We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Colony Hotel

736 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with HotelsClick to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Colony Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Colony Hotel
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    210
    187
    95
    125
See reviews for
104
277
50
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (794)
  • Mar-May only
    (213)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (214)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (184)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (183)
All months
Hiawatha, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights before our cruise. The room was great and the staff at the bar was even better. We hung out here a lot and enjoyed it a lot. Highly recommend this hotel right in the center of the action!! Great time!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eddie N, Guest Relations Manager at Colony Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ashbaymom, Thank you for your lovely 5 star review! It sounds like you had a great time here with us at Colony Hotel! We hope to have you and your husband back to stay with us again! Scarlett Mona More 

Waterloo, Iowa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Attractive on the outside; simple on the inside. One problem was the poorly functioning AC unit. We did tell the front desk person about it so they could repair for the next customer but that wasn't our major complaint. We were on a quick Holiday with a tightly packed schedule. We were up at 6:30 am for an 8am departure... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eddie N, Guest Relations Manager at Colony Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon TravelLar11, We take our guests feedback very serious! We thank you for sharing yours with us! We are extremely sorry for the less then enjoyable time that you had with us here at Colony Hotel! Unfortunately due to a busted pipe the night before, the water needed to be off for the maintenance team to fix this issue.... More 

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Rooms are like old school but modern look with hardwood floors..Bartender was amazing but a mix drink was less than a shot of southern comfort..Front desk gentleman was helpful..Close to everything no pool best if you just want a place to sleep..I didn't eat at their restaurant so not sure how the food was. Across the street from the beach.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eddie N, Guest Relations Manager at Colony Hotel, responded to this review

We truly value our guests honest feedback Lena0503! Colony Hotel is in the heart of South Beach. We are across the street from the beautiful Miami Beach! We hope for you to stay with us when you come back to Miami! Scarlett Mona More 

Aylesbury
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here for 3 nights. The hotel is in the middle of ocean drive. To get to the hotel you need to walk through the Colombus restaurant. The hotel is fairly old, but the rooms are in good condition. The hotel has free wifi, which we couldn't access from our room. The safe in our room was locked, we spoke... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eddie N, Guest Relations Manager at Colony Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Holidaygirl7779, Thank you for staying with us here at Colony Hotel, it was a delight having you as our guest. Your comments are welcomed and appreciated. I’m very pleased to read you had such a nice stay with us and the location was to your liking. We hope to see you soon! Scarlett Mona More 

Henlow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Arrived 10 mins before designated check in and had to wait for the room to be ready Fantastic location right in the middle of Ocean Drive seconds from the beach View wasn't brilliant, not even good but it was for one night before our cruise Rooms were clean and comfortable, the hotel is a bit dated but was a good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eddie N, Guest Relations Manager at Colony Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Kelly B, We appreciate the time you took to share your honest feedback! We are delighted to read that you had such a great time with us! The location of our property is prime. We are located right on Ocean Drive, where it's popping! Come back soon! We'd love to have you! Scarlett Mona More 

Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Right in the heart of sobe, great if you like the hustle & bustle of Miami. We had a lovely room overlooking the beach. Downside was the restaurant attached to the hotel downstairs, be prepared to be ripped off!! $54 for a large beer and our credit card cloned! Fortunately our bank was alert and refused the $1200 bestbuy transaction... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Eddie N, Guest Relations Manager at Colony Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Woody_1_wood, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us, and all of our future guests! I am terribly sorry that you had found the restaurant to be expensive. The restaurant is independently owned, operated and managed. Please direct all of your comments and concerns to them. Scarlett Mona More 

Orlando, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Before booking the room I wasnt sure if I wanted to stay because there were some pretty bad reviews on here. But when I tell you pleasant surprise, I mean pleasant!!!! I stayed in 115, its way in the back on the first floor, but the room was all brand new furniture, there was no view, but thats not a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Eddie N, Guest Relations Manager at Colony Hotel, responded to this review

It sounds like you really enjoyed your visit Tina W, and I couldn't be happier to read that! So happy you found the location to be such a great one and that you enjoyed the walk to the beach. I hope you'll come back and see us again soon. Cheers! Scarlett Mona More 

New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2015

Good hotel for spring break or a short stay. It's right in the middle of the action. It's across the street from the beach. Rooms are ok but I didn't spend much time in there. Plenty of food and drink options in the area. Staff is very helpful and friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eddie N, Guest Relations Manager at Colony Hotel, responded to this review

Good Evening TLopez1982, Our guests feedback means the world to us, and all of our future guests! We are the perfect place to stay for during Spring Break! We are close to all the action that takes place here in South Beach! Come back soon! Scarlett Mona More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
17 hotel reviews
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2015

Had a great 3 night stay at the hotel. Our room was located at the rear of the hotel which was a little noisy. Dumpsters were emptied early in the morning. The rooms was a nice size, bathroom a little small but, this is a classic Art Deco hotel. Wifi at the rear of the hotel was hopeless Bed was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Eddie N, Guest Relations Manager at Colony Hotel, responded to this review

Hello there and thank you for the time you took to share your honest feedback, regarding your recent stay! We apologize for the noise that you experienced from the garbage truck emptying the dumpsters in the morning! It's great to read that you enjoyed your room, and our comfy beds. We would love to welcome you back to stay with... More 

Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

Checked out of this hotel earlier today, stayed for two nights. Checked in late Friday night and it was quick and effortless. Room was small but was only used for sleeping and showering. The only thing I would give less stars on would be the shower curtain did not keep the water from off of the floor, other than that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Eddie N, Guest Relations Manager at Colony Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving such a great review. We have taken note of the shower curtain. We were delighted to have you as our guest and are looking forward for your next visit. We hope to see you again soon! Scarlett Mona More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

324 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (238)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (56)
Viewed
Room/suite (54)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (12)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (86)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (48)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (19)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (2)
Viewed
The Hotel (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (38)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (30)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay