We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cavalier South Beach

1320 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cavalier South Beach
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Cavalier South Beach
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    43
    52
    47
    103
See reviews for
25
70
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (276)
  • Mar-May only
    (70)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (75)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (57)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (74)
All months
Dundee, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Who goes to South Beach to sit in their hotel? The hotel is very dated and does need some improvement in both decor and service but if you want a great base for exploring South Beach on a budget then this is your place! Stayed for 2 nights and the staff were helpful and we had no problems during our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2015

Stayed there on a quick trip with some friends. Room was small, bathroom was small and thin walls all around that you can hear ants walk around. I guess if you just wanted a place to lay your head (hope the sheets were clean...had no black light) then you "could" stay here, but I would advise to stay elsewhere.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Claudia V, General Manager at Cavalier South Beach, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for taking the time to write a review. We apologize on your stay here with us. Our hotel is a 2 star historical property on Ocean Drive and we have maintained it the best way possible. We have recently closed the hotel for a full renovation and therefore we hope that you can come back to... More 

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2014 via mobile

First off we arrive at 4pm, plenty of time for our room to be ready and we are told we have to wait right here a minute. So we wait an hour, someone at the hotel was nice enough to buy us a couple rounds of drinks while we waited. Come to find out the hotel was being shut down... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Claudia V, General Manager at Cavalier South Beach, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for taking the time to write a review. We deeply apologize for this as this happened during the middle of the day on a very busy weekend. It was unexpected and therefore we had to close. At that point we wanted to make sure there was a room that we can accommodate you in and we... More 

Griante
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014

The hotel is rebuilding everithing with people and workers in the same time. Like crazy. It Is completely destroyed right now caos and noise as well. Panic hotel. Service for breakfast the worst ever one hour and a half two pancakes. Escape from here

Was this review helpful? Yes
Claudia V, General Manager at Cavalier South Beach, responded to this review

We appreciate you in taking the time to write a review on your stay here. We deeply apologize for this mishap and its unfortunate that you had a bad experience here. During those times it was a bit chaotic and therefore we ended up closing the hotel completely. We are in the middle of undergoing a full renovation and the... More 

Uruguay
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014

This place is great! Love the staff, clean rooms , good price, and awesome restaurant!! For what we paid for I highly recommend and would definitely come back! Thank you Cavalier staff for making our visit to South Beach great!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014

The only reason this place gets two stars is because of the location at south beach. When you walk up the stairs you get what we've named "The Polarbear Experience": the hallway is colder than a snowy wintersday on Antarctica. We actually encountered some penguins looking for shelter. The level of maintenance is terrible. Walls have little pieces of actual... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2014

I stayed here just for a night after my cruise to the Bahamas. I was to fly to LA from here and thus wanted to enjoy the beach side before I bid Good Bye to Miami. The staff was very very friendly and helpful. The rooms were not that great and in fact below average in terms of upkeep and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Claudia V, General Manager at Cavalier South Beach, responded to this review

Hello and Thank You for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your feedback and always looking into ways to improve and to make the best overall guest experience. We are in the process of renovations and we are updating all the rooms as well as the lobby. I hope next time you come back to Miami Beach... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014 via mobile

Living in Miami, work can get complicated and I wanted to get away from the city life for the weekend so me and my husband chose the cavalier hotel. The price was unbeatable and the location was awesome.I was a little worried when I chose this place because of all the mixed reviews but we are so glad we did.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Claudia V, General Manager at Cavalier South Beach, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate the kind words and positive feedback on your stay here with us. We have the best staff and we offer the best service. I am glad you enjoyed your stay here and we hope you come and stay with us again. More 

Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

miami weekend and decided on this hotel dirty rooms the front desk manager juan bad attitude to solve all the problems that exist in this hotel and the solution was giving us a free drink wth.... the restaurant food expensive and poor quality Sunday morning service of the waitress was the worst she was always on the phone bad attitude... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Claudia V, General Manager at Cavalier South Beach, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for taking the time in writing a review on your stay here with us. I deeply apologize for the service that you encountered here at the hotel and restaurant. The service you mentioned in this review is not the standards that we work on and I am not sure how and why this has happened. We... More 

Aarau, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Very unfriendly service, bad waiter, we had to wait too long, they wrote different prices than they told before. We got plastic cups served, even they offered us the nice glasses and everything. I can really NOT recommend thus place. If the world would go down and there would be no place to eat or drink - I would better... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Claudia V, General Manager at Cavalier South Beach, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for taking the time to write a review. We apologize for the service that you received at the restaurant while here in Sobe. We strive to have excellent food and service in all of Sobe. We never give out plastic cups to our guests while they dine at Casa Maria. Not sure how this has happened... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

65 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (52)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay