We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Breakwater South Beach

940 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
Write a Review

1,008 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    300
    137
    58
    118
See reviews for
110
439
55
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1008)
  • Mar-May only
    (311)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (256)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (212)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (229)
All months
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

It's really loud wouldn't reccomend as a tranquil relaxing hotel but it is on the Miami beach strip. Great location. Mice well equipped rooms, sweet breakfast included. Good pool. Really friendly staff

Was this review helpful? Yes
csantana116, General Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review

Dear bronnydoes, Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Breakwater South Beach. I'm sorry that the entertainment wasn't to your liking. We do offer some rooms with less entertainment based on the hotel's availability. Overall we are happy that you enjoyed the staff, room accommodations, pool and breakfast. The staff loves hearing that our guest felt that they... More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Not sure what to write about this hotel, it wasn't the worst hotel i have ever stayed in but definitely not the best. We arrived at 8pm which was not ideal because it was a Saturday night and OMG the area was pumping and getting any sleep that night would have been hard which is what we wanted to do... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
csantana116, General Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review

Dear ajw_0483, Thank you for sharing your recent stay at the Breakwater South Beach. We apologize that at the time of check-in after a long flight that the level of entertainment wasn't very inviting. We're not certain of the logistics on the day you requested your room to be serviced but rest assure we will speak with our team leaders... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

My friends and I had a great stay at the Breakwater. The staff could not be any nicer. Especially Natalie at the check in desk. She always made sure we had everything we needed. The up grade to the PH suite was a nice treat. The rooms were clean. The pool was great. And the outside lounges by the PH... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
csantana116, General Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review

Dear Patty B, Thank you for sharing your recent stay at the Breakwater South Beach. We're delighted to know that you found your room accommodations satisfactory. I'm sure when we share your feedback with the team, especially Natalie, that everyone will be that much more motivated to continue providing the level of service that all our guest expect when visiting... More 

Corpus Christi, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Fun hotel located in the heart of South Beach! What makes this hotel truly amazing is the staff, specifically Natalie at the front desk and Juan Vargas (customer experience manager). First, Juan knows every great dining establishment in the area and is spot on with his recommendations. I truly suggest you ask him where to go; you will not be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
csantana116, General Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review

Dear Lost_in_Paradise361, Let me start off by personally thanking you for sharing your recent stay at the Breakwater South Beach because without our guest, none of us would be here. We're happy to know that you found your accommodations satisfactory as well as the level service provided by Juan and Natalie. It isn't often that we are given the opportunity... More 

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This boutique hotel is adequate for short stays in South Beach. The beautiful Miami beach is a short walk across the street from the hotel. It tends to be noisy throughout most of the night as the clubs (attached to the hotel and next door) are in competition to see who can blast music the loudest and longest. This was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
csantana116, General Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review

Dear Bayviewladie, Thank you for sharing your recent stay at the Breakwater South Beach. We apologize that the entrance to the hotel did not offer to be easily accessible to enter with luggage due to the steps as we try to maintain the Historic Art-Deco feel of Miami Beach. We're happy to know that the team, especially our Front Desk... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

To start off, Natalie at the front desk was Wonderful. Ask her for anything, she will make it happen. Natalie made our entire stay Incredible. Our room was clean. The shower and soft water were great. Breakfast was Very Good. The restaurant sits right on the boardwalk and is a great place to people watch. We only had breakfast there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
csantana116, General Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review

Dear Collette R, The entire staff is so happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at the Breakwater South Beach, especially Natalie. Natalie, along with the entire staff, come to work everyday in efforts to WOW our guest. We will be sure to pass along your feedback to both our housekeeping department and restaurant as it is important because... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Found hotel breakwater to be a blast. If u want quiet. Do not go here. If u want to feel the heat and flavor of south beach. Make this your destination. We found the staff to be incredibly accommodating. Making us feel very comfortable. The fact that breakfast,and bikes were free, was great for us too. Can not wait to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
csantana116, General Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review

Dear Steven A, Thank you for sharing your recent stay at the Breakwater South Beach. We indeed are in the heart of all the fun and entertainment that Miami Beach has to offer. It is important to us that our guest take advantage off the complimentary breakfast, bicycles and many other amenities we offer. The staff is extremely happy to... More 

Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is an excellent hotel next to various bars and clubs (request quite side if you want to sleep). It is also directly across the street from the beach. The staff is great especially Natalie, Juan, and Pablo. The staff will take good care of you and remember who you are, which makes the overall experience better.

Was this review helpful? Yes
csantana116, General Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review

Dear matt f, The entire staff is excited to learn how much you enjoyed your recent stay at the Breakwater South Beach, especially Natalie, Juan and Pablo. Providing exceptional service to all our guest is one of our many top priorities here and is basically our culture. I'm sure that future guest will take your suggestion for a room on... More 

Mundelein, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Could not get in a decent night's sleep during a three night stay due to the noise from the outdoor bar. The hotel itself is operated as an afterthought to the bar and restaurant. Just to get to rooms on the first floor, you had to pass the lineup of bar patrons waiting to use the public restroom in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
csantana116, General Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review

Dear kmunited, Thank you for sharing your recent stay at the Breakwater South Beach. We apologize that you were unable to rest during your recent visit from the entertainment located in Ocean's Ten. We are working to installing sound reduction windows throughout the property specifically for this reason. I'm sorry to hear that you feel that the hotel should be... More 

Meridian, Idaho
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Do not stay here unless you intend to stay out until 5:00 am. There is an outdoor club across the street at the Clevelander Hotel that pumps music and has a DJ. I can deal with a little noise, but it truly sounds like the party is in your room!! We ended up buying ear plugs for the second night... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
csantana116, General Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review

Dear Kelly K, Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Breakwater South Beach. I'm sorry that the entertainment from the Cleveland across the street prevented you from sleeping and getting the rest you were looking for. I hope that you will give us another opportunity should you return to Miami Beach in the near future to provide you... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

714 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (301)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (72)
Viewed
Room/suite (76)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (41)
Viewed
View from room (17)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (52)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (398)
Viewed
Amenities (10)
Viewed
City View Room (33)
Viewed
Courtyard View Room (38)
Viewed
Oceanfront View Room (37)
Viewed
Oceanfront View Room in Edison Tower (44)
Viewed
Partial Ocean View Room (44)
Viewed
Penthouse (33)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (42)
Viewed
The Hotel (61)
Viewed
The VIP Penthouse (56)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question