We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Breakwater South Beach

Hotel website
940 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

1,285 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
St Kilda East, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

I had a quick one night stay at the Breakwater after travelling nearly 24 hours. I just wanted to sleep but this is a noisy hotel. Perhaps it was my room, but even the double glazing didn't shut the music out. Thanks to exhaustion and blocked ears from a nasty head cold, I managed to fall asleep and when I... More 

Helpful?
Thank bruceymelbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayd 3 days. If U are party animal - it is best place to stay. If U want sleep at night and rest then U must look other hotel. Rooms are look old, elevator dont work, pool was closed, the road to the my room was long and through the constuction area. Anyway i payd the same price that other... More 

Helpful?
Thank karm0v
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

I just checked out of the Breakwater today and wanted to make sure I left a review today. I usually don't leave reviews but thought a good one was much deserved in this case. I stayed there with my husband and another couple we are friends with and from the time we arrived on Saturday morning to the time we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Vanessa S
csantana116, General Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review

Hi Vanessa S, Thank you for sharing your recent experience of the Breakwater South Beach. I'm delighted that Natalie was able to accommodate you with a room more to your satisfaction in addition to the entire team quickly responding to all your questions. Many of guest choose the Breakwater due to the convenient location to everything Miami Beach has to... More 

Midlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great staff very friendly. Lovely room with great showering facilities. Right in the heart of south beach. You won't be disappointed if you pick the Breakwater. Complementary water and bicycles. Asked about a restaurant and the girl on reception even took the time to draw me a map.

Helpful?
Thank Tommymidlands
csantana116, General Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review

Greetings Tommymidlands, Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Breakwater South Beach. I'm glad that you found your accommodations satisfactory from its location to the rainfall showers. The entire staff takes pride in providing the level of service of guest expect when visiting South Beach. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly at info@breakwatersouthbeach.com so that we... More 

Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This was my second time at the hotel. Typically, I book through hotels.com but I had such a good experience with the hotel last summer that I called directly to get a reservation. The price I received by booking directly was much better than I could have done on line. At the last minute a friend needed a room and... More 

Helpful?
Thank chrisreilly22
csantana116, General Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review

Dear chrisreilly22, Thank you for returning to the Breakwater South Beach. Everyone certainly loved having you back. I'm glad that you are booking directly with the hotel and that we were even able to assist your friend with a last minute booking. The entire team will be so happy knowing how much you appreciated there service and look forward to... More 

Veneto, Italy
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel was just alright, nice public area and facing the beach that you don't see as there is so much traffic. The bed for our son (18Y old) had such a thin mattress that made it very uncomfortable. Breakfast was very poor both in terms of quality and quantity. It is very noisy: loud music all night, fortunately we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Luisa A
csantana116, General Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review

Hi Luisa A, Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Breakwater South Beach. I'm sorry the mattress from the sofa bed was uncomfortable for your son. I will also forward your feedback to the restaurant manager as the breakfast is an important part of everyone's day, therefore both the quality and quantity must be consistent. Should you choose... More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I stayed at the breakwater during the the East Coast blizzard and the hotel was phenomenal. The front desk staff was superb. Cassandra at the front desk, was extremely pleasant and attentive, she is one of the hardest working staff persons I have ever met. Natalie the manger and Natalie the front desk staff all worked to ensure a happy... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank abw706
csantana116, General Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review

Greetings abw706, Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Breakwater South Beach. I'm pleased that you found your accommodations satisfactory. We will most certainly share your feedback with our staff members as this will most certainly motivate them on continuing to provide the level of service our guest desire when visiting. I hope that you return in the... More 

Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

When you book 4star hotel you expect to get quality!!! In this case this hotel should have one star with their staff and quality. Super expensive for old dirty rooms!!! Valet 40$ for few hours!!! They don't make your room...even after calling front desk two times!!! Dirty carpet, noise is everywhere, flooding bathroom, AC working very bad!!! Don't go to... More 

Helpful?
Thank EXTREMEPHOTOGRAPHER
csantana116, General Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review

Dear EXTREMEPHOTOGRAPHER, I'm terribly sorry that your stay at the Breakwater South Beach was less than satisfactory. I would hope that you would contact me so that I can look into your concerns to assure that these types of issues do not happen again. Please contact me at info@breakwatersouthbeach.com to discuss at your leisure. Yours in Hospitality, Carlos Santana General... More 

Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great location on Ocean Drive, opposite the beach. Smart, modern, renovated rooms. There was more renovation going on whilst we were there so the pool was not open. Bar and restaurant very nice, buffet breakfast sufficient. Valet parking available (39$ per night)

Helpful?
Thank Simon R
csantana116, General Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review

Greetings Simon R, Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Breakwater South Beach. I'm pleased that you found your accommodations satisfactory. I also want to apologize that you were unable to enjoy our pool due to some improvements we were making. I hope that you return in the near future and if you do, will contact us directly... More 

Quechee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here one night waiting to board a cruise ship. The room was adequate. We asked for an ocean view and got one. However, the hotel is set back so far from the ocean that this was of little or no advantage. There is a lot of street noise, including live music, until midnight or later, so if you... More 

Helpful?
Thank Robert P
csantana116, General Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review

Greetings Robert P, I apologize that the breakfast area wasn't setup promptly by 7AM for breakfast as expected. We will most certainly bring this to the attention of the restaurant as having breakfast available to our guest at 7AM is extremely important as it is a vital part of our guest day. I certainly hope that this has not deterred... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

771 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (358)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (79)
Viewed
Room/suite (87)
Viewed
Bathroom (45)
Viewed
View from room (20)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (33)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Other (80)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (398)
Viewed
Amenities (10)
Viewed
City View Room (33)
Viewed
Courtyard View Room (38)
Viewed
Oceanfront View Room (37)
Viewed
Oceanfront View Room in Edison Tower (44)
Viewed
Partial Ocean View Room (44)
Viewed
Penthouse (33)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (42)
Viewed
The Hotel (61)
Viewed
The VIP Penthouse (56)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#52 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 773 reviews
0.1 mi away
Congress Hotel South Beach
Congress Hotel South Beach
#100 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,206 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Victor
Hotel Victor
#85 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Beacon Hotel
Beacon Hotel
#46 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,936 reviews
0.1 mi away
Essex House
Essex House
#41 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,446 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#21 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay