We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Rushyford hotels

Bay Eden Arms Hotel

Save Saved
You added Bay Eden Arms Hotel to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rushyford, Rushyford DL17 0LL, England
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
£10 A NIGHT DEALS!
Bay Eden Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rushyford
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rushyford
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    69
    68
    19
    8
See reviews for
25
118
16
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stevenage
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

we stayed at the eden arms 1st sept till 8th sept 2014 we booked a premier room this was just not plush enough it was very plain it has got two rooms and a bathroom and must say that the bathroom was very nice. the bedroom was small, it had a kingsize four poster bed, the mattress had a padding... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We spent 3 nights here and were very happy. The hotel is old and full of character. Our room was larger than we expected and very comfortable. The bath was rusty around the plug hole but that was my only complaint. We found the staff incredibly friendly, chatty and helpful. Being on a gluten free, non- meat eating diet I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
gm_dur, General Manager at Bay Eden Arms Hotel, responded to this review

How fantastic it is to be passing on another great review to my staff, they certainly all deserve the praise they are getting. Thank you for your generous comments, its great the kitchen team pushed the boat out for your dietary requirements. We aim to ensure you have a comfortable stay and your meals are a huge part of that.... More

Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Honestly have to say the worst hotel i've ever stayed in. booked through an agent who booked us a family room for 2 nights at £220. Get a phone call to tell us the agents have it wrong and that they will give us two co-joing rooms but will keep price the same. Travelled up to Darlington from Brighton and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
gm_dur, General Manager at Bay Eden Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your letter and I’d like to take the time if I may to address the points that you raised. I’m disappointed that you found your food to be under par. This is unacceptable and had you mentioned this at the time I would have rectified the problem straight away. You’ll be pleased to know that a children’s... More

Travelers are raving about these Rushyford hotels

KENT ENGLAND
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My group recently stayed here in the first week of September, food good,entertainment good, leisure centre very good the only trouble was they did not have the rooms I ordered,Shearings fault. If you have any difficulty walking or climbing stairs this hotel is not for you. Even if you had ground floor rooms you still have to climb a few... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
gm_dur, General Manager at Bay Eden Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Your kind comments on our staff go a long way and the team will be delighted to read that you have singled them out for praise. You’ll also be pleased to know that we have an ongoing programme of building improvements. I’m sure that you’ll notice the difference should you... More

Folkestone, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked a 4 night holiday with Shearings to go to Durham and Beamish. We stayed at the Shearings Hotel - Eden Arms at Rushyford. This was quite an old hotel but reasonably comfortable. Our bedroom had everything we needed apart from shampoo, shower gel and other little pots that most hotels give so if you do stay there anytime... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
gm_dur, General Manager at Bay Eden Arms Hotel, responded to this review

It was great to read your comments on our hotel and in particular our Leisure club, perfect to wind down in after long days exploring the Durham area. With regards to our drinks You'll be pleased to know that we now offer expertly selected, high quality 'Wine of the Season' at a price I'm sure you'll find remarkably competitive. Shampoo... More

Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

stayed 3 nights on a shearing self drive weekend break .Hotel good,staff very helpful.Breakfast and evening meal very good with good variety and good service.Entertainment excellent on friday and saturday nights no entertainment sunday night but not too far to local pubs.The pool was good and there is small gym.Probably the only down side is the price charged for drinks... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
gm_dur, General Manager at Bay Eden Arms Hotel, responded to this review

It’s very pleasing to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and in particular your comments on our food. Our new menu is going down a storm with all our guests, both old and new and we’re looking forward to build on this, and strive to make your experiences more enjoyable each time you book. Drinks prices are on... More

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Tired hotel needing considerable refurbishment to the rooms. An old coaching inn, the main building has a very narrow access corridor to rooms. The shower, while in an adequate bathroom, was impossible to regulate for temperature, cold or scalding were the options. The bathroom door could not be closed without waking the other guests. Cooked food was dreadful, I know... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
gm_dur, General Manager at Bay Eden Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, It's great that you took the time to air your concerns as firstly, it gives us a chance to respond in kind, and secondly it gives us an opportunity to recognise any oversights. From reading other reviews it is clear that such concerns are a minority. Infact, we have recently received a bravo Award from... More

Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

just returned from 4 day break at Eden Arms, absolutely fantastic, five star service, staff wonderful who couldn't do enough for you, entertainment 1st class especially wett n wilde and bridie. Rooms spacious and clean food delicious, the pool was nice and warm and not crowded. we were thouroughly spoilt and relaxed after our stay here and my 8 year... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
gm_dur, General Manager at Bay Eden Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Wow! What a lovely review, especially with regards to your daughter, all the staff loved her. Five Star! Thats an excellent remark, thankyou for your kind comments. We aim to provide exceptional value and quality within our comfortable Hotel and Spa throughout the year. We are all so glad to hear that you found our team to be so diligent,... More

leeds
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

just arrived back from a really enjoyable weekend away with national holidays at this hotel.The rooms alocated were clean and comfortable maybe slightly in need of upgrading in bathrooms.We had a good choice of food which was well cooked ,nice dining room and waitress service was excellent as was all staff we spoke to.The entertainment on the friday night was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
gm_dur, General Manager at Bay Eden Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel. Our aim is to be consistent in the quality of our breaks, so it’s great to hear that you know your stay is always going to be comfortable and pleasant, whatever time of year you book. You’ll be glad to know that we have an ongoing programme... More

Scotland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Had a three night weekend break from 18th to 21st July and this hotel disappointed in several aspects. After we checked in the receptionist advised there was no entertainment on the Sunday night. This is our first Shearings break where entertainment was not provided every night. And as the hotel is isolated there is no nearby alternative venues - your... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
gm_dur, General Manager at Bay Eden Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for letter and I would like to take the time to offer you a response. I read your initial views on the quality of our dining arrangements with some regret. Although our restaurant meal service times are from 18:30 to 19:30, our bar serves a variety of alternatives from 12:00 to 22:00. These are chargeable services but we... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Bay Eden Arms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Bay Eden Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Eden Arms Hotel

Address: Rushyford, Rushyford DL17 0LL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Rushyford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Eden Arms Hotel 3*
Also Known As:
Eden Arms Durham
Eden Arms Hotel
Hotel Eden Arms

55 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (30)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (6)