We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dorchester Hotel

Hotel website
1850 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dorchester Hotel
Management photos View all
Browse nearby
Dorchester Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

894 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    139
    359
    226
    84
    86
See reviews for
261
283
22
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (894)
  • Mar-May only
    (227)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (254)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (197)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (216)
All months
Ireland
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My family & I stayed here in June 2015 on our holidays from Ireland. We were greeted by Mauricio & Francisco who were really friendly and welcoming. They organised tours for the duration of our holiday (to the Everglades, City Tour & Island Cruise tour) which were all brilliant. Alain brought our bags to our room and called my son... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cape Coral, Florida, Usa
Level Contributor
62 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A lot of mixed reviews on this place but honestly it was a great stay. The room was very clean. The room was small but not complaint at all with that. I was walking distance to everything i needed being that i was there for a convention. The bar downstairs was great and we absolutely loved our bartender who was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Andrej B, Guest Relations Manager at Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review. Indeed, we are in the heart of it all, close to the restaurants, bars, pedestrian zones, and the Miami Beach Convention Center. I am glad to see that you have enjoyed our 1850 bar and the service we provided. Thanks for writing. It was a pleasure to have you and we can’t wait to... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and i moved over to this hotel after a HORRIBLE stay down the street at the Lorrraine Hotel(Motel). From the very first entrance on the property, Carlos ( the bellman) greeted and welcomed us to the facility. He immediately took care of our bags and guided us to the property people. Parking was affordable and convenient. Beach towels,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Andrej B, Guest Relations Manager at Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Vicki and David, Thank you for the glowing review of our Hotel. It is our greatest pleasure to see that you had such a great time with us. I am glad to see that you were able to take advantage of our convenient parking, beach service, and one of the best happy hours around. I personally passed the kind... More 

Bronx, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The room was perfect. The staff were amazing. The pool was refreshing. The only problem was the so called " Continental Breakfast". I looked up the word and it says "that some hotels offer FREE breakfast" but Dorchester was not part of that "some", which is a bummer to pay 14.99 for a self-served, mediocre beakfast. Yet, the next day,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Andrej B, Guest Relations Manager at Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us at the Dorchester Hotel South Beach, and thank you for the generous comments about our staff, room, and pool area. I apologize that the breakfast options offered did not meet your expectations. Indeed, there are many options for breakfast and dining due to our great location in the heart of South Beach, with many... More 

West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Service great room awesome one bedroom suite phenomal much space for two adults and a child. Pool area nice not sure what people are complaining about when they say bad things. Good local. Plenty of places to eat.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrej B, Guest Relations Manager at Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to post such a nice review. Its our greatest pleasure to see that your family had a great time staying with us in one of our spacious suites. Whenever you come to the area I hope you'll keep us in mind and visit us again. More 

Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We spent two nights there at the end of May, The Hotel is Fine in the most part , but they seriously need to go and find out what constitutes a Continental Breakfast, It is not , a glass of Orange , two pieces of bread and a cup of tea or coffee, this was part of a package so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Was there for two nights. When I arrived and checked in, I went to my room and it stunk. There was an ode run there that was rough. Then I checked the bathroom and noticed hundreds of little worms in the bathtub. I called the desk and they moved me to another room. New room was clean but still smelled.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Andrej B, Guest Relations Manager at Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your time to post the review. Please accept my apology about the issue that you’ve mentioned. I am glad that the helpful front desk staff was able to move you. The maintenance manager took care of any related issues and it was confirmed that it was a one time anomaly. Regardless, my apologies that it wasn’t perfect... More 

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Miami Beach
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The room was clean and looked newly re-done. However, our "non-smoking" room smelled of smoke the whole time. In general, the staff was friendly and helpful. We did not eat there, so we can't comment on the breakfast that was offered. Lots of restaurants, including outdoor patios, within walking distance. There was a small fridge in the room, so we... More 

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
Maple Ridge, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2015

Six of us stayed at the Dorchester in South Beach for two nights prior to going on a cruise. There was a mixup on our rooms because we ordered 3 rooms with 2 beds each and only got one room with two beds. The other two rooms had a king bed each so our friends had to share a bed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Argentina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2015

Only reediming quality of this hotel is that you can walk wherever you want, besides that nothing good to say. Staff unfriendly, they charge you for everything, rooms small noisy the ac and you can hear the tv and the people talking next to you. Also a lot of noise from outside, although we were supposed to be in one... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Andrej B, Guest Relations Manager at Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review

Thank You for your time to post the review. Indeed, we are in a prime location in Miami Beach within walking distance of many points of interest. I am sincerely sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations. I assure you that this will provide valuable feedback for us, as we did renovate, and are constantly continuing to improve... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

203 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (192)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (39)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (23)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (50)
Viewed
Family/play areas (9)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (55)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay