We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel

3.5 of 5 1817 James Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    210
    63
    23
    20
See reviews for
141
137
13
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (455)
  • Mar-May only
    (131)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (100)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (150)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (74)
All months
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This was my second stay at the Pestana. I am portuguese so it is good to hear my mother language as soon as I enter the hotel! Paulo, the concierge is amazing, so nice and helpful! I even liked the hotel more than twi years ago. The room is large and well kept. Ask to stay in the main building... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joao A, General Manager at Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel, responded to this review

Dear “clara50” Thank you for your review regarding your second stay at Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel! We are glad to hear you loved your stay and you feel at home when staying with us, those are the biggest compliments we may receive from a guest! Thank you for your kind words to Paolo! Hope to welcome you again... More

Black Eagle, Montana
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Everything here was great except I found one wall outlet that didn't work, hence my cellphone & ipad didn't get charged! The room was comfy, great TV & channels, people at desk were friendly even at the late hour we arrived! They even called us a taxi in the morning! We love this art deco area, so it was nice... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joao A, General Manager at Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel, responded to this review

Dear “Stephano617” Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel. We were glad to read you found our rooms to be comfortable and you enjoyed our LED TV and HD Channels. Thank you for your king words to our Front Office Team, I will surely share your review with them. I am... More

middletown nj
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

We stayed only one night here before a cruise. I wish we could have stayed longer. It's a beautiful, clean and stylish hotel within walking distance to everything from the beach to restaurants to nightlife! The pool looked lovely, wish we could have taken advantage of it but it was stormy when I was here! Our room was spotless and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Joao A, General Manager at Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel, responded to this review

Wow! We were really glad to read your fantastic review on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay at Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel! We will share your comments with all of our team with special mention to Paolo, Simone, Gregori and Huma; thank you. We look forward to welcome you again very soon, hopefully for more than a night! Regards,... More

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Nice, familiar, super pool in it's patio. In walkable distance to Lincoln road (pedestrian street). 3 min to the beach, valet service for car, good breakfirst options. Big room (4204). Wifi. I would come back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joao A, General Manager at Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Andreas, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel. We were glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us namely the swimming pool area, hotel location, breakfast and the free Wi-Fi Internet. Hope to welcome you again very soon! Regards, João Paulo Araújo More

Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Fantastic hotel ideal location for both restraunts on Espinola and Lincoln and walking distance to Ocean drive.The staff at the Pestana were very friendly and helpful and couldnt do enough. The rooms look to have had an upgrade recently and were very comfortable.We did like the photos in the room which reminds you of the hotels past.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joao A, General Manager at Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mark, Thank you for sharing with other travelers your recent experience at Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel. Fantastic is the word; thank you for your great comments regarding our location, staff attitude, rooms condition and décor, we are really glad you enjoyed the all experience with us! Hope to welcome you again very soon and do not hesitate... More

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely small Hotel with a nice pool, good TV signal and size, wifi, breakfast, nice people working, very good looking, cleanness, near everything, valet parking, quiet zone. No Airport Shuttle. Prepared for children and reduced mobility people. Very good!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joao A, General Manager at Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel, responded to this review

Dear “BPais” Thank you for choosing Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel for your stay in Miami and sharing in Tripadvisor your experience with other traveler. We were glad to read you enjoyed our facilities, location and team! Hope to welcome you again very soon. Regards, João Paulo Araújo More

Stockholm County, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Dirty pool and deck chairs, noisy corridor, loud air condition-impossible to sleep. Some of the staff trying to make us pay more for the breakfast and speaks poor English. Very poor service from staff, not helpful. Do not stay here.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Joao A, General Manager at Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Therese, Thank you for taking the time to review you recent stay at Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel. I am really sorry we were not able to provide you with the level of service you were expecting and for which Pestana Hotels & Resorts are known worldwide; please accept my sincere apologies. I would love to know further... More

Cape Coral, Florida
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed last night in room 1109 after booking through Booking.com. We arrived late, around 11PM due to having to work. When we opened the door to the room it was extremely warm. The thermostat read 80. I informed Greg at the front desk and he sent someone to check it out. After resetting the unit my wife and I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Joao A, General Manager at Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel, responded to this review

Dear “rdemps01”, We are really sorry to hear we were not able to provide you with the experience you were looking for. Unfortunately and as you describe we were not able to anticipate the problem with the air conditioning in your room. We tried to fix it immediately and we were actually convinced that we did so as when our... More

London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Staff very friendly and helpful, a very busy hotel and they clearly do a good job at keeping people happy. Rooms are very light and airy and a good size, very modern and free wi-fi and safe in room. When we arrived there was not the twin room we had booked, but this was sorted the next day and we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It was my second stay at the Pestana South beach and this time it was even better, as rooms are better cared for, and the overall experience very good. The hotel location is not oceanfront but you walk to the beach in just 5 minutes! At much nicer as you have not to listen to music aloud in the pool... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel

Address: 1817 James Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

733 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (158)
Viewed
Room/suite (26)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (37)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (17)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (46)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (557)
Viewed
One Bedroon Suite (130)
Viewed
Pestana Vista (89)
Viewed
Pool (38)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (48)
Viewed
South Beach Room (81)
Viewed
South Beach Two Double Beds (85)
Viewed
The Hotel (86)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay