened to hear of some of the service that you had received and we are using this as a training opportunity for our team. Please know we do not take this lightly as we take... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We arrived at this "resort" to check into a dirty room with a worn out bed which reeked of cleaning solutions and bleach. Within 15 minutes, we both had headaches and were dizzy form the fumes and had to open the patio doors just to breathe. The carpet was filthy and smelly. We paid a lot of money for what... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Blaise C
SouthSeasCaptiva, Guest Relations Manager at South Seas Island Resort, responded to this review

I am disheartened to hear of your recent stay with us. Please know that your first unit is not a standard of our resort. I does sound like Dillon was able to help assist and make your time with us more enjoyable. I will be sure to thank him for you. We take these comments to heart and are reviewing... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Our family has enjoyed coming to south seas for 20 yrs. Since Travis was hired to manage the pool our stays have become even more special. Travis has the ability to make every guest his top priority. He makes it a point to get to know the whole family. Not only do the guest win but so does his staff.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kathleen J
SouthSeasCaptiva, Managing Director at South Seas Island Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your kind words on Travis at our Resort Pool Complex. Travis defines customer service and your words are heart felt. He is one of a kind. Thank you for your loyalty to South Seas Island Resort and I will be sure to thank Travis for you. Regards, Bob Walter Regional Managing Director South Seas Island Resort More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Old shabby timeshare furniture from the 70s. Room smelled like years of tobacco smoke. The view outside was of a tennis court and a brick wall. Bathroom was so small closing the door was difficult. Internet did not work safely. No one was smiling as we walked around out of doors. I have traveled all over the world, this is... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie P
SouthSeasCaptiva, General Manager at South Seas Island Resort, responded to this review

I am disappointed to hear that we did not exceed your expectations. We do offer a variety of different unit types available ranging from Bayside Villas, Beach Villas, Beach Cottages and Private Homes, Lands End Villas, Marina Villas and Hotel Rooms. One of the highlights of our location is the several recreation amenities for our guests to enjoy from world... More 

Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
101 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We were gifted a week at Plantation House, and it was lovely! Very relaxing. Do not go to Captiva if you are looking for action; it's closed up by 9pm, which was fine by us! Do go if you want lovely beaches, great pool with waterslides, and a nice property. We rented a car in Fort Myers as it was... More 

Helpful?
Thank PuffyP95
SouthSeasCaptiva, Guest Relations Manager at South Seas Island Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your recent review. I am pleased to know you had a memorable stay with us and were able to relax. The Plantation House, part of our vacation ownership program, is managed by Hilton Grand Vacations. I will be sure to share this review with them. I hope you are able to come back to visit the... More 

Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Excellent Marina and Resort. Everything about our experience was phenomenal, from the marina reservations, to the Dock Master's knowledge of the approach and his staff. Beautiful property with a great Trolley shuttle to take you around. Every staff member that I ran into acknowledged you and said hello, good morning, afternoon etc. Can tell they put an extra emphasis on... More 

Helpful?
Thank CaptainOutrageous
SouthSeasCaptiva, Guest Relations Manager at South Seas Island Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your 5-Star experience at South Seas Island Resort. It sounds like your time spent in our marina was a great time. We take pride in our resort staff and I am pleased to know that the marina team was exceptional. I will be sure to share your thanks with them. With Warm Regards, Neil Swetz Dir... More 

Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I wish we had more time to explore the HUGE property. Plus the weather changes so rapidly that often it is difficult to walk around (esp when it's rainy, cold, and windy). I had no complaints about the room that we got. It was right near the water, one of the hotel rooms. My sister made sure that we had... More 

Helpful?
Thank scrappying
SouthSeasCaptiva, Guest Relations Manager at South Seas Island Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your "lovely - 5 Star" visit with us. It does sound like your unit and location were a perfect fit for you and your family. South Seas Island Resort does span 330 acres, so you will need to come back soon to explore. We had experienced some severe weather this past January, which is not typical.... More 

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
89 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Resort: Lovely, peaceful with quiet beaches. Lots of families but ample space for all. It's not your "crowded with bodies beach" kind of a resort and I loved that the most about it. The pool complex is lovely. If you stay in the villas you have an additional pool that you have access to. The trolley service is really great... More 

Helpful?
Thank Esprit_2012
SouthSeasCaptiva, Guest Relations Manager at South Seas Island Resort, responded to this review

I want to thank you for your recent stay at South Seas Island Resort. It sounds like our staff from housekeeping to the trolley drivers delivered a memorable experience. I want to thank you for your feedback an we will utilize this to improve our resort offerings. I hope to welcome back to the island soon. With Warm Regards, Neil... More 

Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

While cooking, a large palmetto roach was on the kitchen floor, and another was in the hall. The bathroom outlet didn't work so we couldn't use a hair blower there. The internet went out and the maint. man didn't know how to fix it. The silverware and dishes had dried food. a drinking glass had lipstick. The slider door handle... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank kgs2016
SouthSeasCaptiva, General Manager at South Seas Island Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. Please know that I am saddened to hear of your experience and will be providing this with our teams to improve our resort environment for our guests. I have sent a private message to you to learn more of your stay and assist. Sincerely, Shawn D. Farrell General Manager South Seas Island... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

2,123 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1275)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (239)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (212)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (164)
Viewed
View from room (122)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (31)
Viewed
Family/play areas (14)
Viewed
0:55
Videos (8)
Viewed
Other (461)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (701)
Viewed
Amenities (107)
Viewed
Beach (52)
Viewed
Harbourside Guest Room (60)
Viewed
Harbourside Guest Room Marina View (62)
Viewed
Harbourside Suite (69)
Viewed
Pool 1 (33)
Viewed
Pool 2 (54)
Viewed
Pool 3 (16)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (68)
Viewed
Spa Pool (7)
Viewed
The Hotel (13)
Viewed
Three-Bedroom Villa (160)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (147)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (27)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Other (89)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Captiva Island
1.1 mi away
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
10.8 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#8 of 18 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 stars 1,325 reviews
11.5 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#13 of 18 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 stars 556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Sanibel Island
Holiday Inn Sanibel Island
#17 of 18 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 stars 1,015 reviews
10.9 mi away
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
#2 of 18 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 stars 248 reviews
14.7 mi away
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
#6 of 46 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay