We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The President Hotel - Miami Beach

Hotel website
1423 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The President Hotel - Miami Beach
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

1,089 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Check in easy and quick. Yes there is a resort fee and a refundable deposit as long as no breakages etc. This was clearly explained when booked through booking.com. Room was lovely, clean and bright. Two double beds which where extremely comfortable. Small bathroom but large enough shower and always hot water. Air conditioned, perfect for when humid. Breakfast was... More 

Helpful?
Thank LornaH72
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Room: Had a room with 2 double beds, was ok in size, although bathroom is tiny (poor water pressure and could use a shelf to put your things on). Room was clean, wifi was ok but not more than ok. Our room had a small fridge which can be useful. Service: Staff was very friendly, from front desk to cleaning... More 

Helpful?
Thank f99caho
Omaha,Nebraska
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We booked this room because it was close to the venue of an event we were attending. Upon check in there was a $100 refundable deposit that was not made clear when I booked the room via southwest. There was also a $19 a day resort fee that included drinks, bottled water and breakfast. We were unable to get the... More 

Helpful?
Thank nebgirl25
Carlos R, Front Office Manager at The President Hotel - Miami Beach, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your kind comments you have shared here on TripAdvisor. We are happy to hear, that you have enjoyed your time with us. Rest ensured, that we will do everything in our power to be appear fresh and modern all times, The hotel will be going under renovations to make sure we achieve better reviews and a... More 

Brooklyn, New York
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I did not enjoy jumping out of my sleep from 7 am and on with the rude noisy spanish speaking maid talking in the hallway as if no one is sleeping..... With the paper thin walls it sounded as if she was right in the room... You can hear every single sound and doors slamming all day and night... I... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lisa A
br8ker2k, Front Office Manager at The President Hotel - Miami Beach, responded to this review

We’re sorry you were unhappy - we’ll work hard to fix the issue you experienced as we are currently in the process of remodeling. Thanks for letting us know. More 

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Carson, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was a little nervous because I stayed at the President Villa, the most recently remodeled of the three Penguin South Beach hotels. I had read reviews saying the rooms were unimpressive and parking would be $40 a day. The rates were not cheap and I didn't want to feel ripped off. I was pleasantly surprised by the room, not... More 

Helpful?
Thank yonsider
br8ker2k, Front Office Manager at The President Hotel - Miami Beach, responded to this review

Greetings from the Penguin, Our staff and I greatly appreciate your feedback and are glad that you had such a nice experience. Thank you so much for the opportunity to serve! It's great when our guest grasp the full experience our awesome location offers and it's great that you were one of them. Thanks again, we hope to see you... More 

Alderley Edge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Ok great location for south beach, but as soon as you walk in the hotel it feels cheap and almost a bit sleezy. We chose a top floor room with outside terrace which was nice. Rooms very basic. The hotel almost has a feeling of a hostel. Woke up through the night several times with noise and drunken guests falling... More 

Helpful?
Thank John T
br8ker2k, Front Office Manager at The President Hotel - Miami Beach, responded to this review

We’re sorry you were unhappy - we’ll work hard to fix the issue you experienced, we are currently under renovations to avoid these issues in the future. Thanks for letting us know. More 

Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My experience at this hotel was a good one. The staff was very friendly--nice and helpful--and we were given beach towels when asked--a nice plus. The rooms were lovely--not large but ours was fully mirrored with a pretty mural and white all over, bright. The location was perfect and we loved the additional free drink. No, breakfast was not amazing,... More 

Helpful?
Thank moira119
br8ker2k, Front Office Manager at The President Hotel - Miami Beach, responded to this review

Greetings from the Penguin, Our staff and I greatly appreciate your feedback and are glad that you had such a nice experience. Thank you so much for the opportunity to serve! It's great when our guest grasp the full experience our awesome location offers and it's great that you were one of them. Thanks again, we hope to see you... More 

Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was immediately very concerned about the morality of those running the President hotel when I was charged almost $100 extra right after making my reservation. I booked the hotel on booking.com, where the grand total INCLUDING resort fees and taxes was $850, but I was charged $939 to my card minutes after booking the room. I called both Booking.com... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank laura s
br8ker2k, Front Office Manager at The President Hotel - Miami Beach, responded to this review

Dear Valued guest, I would like to take a moment to thank you for your guest feedback regarding your stay with us at the Penguin Hotel. We always take our guests feedback seriously and utilize it to improve our guest satisfaction. On behalf of the entire Penguin staff and myself, we would like to share our sincere apologies on your... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Hotel was very nice in clean, plus walking distance towards the beach... The staff was very polite, and the assistant noremise at the front desk was very helpful in polite as well!! Overall I enjoyed my stay at the President Hotel.

Helpful?
2 Thank Rico R
br8ker2k, Front Office Manager at The President Hotel - Miami Beach, responded to this review

Greetings from the President Hotel, Our staff and I greatly appreciate your feedback and are glad that you had such a nice experience. Thank you so much for the opportunity to serve! It's great when our guest grasp the full experience our awesome location offers and it's great that you were one of them. Thanks again, we hope to see... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed Dec 28-30 2015. Location is the best part of this hotel. Close to everything South beach has to offer. Reasonably priced for the time of the year we were there. Rooms are clean and the beds are comfortable. The bathroom is pretty tiny. It could be inconvenient if you are heavy set. They have a claustrophobic elevator that is... More 

Helpful?
Thank Shanti N
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

381 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (260)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (97)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (34)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (9)
Viewed
Other (81)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (108)
Viewed
Outdoor Pool (3)
Viewed
Penthouse (15)
Viewed
Standard Room (33)
Viewed
The Hotel (57)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Penguin Hotel
Penguin Hotel
#102 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 874 reviews
Chesterfield Hotel
#71 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 2,361 reviews
Clinton Hotel South Beach
#143 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 1,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
#83 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 3,521 reviews
Hotel Shelley
#104 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 1,108 reviews
Whitelaw Hotel
#70 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay