We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami

4.0 of 5 2889 McFarlane Road, Miami, FL 33133
Hotel website
Hotel packages
Special Offer
Free breakfast & parking!
#28 of 129 Hotels in Miami
901 Reviews 4 of 5 stars
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
Write a Review

901 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    466
    270
    97
    36
    32
See reviews for
177
333
45
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My company has frequently booked the Sonesta in Coconut Grove for conferences and trainings, and I have to tell you-they have surpassed expectations each and every time. The rooms are great. The conference areas are comfortable, accommodating and the food is amazing! My compliments to both Omar & Frank, these guys go above and beyond. The level of service they... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lincoln, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My husband and I stayed here for one night waiting to leave the next day on our Honeymoon. The motel staff were very friendly and the motel was nice and clean we wanted a room with a balcony over looking the bay there were no rooms available do to construction the roof top pool and hot tub were also closed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review

AngieS Thank you for sharing your comments about our hotel. We are pleased you found our staff friendly and the hotel cleanliness up to your expectations. We hope we will have another opportunity in the future to serve you. Margaret Rose Director of Operations More

Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Front Desk Office Manager Mari Carmen Maya and Isabel Guerra were kindly and helpful. We liked their services and goodwill to help. The bell boy Gustavo was very helpful and nice too. The hotel is very clean and organized. The restaurant has very good and elaborated food.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review

Brunnzluz Thank you for posting your feedback about your experience at our hotel. We are pleased you had such a wonderful stay and we will be sure to share your comments with our staff. We look forward to your next visit. Margaret Rose Director of Operations More

New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I really wanted to like the Sonesta more, it has a lot of nice features, but it could be better. The 8th floor pool which is featured prominently in all of their marketing materials has been closed the last two weeks for repair. As a substitute, they do allow guests to swim in the pool in the neighboring hotel, the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review

Jesse the Traveller Thank you for sharing your comments about your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and are pleased that your overall experience was positive. We hope you will return again in the future and give us another opportunity to make you feel right at home. Margaret Rose Director of Operations More

Tulsa, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I would avoid this "hotel" if possible. The positive sides: it's in a decent location, in the coconut grove area. The negatives --> I didn't have a positive experience here: (1) the hotel room was very small (the king size bed took up most of the room); (2) the "hotel" seemed more like a condo, as the rooms were sorta... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review

Mfree1001 On behalf of the hotel please accept my apologies that our hotel was not up to your expectations. We offer several different room types and rates vary based on the room type selected. We do offer rate packages that include breakfast and parking as an option for guest to select at the time of booking. Unfortunately if the reservation... More

Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We did an overnight stay at the Sonesta Coconut Grove hotel as we were picking a cruise ship up the following day. The hotel is situated just around the corner from the marina and the Coco Walk shopping centre which are both worth a look. We stayed in room 1605-1 which is a balcony room on the side of the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review

Azertyuiop_9 Thank you for sharing your feedback about your trip to Coconut Grove. We are pleased that you enjoyed our neighborhood and found many things to do. We offer several different room types and encourage our guest to check out our website when selecting their room to see the various options available. We look forward to your return. Margaret Rose... More

Key West, Florida
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
10 hotel reviews
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stopped here expecting a great room only to discover a poor room. Our room was small and poorly appointed. Perhaps the room was boring because we used Expedia? Not sure but we would not stay here again. The location is great with wonderful options for shopping and meals.

Was this review helpful? Yes
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review

Michaelkasperski Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay at our hotel. We offer several different room types at several different rates which gives guest an opportunity to select the room that best meets their needs and their budget. Our website has photos available of each type we offer. We hope you will consider returning and trying one of... More

STENE
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
46 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was our fourth stay at the Sonesta Coconut Grove. This time we stayed at a suite on the 18th floor. It featured an incredible warp-around balcony on which we could put a dining room table. So we ended up having dinners with friends on our balcony. The suites also have a kitchenette so you don't have to go out... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review

peterp-Belgium Thank you for sharing your comments about your recent stay. We are pleased that you enjoyed the views from your room and the added features of having a kitchen available. We apologize for the inconvenience of our pool closure. We have made arrangements for our guest to use a pool next door and have our Grove View Terrace sun... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Let me start off with the smell- it smells like paradise every-time you walk through those doors! I work For the hotel industry and this place does everything right . The staff is kind and very helpful, the rooms are flawless and offer a coffee maker, robs and slippers for your stay. The area itself is a little outside Miami... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review

lenadiv18 We are very pleased that you had an amazing experience at our hotel and we appreciate your sharing your comments. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon. Margaret Rose Director of Operations More

Saint Augustine, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We live in saint Augustine and have to travel to Miami regularly for business. We have stayed here at least 4 times and absolutely love this place. The staff is very accommodating, professional and polite. Our most recent visit on Aug 13-15 2014, was very pleasant and relaxing. My husband thought he had booked the usual deluxe room with a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review

BethD Thank you for posting your comments about your experience at our hotel. We are pleased that we were able to find the right accommodation for you and your husband and that you were able to enjoy our amazing views. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to your next visit. Margaret Rose Director of Operations More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami

Address: 2889 McFarlane Road, Miami, FL 33133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Bayfront Miami
Sonesta Miami
Miami Sonesta
Sonesta Coconut Grove

361 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (228)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (44)
Viewed
Room/suite (55)
Viewed
View from room (34)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (29)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
1:58
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (54)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (104)
Viewed
Amenities (18)
Viewed
Deluxe City View Room (33)
Viewed
One Bedroom Biscayne Suite Bay view (4)
Viewed
One Bedroom Biscayne Suite city view (3)
Viewed
Pool On 8th Floor (14)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (4)
Viewed
The Hotel (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (30)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Miami with
any amenities