We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 200 Miami Beach hotels

Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach

3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   940 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% off room rate
Save Saved
You added Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach to your Saves list
Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
68%
Ranked #73 of 200 Hotels in Miami Beach
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Jeremiah W Louisville, Kentucky
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    232
    112
    50
    97
See reviews for
92
334
47
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at the hotel for a night over Labor Day Weekend and thought the hotel was great. The staff (Mario, Natalie and GM Chauncey) were very polite and accommodating from check-in to check-out. The location is fantastic, the service is first-rate and the overall hotel experience is perfect for a night on South Beach. Would certainly stay there again... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Chauncey C, General Manager at Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We loved having you here visiting with us! Natalie, Mario, The Team and I look forward to having you here with us again soon! Best regards, Chauncey More

Lima, Montana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our trip was wonderful, It regresasr to Miami and staying here was the best, our stay was wonderful, will not hesitate to return, the attention was very good, rooms and service. I also has a great location close to everything, especially to the beach. back for another honeymoon.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chauncey C, General Manager at Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. The Team and I loved having you here with us! We are very happy you had a fun visit with us at our active, entertaining, non-stop hotel in the middle of Ocean Drive. We look forward to having you here with us again soon! Best regards, Chauncey More

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

After looking at loads of reviews and hotels in the south beach area I decided to book through Hotwire as I could not decide where to book. This hotel was excellent, it's centrally located on ocean drive and has a great atmosphere. The staff are really friendly and the room are modern and clean. Free breakfast included and use of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chauncey C, General Manager at Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review

The Team and I loved having you visit with us! Good choice through Hotwire! Thank you for your comments. We look forward to having you here with us again at our entertaining, non-stop hotel. Next time, you can park your vehicle with our valet parking right out front of the hotel to save you feeding the parking meters and walking... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Good location it's literally in the middle of everything. Customer Service was good. Don't believe the negative reviews about the hotel being dirty the hotel was very clean. The only negative experience I had was being charged for a "complimentary" champagne bottle from my travelzoo package when booking the hotel. Which was resolved an taken off at checkout.And I wouldn't... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chauncey C, General Manager at Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review

We loved having you here visiting with us! Thank you for your comments about our active, entertaining, non-stop hotel. The Team and I look forward to having you here with us again soon! Best regards, Chauncey More

Perth, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I loved this hotel. The price and location were unbelievable with a hot breakfast included. The only downside was that our rooms faced the Cleavlander hotel which has extremely loud music until 4am. I have 2 small children and we got through it no problem at all. We stayed in the adjoining hotel (I think it was originally the Edison???... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chauncey C, General Manager at Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review

The Team and I are so happy you enjoyed your visit with us! We loved having you and the kids here in our busy non-stop hotel. We look forward to having you visit with us again soon! Best regards, Chauncey More

Dallas, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I normally don't write these but the service was so good, i had to. The manager Natalie was great!!!!👍We got to the hotel and she was very nice and welcoming. Treated us like vip. I told her my room was beachfront, and she let us actually go inside 3 different rooms and try them out until we found the perfect... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Chauncey C, General Manager at Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. Natalie, Pablo, Mario Stanley and the Team loved having you visit with us! The Team and I look forward to having you here with us again soon! Best regards, Chauncey More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

From the time I walked in the door I was greeted with pure hospitality. The bell men do not let you carry your bags at all and treat you to plenty of complimentary services. There were bikes at your convenience, fruit, bars, dance floor, and great restaurant all at your fingertips at this location. I didn't have any complaints and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chauncey C, General Manager at Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We loved having you here visiting with us! Pablo, the Team and I look forward to having you here with us again soon! Best regards, Chauncey More

Vienna, Austria
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Back to the Breakwater that is under new management. No contract with (bad) Boucher Brothers beach rentals any more but still $20/night resort free that includes slow or non-working wifi and free breakfast in the porch restaurant that was fancier under the former management. Room could have been tydier and better serviced, but that was still a very good offer... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chauncey C, General Manager at Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We loved having you back here with us! Your observations are very valuable to us to focus our efforts to always make our guests more comfortable. The Team and I look forward to having you visit with us again soon! Best regards, Chauncey More

2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have never been to such hotel before the stay at Esplendor (!) Breakwater South Beach. Dirt, dirt and once again dirt. Please see the pictures to see the level of the DIRT. I think the hotel should be have the hotel license removed and am planning to notify respective authorities. I was afraid to eat, to drink and even... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Chauncey C, General Manager at Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I am truly disappointed with you impression and experience! Your observations are extremely important to us to focus our efforts on consistently providing our guests with a wonderful visit. We loved having you here. We have taken step to improve our visible restaurant storage area visible from the pool stairs you mentioned and photographed. As... More

Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Walking down south beach and decided to stop by to get some dinner got chicken carbonarra it was 17 plus 5 bucks for chicken very filling couldn't finish it. Wait staff is nice . Live music with a dancer. Great view of ocean drive lots of people walking by and can watch the cars go down the strip. Nicely lit... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chauncey C, General Manager at Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We look forward to having you stop by with us again soon! Best regards, Chauncey More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach

Address: 940 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tablet Hotels, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

655 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (243)
Viewed
Room/suite (67)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (47)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (27)
Viewed
View from room (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (33)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (46)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (398)
Viewed
Amenities (10)
Viewed
City View Room (33)
Viewed
Courtyard View Room (38)
Viewed
Oceanfront View Room (37)
Viewed
Oceanfront View Room in Edison Tower (44)
Viewed
Partial Ocean View Room (44)
Viewed
Penthouse (33)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (42)
Viewed
The Hotel (61)
Viewed
The VIP Penthouse (56)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Miami Beach with
any amenities