We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel

3.5 of 5 1817 James Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    238
    76
    26
    22
See reviews for
164
162
13
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (515)
  • Mar-May only
    (131)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (100)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (155)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (129)
All months
There are newer reviews for Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Jupiter, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

This hotel is in a good quiet location. The front desk in the morning check in was very helpful. The hotel was nicely decorated in the art deco decor. The room was clean and nice. The pool was very nice and relaxing but in our room the AC stopped working around 11:30 at night the maintenance came up to fix... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Joao A, General Manager at Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your recent experience on Tripadvisor. We appreciate your very kind comments regarding our location and hotel facilities, namely the swimming pool area, rooms and general décor. We are very sorry to hear we were not able to resolve the air conditioning problem. The satisfaction of every single guest is our... More 

Marshall, Texas, United States
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

This is a very nice hotel with and amazeing staff! This was my very first time booking online and i would mostly defiantly do it again! The Pestana was exactly what i expected and more. The pictures were the same and not misleading at all. The hotel is clealy in walking distance from everything and im so glad i didnt... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Joao A, General Manager at Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for posting such a fantastic review on Tripadvisor! We are pleased to hear that we were able to exceed your expectations and that you had a fantastic time with us. We will share your kind comments with our team. We look forward to welcome you again at Pestana South Beach Hotel! Regards, João Paulo Araújo More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

My wife. my daughter and I chose the very impressive Pestana over all the others - this was to celebrate our 25 year wedding anniversary. On the 26th June both of our room cards required a reset. That evening an Ipad and $500 in cash was stolen from our room. The manager stated that my key was used (whilst we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

After having read a lot of reviews I found this hotel. Very friendly staff, lobby light and airy. The room was great. Everything was modern, brand new and functional. Some loud guests at night but that is the price you pay if you elect to live in a party district. Hotel is on a side street just two blocks from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Joao A, General Manager at Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your recent experience at Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel. We were delighted to read your satisfaction concerning our team attitude, hotel amenities and location and the most important thing that you were able to enjoy your time with us, thank you! Hope to have the change to welcome you... More 

Warsaw, Poland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I spent 4 days in Pestana with my 4 friends and we really enjoyed our stay. hotel is situated very close to all entertaining clubs, pubs and restaurants ( close to Collins and ocean Drive/ however you can not hear nosiy city at all. It's also very well located from logistic point of view if you want to go to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Joao A, General Manager at Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing with other travelers your recent experience at Pestana South Beach Hotel. We appreciate your detailed description concerning our location. As you refer, Pestana South Beach is centrally located but at the same time in a very quiet area, allowing our guests to walk to all Miami main attractions and at the same time to... More 

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

the 2nd day we were there, Housekeeping cleaned our room, but took all the towels and didn't bring any back. We told the desk that evening, but nothing happened. Took almost 24 hours for us to get towels. Nobody apologized. Lots of smiles from staff, but no apology. Then our room cards didn't work. We had to get them reprogramed.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Joao A, General Manager at Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post this review on Tripadvisor. We were sorry to understand that your experience at Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel did not meet your expectations, please accept my sincere apologies. Your comments have been shared with our team in order to avoid similar future situations. We hope to have the chance... More 

Greensboro, North Carolina, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

The artsy decor along with the clean and great location of the Pestana hotel on South beach makes it a wonderful place to stay. It is located right in the center of all the entertainment venues which made cost of traveling by taxi very inexpensive. The beach is a block over and there is a great 24 hour restaurant around... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Joao A, General Manager at Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing with other travelers such a fantastic review regarding your recent stay at Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel! We are happy to hear that our staff made you feel welcome and we were pleased that you were taken care of! We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.... More 

Tampa, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

my experience at the hotel was very good and bad. I really liked the attention at the reception, I really liked the large room, cleaning was not very good and one of the things that was very bad for me was the part of Mr Paolo offered me an apartment wider more modern and better located in my next stay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Joao A, General Manager at Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for posting your recent experience at Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel. We were very sorry to hear your disappointment regarding our cleaning service and the attitude of some of our team members, please accept my apologies. I can assure you that we have taken actions to avoid similar situations to occur in the future. We... More 

Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed in the hotel (that opened up on february 2013) for two days. The rooms were very clean and the beds amazing comfortable. The pool in the middle of the complex is beautiful. Price is ok for what you get and the good location. There were two problems though, the desk service was very friendly but mixed up our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Joao A, General Manager at Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback regarding your last stay at Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel. I apologize for the “mixed up” with your reservation and for not being able to resolve promptly the night noise by the swimming pool. I am pleased that you enjoyed the comfort of out beds and... More 

Key West, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Our stay here started with having to drag our suitcases up the hotel steps under the watchful gaze of the concierge and didn't get any better from there. We were given a room where the air con was broken ( the panel hanging off the wall was a good clue). They moved us to an inferior room and literally dumped... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel

Address: 1817 James Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#49 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#50 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#54 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach

765 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (189)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (57)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (25)
Viewed
Room/suite (40)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (30)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (557)
Viewed
One Bedroon Suite (130)
Viewed
Pestana Vista (89)
Viewed
Pool (38)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (48)
Viewed
South Beach Room (81)
Viewed
South Beach Two Double Beds (85)
Viewed
The Hotel (86)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay