We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dorchester Hotel

Hotel website
1850 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Expert photos
Dorchester Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

936 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    142
    374
    238
    92
    90
See reviews for
282
295
23
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (936)
  • Mar-May only
    (227)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (296)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (197)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (216)
All months
Elizabeth, New Jersey
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Hidden fees. This was our first family trip to MIAMI w/my daughter age 18 and nephew age 10. We went through Orbitz for our deal. We had a late flight so we got to the hotel around midnight. The desk person was rude and didn't really seem like he wanted to work. He charged us a deposit of $150. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrej B, Guest Relations Manager at Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review

The fees for our amenities - or in other words “resort fee” is not hidden. It is clearly stated even on the booking site that you have mentioned. Some of the amenities that the site is showing are: access to the Marseilles beach club, 2 lounges and 1 umbrella on the beach, free towels, wifi access throughout the property, free... More 

Jouy en Josas, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

good location in South Beach Miami, art deco hotel, easy to walk to the Miami nice places, expensive parking but a public one is close to it. nice welcome with usefull advices. beach acces with free chairs and parasols.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Check in was quick. Receptionist was pleasant and helpful whenever I had a question. Rooms and bathroom area very very small but clean. Pool was heated but wasnt all that clean however very inviting. Beach across the street. Everything within walking distance. Didnt have breakfast there as I saw a big rat running around in the courtyard. Stay was comfortable... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Andrej B, Guest Relations Manager at Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and for mentioning our helpful staff and central location. We are pleased to see that your stay was comfortable and look forward to your return. Not to worry about any rodents, as the large feral cat population has these critters under control for decades. Some time ago, there was a sighting of an opossum in... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

As you may have gathered from the title I have give this review, I have very mixed feelings about this hotel. Whilst its location was very good and the staff were friendly and helpful, the hotel itself is quite poor and needs a total restyling. The pool was filthy but with a great beach round the corner you are much... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Andrej B, Guest Relations Manager at Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for writing, and mentioning our friendly staff and central location. Our property is one of the finest examples of art- deco architecture and design. Any changes and improvements in regards to the building that we can undertake are very limited and have to have approval from the city, however there just might be updates and major redesigning happening... More 

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
86 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Location, location, location, perfect for a family with teens. Dorchester utilizes it's sister hotel the Marseille for beach access and the use of umbrellas and each chairs. The pool at the Marseille is also very nice with spa water to keep hydrated available on the pool deck. Dorchester also has a pool, but it's a bit smaller. Both hotels have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrej B, Guest Relations Manager at Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Hotel Dorchester South Beach and for your review. I'm glad to see that you were able to take advantage of our beach club behind our sister property and all the amenities we have to offer. Also, at the sister property we are working on a complete renovation of the fitness room, with the Dorchester’s fitness being... More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2015

This hotel is a pretty sweet deal for your buck. Location is GREAT and you get to use the Marseilles beach chairs for FREE. Don't expect luxury. The place has been remodeled and it looks nice but as far as decoration goes, it's a hot mess. My two main complaints are 1. breakfast is not included and 2. No microwave... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrej B, Guest Relations Manager at Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Dorchester Hotel South Beach and for your feedback. We strive to be a great value in the central South Beach location and provide as many amenities as possible. The microwaves and coffeemakers are a part of the rooms, but only the suites. We do provide a big coffee dispenser in the lobby in the afternoon... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2015

I went there with my husband and I would definitely go back to this hotel. It was great!! The room was pretty big, the location is great, the pool is a little small but they give you passes to access the pool at the Marseilles (their twin hotel) and the beach with chairs and umbrellas, the bar was awesome for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrej B, Guest Relations Manager at Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the glowing review of our Hotel. It is our greatest pleasure to see that you had such a great time with us. I am glad to see that you were able to take advantage of our central location, beach service, and one of the best happy hours around. Sincere thanks from all of us for your kind... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2015

We stayed here for my Bachelorette Party. We chose the suites because it offered a kitchen, dining, and living area. I have no complaints about the hotel. The pictures are true to what it is. It was clean and spacious. The lighting in the living room by the mirror was horrible for doing your makeup (only a problem for a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Andrej B, Guest Relations Manager at Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for writing and for the valuable feedback. We hope you had a fun and enjoyable bachelorette party in one of our spacious suites. We try to keep up with the Miami-Dade green lodging and restaurant program to preserve water and our environment. Our suites are set up with 4 sets of towels, and we gladly swap the used... More 

Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2015

As a lot of the properties in South Beach, the Hotel is old and that is the main problem. Building is not properly maintained and the room feels old and things don't work as they were supposed to. A few examples: Beds are not that comfortable, A/C does not work well, Bathroom is really small and overall maintenance could be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrej B, Guest Relations Manager at Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We work hard to make sure the upkeep of this art-deco historic property is at its best. I apologize we didn’t meet your expectations, but be sure to visit us sometime in the future as you may see some major design changes and improvements. Then we can provide a stay that’s not just average but... More 

West Hollywood, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2015

I found the Dorchester Hotel to be a decent hotel with daily rates that are relatively inexpensive by South Beach standards, but I do have a couple of complaints. We checked in at 4:15 pm but were told to wait 45 minutes before going up to our room because the housekeeping staff had not yet got around to cleaning our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrej B, Guest Relations Manager at Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Dorchester Hotel South Beach. We strive to provide an excellent value and comfortable accommodations in the heart of South Beach. The front desk staff normally advises guests that our check in starts at 3:00PM and many times we hold the luggage while the guests are doing their own activities. We have a great housekeeping staff... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

454 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (204)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (24)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (40)
Viewed
Room/suite (51)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Family/play areas (9)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (64)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (239)
Viewed
Amenities (48)
Viewed
Double Full Standard Room (43)
Viewed
King Suite (72)
Viewed
Pool (10)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (22)
Viewed
The Hotel (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Marseilles Hotel
Marseilles Hotel
#124 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 818 reviews
City Center
Suites of Dorchester
Suites of Dorchester
#130 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 123 reviews
City Center
Albion South Beach
Albion South Beach
#96 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 1,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
#79 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 3,054 reviews
Clinton Hotel South Beach
#121 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 1,293 reviews
Townhouse Hotel
#107 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay