We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 202 Miami Beach hotels

Howard Johnson Plaza Miami Beach North

2.5 of 5 Resort   |   8701 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33154 (Formerly Howard Johnson Plaza Dezerland Beach & Spa)
Click for phone number
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free High Speed Internet
Howard Johnson Plaza Miami Beach North
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Howard Johnson Plaza Miami Beach North to your Saves list
19%
Ranked #166 of 202 Hotels in Miami Beach
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    29
    66
    49
    49
See reviews for
84
57
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (202)
  • Mar-May only
    (64)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (64)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (40)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (34)
All months
There are newer reviews for Howard Johnson Plaza Miami Beach North
See the most recent reviews
Miami Beach
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

no frills hotle room, few outlets to plug in anything you may need. AC units failed in 2 rooms so I had to transfer to a new room, ( twice ). No fresh drinking water in vending machines. Smoke smell in my room even though it was a non smoking section ( floor).

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
Maria R, Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Miami Beach North, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I would like to take this opportunity to apologize for falling short of your expectation due to other guest smoking and not having fresh drinking water. We do have non-smoking floors but unfortunately, some guest do not comply. Whenever incident like this is reported, our security is dispatched... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Aside from the hotel being completely outdated (which I could deal with), the infestation of roaches is beyond disgusting. If you're lonely and need company this is the place to go... Roaches will keep you company in bed! Three Roaches were crawling on my bed. Absolutely ridiculous! And the electricity went out three times in the 5hrs we were there.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Maria R, Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Miami Beach North, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I would like to take this opportunity to apologize for falling short due to the few issues you mentioned in your review. Maintenance and Housekeeping have been notified of your comments to make sure these issues are taking care of moving forward and pest control has also been... More

Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We stayed here for about 4 nights, our room was clean and comfortable, but, it's an old hotel and needs some upgrading. Nice pool area and right on the beach. We will consider coming back.we w were here back in 2008.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Maria R, Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Miami Beach North, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to share your review. I’m glad you were comfortable and hope you will come back to visit us again. Best Regards, Hotel Management More

Miami
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

Oh my god what was wrong with this dump!!!!! Years ago I stayed here but nothing like how it was the lobby smelled like arm pit nasty pool not enough chairs bathroom gross all I have to say is department of health please shut this place down ghetto gross scary!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Maria R, Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Miami Beach North, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We appreciate your feedback and thank you for taking the time to provide us with your comments, every bit of information is valuable to us. I apologize that every aspect of your stay was less than 100% satisfactory. The appropriate departments have been notified regarding the comments so that way may improve the areas of concern you... More

Miami
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

The staff in the hotel was very helpful and friendly. But the hotel is stuck in time, more especifically in the 1960's. It is very clean, but it does need a make-over to keep with the times. The cafe/bar is great, the food excellent and the staff very friendly. The location is great, hopefully they do some renovations to it.... More

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
Maria R, Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Miami Beach North, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay. Although some updates are needed I am delighted to hear our staff was friendly and helpful during your stay. We hope you will visit again. Best Regards, Hotel Management More

West Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

The location is great. On the ocean with wonderful park, playground, running/walking paths, great food about a mile away. Far enough from hustle of South Beach but close enough to visit for the day or night. Most of the staff was friendly and helpful. However they need 3x the staff. Stayed over 4th July weekend. Extremely busy and very understaffed.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Maria R, Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Miami Beach North, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We appreciate your feedback and thank you for taking the time to provide us with your comments, every bit of information is valuable to us. I apologize that every aspect of your stay was less than 100% satisfactory. The appropriate departments have been notified regarding the comments so that way may improve the areas of concern you... More

Montreal
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

This hotel is nothing but old Dirty and smells big time! It needs MAJOR revamping! I felt bad for the kind employees who have to work in this filthy environment! Howard Johnson need to spend the money and renovate this place big time or they need to close it down! I don't know how this hotel can own up to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Maria R, Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Miami Beach North, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We appreciate your feedback and thank you for taking the time to provide us with your comments, every bit of information is valuable to us. I apologize that every aspect of your stay was less than 100% satisfactory. Best Regards, Hotel Management More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Howard Johnson Plaza Miami Beach North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Plaza Miami Beach North

Address: 8701 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33154 (Formerly Howard Johnson Plaza Dezerland Beach & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Plaza Miami Beach North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Wyndham, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Plaza Miami Beach North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Dezerland Beach Miami Beach
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Dezerland Beach And Spa
Howard Johnson Plaza Dezerland Beach & Spa
Howard Johnson Miami Beach
Miami Beach Howard Johnson

71 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (70)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay