We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 200 Miami Beach hotels

Hotel Chelsea

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   944 Washington Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Hotel Chelsea to your Saves list
Hotel Chelsea
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
51%
Ranked #134 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Raoel C
  • Overview
  • Reviews (474)
  • Photos (211)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (49)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

474 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    83
    133
    98
    69
    91
See reviews for
40
127
36
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

in the month august 2014, me and my wife visited miami south beach and stayed at hotel chelsea . we had a wonderfull time in the hotel. housekeeping was good, check in was also smooth. we will stay again for our next vacation.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Chelsea, responded to this review

Hello there Raoel C, We are delighted that you had a great time with your wife here at our hotel! I see that you were given great service from our team! We would love to have the two of you return again in the near future! Katrine More

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was the worst hotel ever the site I booked my room from never said anything about a 100.00 deposit. So me and my husband was screwed than their power went out for almost 3 hours. While everyone else power was on. Never again will I stay here. Dumb down. I want to give it no stars

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Chelsea, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Kelly J! Thank you for sharing your feedback with us, regarding your recent experience. We do take a hold for $100 for incidentals. It clearly states this on our site, and all of our third party sites. I am sorry that you were not aware of this. We apologize that your time spent with us was less then... More

CLEARWATER
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We ended up in Miami for a night, so booked here through a discount site for $70, versus the $206 regular rate. The hotel is very old and trendy, with a bar in the lobby and an outside covered patio, really quaint. There was one woman at the very tiny check-in desk and we waited an hour to get checked... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Chelsea, responded to this review

Good Afternoon MARY M!! Thank you for sharing your feedback with us, and all of our future guests! Here at Hotel Chelsea we offer unbeatable prices! The building is indeed a historic Art Deco building. We chose to keep certain things in the hotel unchanged in order to highlight this history. Boutique hotels are usually smaller then your average hotels.... More

Wichita, Kansas
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed at the Chelsea for one night (a Monday). We chose it because of the low price (especially compared to other days of the week when it was over $200 a room per night). Check-in took a little while, and they actually imprinted our credit card, which seemed a little out-of-date. There is a $17 per night "resort fee"... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Chelsea, responded to this review

Good Afternoon phoebe K, We would like to thank you for the lovely feedback you shared with us! HAPPY BELATED BIRTHDAY!!!!!!!! Thank you for choosing to stay with us, for such a lovely occasion! Maxine's offers delicious breakfast, largely portioned, at a reasonable price. Eddie and Guy are absolutely amazing, and all of our guests think so as well. We... More

Montreal
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

If you ever dreamed of sleeping in the most comfortable bed ever, the Chelsea hotel is the place to be! Great staff all very pleasant, they make you feel like family! Rooms are extremely clean and free happy hour drinks from 7-8pm! Great location you'll have loads of fun!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Chelsea, responded to this review

Great review RRunner66!! Thank you for staying with us! We are delighted to read that you had such a great time! Please come back again soon! Katrine More

South Daytona, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

The hotel is in a good location although parking is a couple of blocks away. Large room and bathroom with a good sized bed. The bar is expensive and hotel is noisy and frequented by hookers. Staff on desk weren't interested in listening to our complaints and I have subsequently had an additional charge despite not using anything from room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Chelsea, responded to this review

Good Day Mrsf60, Thank you for taking your time to provide us with your honest feedback! Hotel Chelsea is located in an excellent location, just blocks from everything you will want to be apart of! Our staff is always assisting guests in making sure their time with us, is nothing but satisfying! It's unfortunate to read that is not what... More

2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

We stayed after asking for our money back at "Century Hotel" Great staff.. We told them put situation and that we had checked out the pervious hotel because of horrible bugs and dirtiness and they immediately when someone checkout had a room available for us. Very appreciated by the staff and I will be coming back

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Chelsea, responded to this review

Good Evening danygurl07, There is nothing that we love to read more then lovely 5 star feedback! We are terribly sorry that you had such a negative experience in your previous hotel! I am very glad that we were able to provide you with the opposite! We would definitely love to have you stay with us again when visiting South... More

New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

It is a good hotel, clean and spacious rooms, everyday fresh towels. Very nice staff, we arrived early to the hotel and they allowed us to leave our luggage so we could begin enjoying our vacation in SB. This hotel is close to the beach , restaurants and stores. I can recommend!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Chelsea, responded to this review

Hello there EvaBoh, We appreciate the time you took to share your feedback, regarding your recent stay! We are content to know that you had such a great time here! We allow all guests to drop their luggage off, so they can start to enjoy their vacation! We are located in the heart of South Beach, around all the action.... More

Piscataway, New Jersey
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Conveniently located hotel, only 2 blocks away from the beach. The gift shops are right across the street and there are plenty of affordable restaurants as well as a convenience store in the vicinity. The room was spacious and had a cute charm to it, although it was a little dim for my taste. Amenities included complimentary beach towels, free... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Chelsea, responded to this review

Hello there Kristel R, Thank you for the time you took to provide us with your feedback! We are just blocks away from all the hottest bars, restaurants, clubs, beach, etc. We offer great money saving amenities when you choose to stay with us! We hope that you would come back to stay with us again in the future! Katrine More

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Excellent hotel, very affordable. Valet was a little pricey but it's South beach so expected to pay a lot for parking. Cozy feel to it that made it more welcoming. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Nice patio, great for socializing with other guests and the staff helped and encouraged interaction which was great. Very close to beach, and most... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Chelsea, responded to this review

Good Evening Oscar C, We value all of our guests feedback, and would like to thank you for sharing your feedback with us! We offer unbeatable prices, in a prime location, with great money saving amenities that are included. We offer valet parking here for a cost. It's very convenient and safe. Our staff are all hard at work to... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Hotel Chelsea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Hotel Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chelsea

Address: 944 Washington Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Chelsea 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hotel Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea Hotel Miami Beach
Hotel Chelsea Miami
Chelsea Miami Beach

211 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (64)
Viewed
Room/suite (27)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Other (8)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (147)
Viewed
Large King Room (7)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (25)
Viewed
Standard Room (80)
Viewed
The Hotel (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Miami Beach with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
42

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Chelsea staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer