We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach

3.5 of 5 940 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach
Write a Review

879 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    253
    118
    53
    100
See reviews for
97
370
51
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (879)
  • Mar-May only
    (240)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (256)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (212)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (171)
All months
Mobile, Alabama
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My friend and I stayed here for 3 nights in December. We arrived early and were greeted by a gentleman who was more than happy to take our luggage until our room was ready. Everyone on the staff was very pleasant and helpful. They gave us recommendations on bars, food, etc. We stayed on the 3rd floor in the north... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chauncey C, General Manager at Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review

It was great having you visiting with us! The Team and I appreciate your observations which focus our efforts to always provide a fun guest experience. We look forward to having you here with us again very soon! Best regards, Chauncey More 

Keerbergen, Belgium
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
39 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

First the good. The hotel looks great (art deco), room 214 is spacious and has a large bathroom, the bikes you can use are really good ! That is where the good stops and the bad starts. We knew that staying in a hotel on Ocean Drive (location !) could result in a lot of noise. That's why we asked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chauncey C, General Manager at Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review

It was wonderful having you here visiting with us. I am disappointed you were inconvenienced during your visit. Our location here in the heart of South Beach's Ocean Drive with all the non-stop activity and entertainment can be noisy. We are in the midst of modifying our windows within the historical Art Deco guidelines to help minimize the noise for... More 

Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed here for the busy Columbus Day weekend and was very impressed. The hotel is right on the main strip, ocean drive so you can easily access the best of miami nightlife. The rooms are beautiful, with my room being adjacent to the pool, I literally looked out my window into the pool area. The room also is beautifully decorated... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chauncey C, General Manager at Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments. The Team and I loved having you here visiting with us! We look forward to your next visit to Ocean Drive with us! Best regards, Chauncey More 

2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Before I begin - I would like to be clear - I did not see this hotel beyond the front lobby area - so this review is only partial.... I booked to stay at the Breakwater for 1 week. The hotel looked great on the website, it seemed good value, the reviews were varied, and it offered a free breakfast.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chauncey C, General Manager at Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I am disappointed you did not enjoy your first impression of our active, non-stop hotel here in the heart of South Beach's Ocean Drive. If you were looking for a quiet getaway, then it is understandable why this hotel may not have suited you. Had you gone to our rooms or experienced our service, perhaps... More 

Brescia, Italy
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The only ting that can be considered positive is the position on Ocean Drive. The first annoying thing is that You have to pay, as You arrive at the reception, the full stay plus a deposit, but the services are really not at the standard that for such a price must be. They oblige You to pay $ 22.00 plus... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chauncey C, General Manager at Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I am disappointed you did not enjoy your visit with us. We loved having you here. It is clear from your comments you were very inconvenienced during your visit. Your observations are valuable to us to focus our efforts to always improve our guests experiences. As to the $22 service fee, we do go to... More 

Milan, Italy
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Ocean Drive and Miami Beach! We had a great time, I would only suggest to improve the breakfast. Location and personnel really good. Free bike rental and wifi. For whom love nightlife but also appreciate walking in front of the Ocean. During Art Basel week Scope and Untitled are in front of it! Thanks

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chauncey C, General Manager at Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments! It was wonderful having you here visiting with us! The Team and I look forward to having you here with us again soon! Best regards, Chauncey More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I want to express how great the service was here. There was a manager named Natalie that was simply amazing. She gave us directions to shopping mall and she printed them out just in case we couldn't remember. When something was wrong with the room she called someone right away and had them come take a look at it. If... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chauncey C, General Manager at Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments! We loved having you visiting with us! Natalie, the Team and I look forward to having you here with us again very soon! Best regards, Chauncey More 

Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My fiancé and I stayed at the Esplendor Breakwater for one night to hang out on South Beach. The location was perfection. The valet was very nice and easy to use, we just pulled up to the front of the hotel. $20 a night was pretty standard for South Beach. Our room was cute. Modern Art Deco design, really nice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Chauncey C, General Manager at Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. It was wonderful having you here visiting with us! Your observations about the breakfast and other items are extremely valuable to us to focus our efforts to always provide an ever better guest experience. The Team and I look forward to having you here with us again soon! Best regards, Chauncey More 

momajtm
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I wanted to experience south beach so we booked 2 nights at Breakwater. We asked for and got a mostly quiet room. Thanks for the tip from other reviews. The room was small but fine. It was mostly quiet. If you are on the beach it's tough to avoid the beat of outside. The staff were pleasant and helpful. Parking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chauncey C, General Manager at Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We loved having you here with us! I am disappointed to learn of your inconveniences regarding the breakfast and the surrounding noise. Being here in the heart of South Beach it is a non-stop active environment that can be noisy. We are in the process of modifying our windows within Art Deco guidelines to help... More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel has many issues. Noise-I appreciate its on Ocean Drive but music played loudly until 4am every night is not my idea of the 'quiet room' we requested! Our room was at the rear thankfully, goodness knows how noisy it was overlooking the front. We had to keep our curtains closed throughout our stay as we were directly overlooked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chauncey C, General Manager at Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I am very disappointed to learn of your inconveniences while visiting with us! Our location here in the heart of South Beach's Ocean drive is non-stop and active with entertainment and a lot of action and can be noisy. As to your other observations I don't recognize the hotel you encountered! I apologize that this... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach

Address: 940 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#58 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#63 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach

663 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (251)
Viewed
Room/suite (68)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (49)
Viewed
View from room (16)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (28)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (33)
Viewed
Other (46)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (398)
Viewed
Amenities (10)
Viewed
City View Room (33)
Viewed
Courtyard View Room (38)
Viewed
Oceanfront View Room (37)
Viewed
Oceanfront View Room in Edison Tower (44)
Viewed
Partial Ocean View Room (44)
Viewed
Penthouse (33)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (42)
Viewed
The Hotel (61)
Viewed
The VIP Penthouse (56)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay