We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

San Juan Hotel

Hotel website
1680 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
San Juan Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
San Juan Hotel
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    162
    146
    60
    77
See reviews for
96
133
26
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (497)
  • Mar-May only
    (143)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (111)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (103)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (140)
All months
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed from 15th march till the 20th-as allways the staff are really friendly and helpful-even though renovations are ongoing the noise was kept to a minimum Even the kids on spring break were enjoying themselves and not noisy as anticipated The new rooms are clean and spacious and once all completed will be one of the best value hotels in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I would recommend this hotel if you're looking for an affordable option near the beach. They were still in the middle of renovations while we were there. The room and bathroom were small and not great quality but worked for us. The sink in our bathroom leaked like crazy and the walls were very thin. Despite all of these issues,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SanJuanHotel, General Manager at San Juan Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for sharing your feedback. We are sorry you caught us in the middle of our renovations but our rooms, corridors, lobby and porch are now 100% complete. Our pool, garden and bar should be ready by the summer of this year. We certainly hope you give us another chance on your next visit to South Beach so that we... More 

Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I will start with the positives. 1. the location. It is on Collins Avenue and is convenient to everything. The liquor store right next door is convenient and there are several bars and restaurants within walking distance. 2. The bathrooms are newly renovated. Very small, but the shower and the sink are nice. 3. The beds are small but they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
SanJuanHotel, General Manager at San Juan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on this forum. First and foremost, we apologize for the service you received. From the sound of it, it was completely inexcusable. I have sent a private message to get a little more detail on this and to provide a more personal apology. Since your stay we have taken measures... More 

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Last Monday on 3/9/15 me and my God sis flew out to South Beach for my 24th birthday and we stayed at the beautiful San Juan Hotel on Collins Ave. I must say that when i was looking for a hotel down there i was surprise to find such a affordable one that was located smack dab in the middle... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SanJuanHotel, General Manager at San Juan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your wonderful feedback here. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and can't wait to show you an even better experience on your next visit to South Beach! We look forward to hosting you again soon!! More 

Portland, Maine
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here one night in February while spending the night in Miami Beach. I've noted that when you post a negative review for this hotel they strike back but it's a risk I am willing to take. Our room was dirty. The toilet was soiled. My husband had to clean the seat before I could use it. Disgusting. Really... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
SanJuanHotel, General Manager at San Juan Hotel, responded to this review

We just sent you a private message regarding this experience and hope you received it. On that note, I apologize for this series of unfortunate experiences and can assure you that this kind of service is highly unusual. We certainly hope to have the opportunity to make this experience up to you on your next visit to South Beach. Our... More 

New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just came back yesterday. Price is right and location is great. Be aware of what the hotels around are charging and you will feel better for having that extra cash in your pockets. Room was clean and all newly refurbished. Bathroom clean. Have to ask for iron, could not find remote for TV but they brought one up right away.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
SanJuanHotel, General Manager at San Juan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your kind feedback. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. As for the beach chairs, towels and umbrellas don’t worry, we just restocked so there are plenty to go around– and unlike all the other hotels on South Beach, we don’t charge you a silly resort fee... More 

Ohio
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
19 hotel reviews
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here one night before leaving on a cruise. It is a fun area to spend the night before cruising out of Miami. We took the bus from the airport to the hotel for $2.65 per person. It drops you off right next to the hotel. The staff was very friendly. The hotel is being renovated but that was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
SanJuanHotel, General Manager at San Juan Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to leave your kind words about our hotel on this forum. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. While our location is great we have been working very hard to make our accommodations and amenities just as wonderful. We are glad you enjoyed your new room (and pillow-top mattresses) and can’t wait to... More 

Arlington, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here for one night on Feb 19, 2015. It is a small art deco boutique hotel in the heart of South Beach directly across from the Delano Hotel. The hotel has recently been remodeled and the rooms were fresh and clean. It is just a block from Lincoln Road and a very short walk to the beach. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SanJuanHotel, General Manager at San Juan Hotel, responded to this review

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at the SJH South Beach! We have put a lot of time and effort into making our accommodations as comfortable and warm as possible so it means a lot to hear that you appreciated them. As for the amenities, we are working on those as we speak! We hope to have our... More 

Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The General Manager and staff of this hotel are rude and inconsiderate beyond belief, the rooms are smelly and gross and the hotel is under loud and annoying construction at all times of the day. 1) This place is a total rip-off, the rooms are under construction and the staff are rude....every single thing that you ask for is an... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
SanJuanHotel, General Manager at San Juan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback online. I’m very sorry you did not enjoy your stay. Upon reading this review, we knew exactly who left it. Unfortunately, your reservation was made with an invalid/declined credit card so we could not honor it. We even called you two days before your arrival date so you could make... More 

Austin, Texas
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

My girlfriend and I decided to stay at San Juan Hotel due to it's amazing location and impressive pictures on their website. Unfortunately when we arrived there, it was quite the opposite. First of all, the room was not ready for lodging. In the hallways there were multiple wholes on the roofs and in our room, there was a big... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

117 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (109)
Viewed
Bathroom (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (27)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question