We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Penguin Hotel

1418 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Penguin Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Penguin Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

738 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    183
    223
    147
    68
    117
See reviews for
57
292
67
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (738)
  • Mar-May only
    (209)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (161)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (187)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (181)
All months
There are newer reviews for Penguin Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2009

The rooms here are very modern, clean, and decorated in a very cute fashion. Our room had a big mural wall and a wall that was a mirror. The bathrooms were also very modern and clean. However, the rooms here are small. We got a great deal on this hotel, so no complaints from us!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
mgr1423, Front Desk Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your comments and it makes us very happy you found our rooms modern, clean and decorated. We hope we can welcome you back again in a more spacious room. Once again Thanks for the feedback! More 

2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2009

we were staying at the Penguin Hotel in Ocean Drive, between 14 and 15 street...... Our experience was NOT FANTASTIC....... we got friday morning.....and we were greeted by a very nice young female, who was very friendly and polite... we actually got at the hotel early so not early check in allow as check in time was 3 pm.......we make... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
mgr1423, Front Desk Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent Penguin Hotel Stay and for sharing your review. I am sorry that you were not satisfied with the way our hotel staff handeled your situation. However I went to speak to you in the morning and offered three kind of compensations refused by you. At the end of our conversation you mentioned that it was... More 

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Germany
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2009

I must admit the price was right ( USD 72,-) but the entire hotel is quite bad. Run down reception, incapable front desk staff, squeaky beds with poor matresses, a wall mount a/c that is extremely noisy with the sound of dripping water, walls so thin that you can hear every word and sound of your neighbors. Nice website but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
mgr1423, Front Desk Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review

I am really sorry that your stay did not go well. We appreciate all the feedback. However our rooms are very nice and have very unique items inside. This helps us re-evaluate ourselves and work harder everyday to satisfy our guest needs. More 

toledo, oh
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2009

I got a rate of about $73 a night (for seven nights) on an Internet travel site. No serious complaints about the room. A bit small, but decorators compensated with lots of white, stainless steel, and mirrored wall. Big problem: the lobby, front porch, and sidewalk in front of the hotel have been rented to a restaurant. There is nowhere... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
mgr1423, Front Desk Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review

We apologize if had to walk away to have breakfast. Our restaurant has been there for years and it is actually famous because of having the best breakfast around the area. Prices are affordable according to the quality of the food. Next time we would love for you to feel like at home and sit anywhere around while waiting for... More 

Liverpool, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2009

After a horrible flight and a long wait in the airport for my damn bag to turn up, I was ready to cause hell if I had any hotel problems. Got there around midnight and was booked into the Penguin (no switching to the President hotel as mentioned on this site.) Now I cant comment on the other rooms but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Luzern
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2009

We absolutely loved the Hotel Penguin. The Location is great. Your are in the middle of ocean road and the beach is just over the street. The staff is really nice and very helpful. We really liked the rooms with it's flower prints and with the big mirrors. The Front Porch Restaurant which is in the same building as the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2009

We booked 3 nights and we decided to stay an extra one (3rd floor corner room). The bad: The room is small and you have to get used to the mold smell due to air cond always on, the bathroom is tiny. The good: Very clean and tiled, very welcoming view of the park/beach and ocean drive, a lot of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Union
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2009

My boyfriend and I checked in this weekend for his birthday (10/10/09). Not even in the room for 2 minutes and we noticed mold on the ceiling under the a/c unit. We went to the front desk and asked to switch rooms. The lady said no and to check back tomorrow. We asked the next day and they still said... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hollywood california
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2009

i must say the room i stayed in was just super! Really hip decor and an amazing terrace It was just so pleasant in the room i didn't want to leave. Thanks so much for the good natured staff quiet pleasant and helpful. All in all a great place to stay. Bravo!!! il

Was this review helpful? Yes
presidentfd, Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment, come and see us again soon!!!!! More 

Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2009

I have stayed in this hotel years ago and have to say that the renovation has really made a difference. The hotel has the best Breakfast in Miami Beach! The service and value of this restaurant is great. The hotel is in the heart of South Beach but just far enough away not to hear the pounding music.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

670 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (252)
Viewed
Room/suite (71)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (44)
Viewed
View from room (14)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (12)
Viewed
Other (81)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (351)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (1)
Viewed
Standard Room (27)
Viewed
The Hotel (323)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (67)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (25)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay