We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel

Hotel website
Hotel deals
1817 James Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

674 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    226
    304
    89
    30
    25
See reviews for
206
221
15
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (674)
  • Mar-May only
    (232)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (135)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (155)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (152)
All months
There are newer reviews for Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2014

Was a nice hotel Only stayed 3 nights Good location to Lincoln road for shopping and restaurants 5 minute walk away Good pool bar with very friendly staff parking 30 dollars but not a shock they tell you on booking so read the small print x Free wifi and breakfast Good size rooms.... bed was amazing Would stay here again... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2014

We found this hotel to be in a very nice part of South Beach Miami, it was more in the neighbourhood but was still very close and within walking distance of all the shopping, restaurant and beaches. We did have to leave the housekeepers some notes each day to ask them to leave an extra tea bag etc and there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Olofstrom, Sweden
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2014

The Hotel is very nice and good looking with it's art deco style. The rooms is normal in size. But the hotel has some issues. First of all, the service is terrible. We arrived late and still hade to wait for the room because it was not cleaned. They told us to wait by the pool, they never came to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2014

This was my second stay at the Pestana. I am portuguese so it is good to hear my mother language as soon as I enter the hotel! Paulo, the concierge is amazing, so nice and helpful! I even liked the hotel more than twi years ago. The room is large and well kept. Ask to stay in the main building... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joao A, General Manager at Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel, responded to this review

Dear “clara50” Thank you for your review regarding your second stay at Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel! We are glad to hear you loved your stay and you feel at home when staying with us, those are the biggest compliments we may receive from a guest! Thank you for your kind words to Paolo! Hope to welcome you again... More 

Black Eagle, Montana
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2014

Everything here was great except I found one wall outlet that didn't work, hence my cellphone & ipad didn't get charged! The room was comfy, great TV & channels, people at desk were friendly even at the late hour we arrived! They even called us a taxi in the morning! We love this art deco area, so it was nice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joao A, General Manager at Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel, responded to this review

Dear “Stephano617” Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel. We were glad to read you found our rooms to be comfortable and you enjoyed our LED TV and HD Channels. Thank you for your king words to our Front Office Team, I will surely share your review with them. I am... More 

middletown nj
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2014 via mobile

We stayed only one night here before a cruise. I wish we could have stayed longer. It's a beautiful, clean and stylish hotel within walking distance to everything from the beach to restaurants to nightlife! The pool looked lovely, wish we could have taken advantage of it but it was stormy when I was here! Our room was spotless and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Joao A, General Manager at Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel, responded to this review

Wow! We were really glad to read your fantastic review on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay at Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel! We will share your comments with all of our team with special mention to Paolo, Simone, Gregori and Huma; thank you. We look forward to welcome you again very soon, hopefully for more than a night! Regards,... More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2014

Nice, familiar, super pool in it's patio. In walkable distance to Lincoln road (pedestrian street). 3 min to the beach, valet service for car, good breakfirst options. Big room (4204). Wifi. I would come back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joao A, General Manager at Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Andreas, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel. We were glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us namely the swimming pool area, hotel location, breakfast and the free Wi-Fi Internet. Hope to welcome you again very soon! Regards, João Paulo Araújo More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2014

Fantastic hotel ideal location for both restraunts on Espinola and Lincoln and walking distance to Ocean drive.The staff at the Pestana were very friendly and helpful and couldnt do enough. The rooms look to have had an upgrade recently and were very comfortable.We did like the photos in the room which reminds you of the hotels past.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Joao A, General Manager at Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mark, Thank you for sharing with other travelers your recent experience at Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel. Fantastic is the word; thank you for your great comments regarding our location, staff attitude, rooms condition and décor, we are really glad you enjoyed the all experience with us! Hope to welcome you again very soon and do not hesitate... More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014

Lovely small Hotel with a nice pool, good TV signal and size, wifi, breakfast, nice people working, very good looking, cleanness, near everything, valet parking, quiet zone. No Airport Shuttle. Prepared for children and reduced mobility people. Very good!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joao A, General Manager at Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel, responded to this review

Dear “BPais” Thank you for choosing Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel for your stay in Miami and sharing in Tripadvisor your experience with other traveler. We were glad to read you enjoyed our facilities, location and team! Hope to welcome you again very soon. Regards, João Paulo Araújo More 

Stockholm County, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014

Dirty pool and deck chairs, noisy corridor, loud air condition-impossible to sleep. Some of the staff trying to make us pay more for the breakfast and speaks poor English. Very poor service from staff, not helpful. Do not stay here.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Joao A, General Manager at Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Therese, Thank you for taking the time to review you recent stay at Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel. I am really sorry we were not able to provide you with the level of service you were expecting and for which Pestana Hotels & Resorts are known worldwide; please accept my sincere apologies. I would love to know further... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

848 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (277)
Viewed
Room/suite (62)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (75)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (38)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (60)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (557)
Viewed
One Bedroon Suite (130)
Viewed
Pestana Vista (89)
Viewed
Pool (38)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (48)
Viewed
South Beach Room (81)
Viewed
South Beach Two Double Beds (85)
Viewed
The Hotel (86)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay