We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Rushyford hotels

Bay Eden Arms Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rushyford, Rushyford DL17 0LL, England
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
£10 A NIGHT DEALS!
  • Reviews (217)
  • Photos (55)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (66)
  • Location
  • More
Bay Eden Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Rushyford
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rushyford
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

217 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    65
    66
    18
    6
See reviews for
22
112
15
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birkdale UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We booked a midweek break and arrived at 2pm and had to wait an hour for our room , fare enough I thought until we were checking out and the maids were waiting to get into our room at 9 pm. The staff were lovely but massively overstreached especially in the dining room. The food was ok. The location was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
cheshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

For the money this place is OK. Decent size room, very clean, bed comfy, bathroom good, good parking, staff very friendly and helpful. Food was poor on our first night, but got better and was acceptable without being outstanding. Has strange layout .. two bars but only one operates at a time and it's a long stroll to get a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

In contrast to some of the other reviews, this hotel is really only average at best. This hotel feels very tired and in need of some serious updating. The entertainment room looks just like a early 70's working mens club. The table service also leaves much tp be desired, although the food is reasonable. The hotel is located on a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
gm_dur, General Manager at Bay Eden Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou Grumpy500 for taking the time to write your review. We appreciate any feedback good or bad as it gives us the opportunity to put things right if we are going wrong. You'll be delighted to learn that we have an on going refurbishment programme which has transformed many areas of this 16th century coaching Inn, whilst still maintaining a... More

Hereford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Back from a three night Shearings break. Hotel found easily. Warm welcome from the receptionist. Our room was clean and spacious, rather cold until we switched the radiator on full. The food and service in the dining room was very good. The hotel public areas were warm; however it did feel a bit "steamy". This could possibly have been from... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
gm_dur, General Manager at Bay Eden Arms Hotel, responded to this review

It’s great to hear your feedback and thank you for your comments. We are keen to improve on our quality and value for money, and we aim to really put our hotel on the map, so you sharing your experience goes a long way to help us in achieving our aims. As always you can be assured that your comments... More

Scotland
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
36 hotel reviews
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Stayed here for a party weekend break. Plenty of car parking spaces out front. Reception staff were friendly and helpful. Room was nice enough and clean. Evening meals were in the spacious dining room and there was a good choice on the menu for each course. Roast beef was especially nice. Breakfast consisted of the usual cereals, yoghurts, juice, fruits... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
gm_dur, General Manager at Bay Eden Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments which I will personally pass on to all the staff whose hard work and commitment make the Eden Arms what it is today. We aim to provide exceptional value and quality within our comfortable Hotel and Spa throughout the year. I will also be passing on your comments to Dave Davis who will be... More

Halifax, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Dont go if you are in a wheelchair. The accessible toilet is up a flight of stairs. Not enough room in the bedroom to transfer from a wheelchair. Door button for automatic door is broken and they never fixed it. I was made to feel 2nd class by the way my needs were not met. I had to access the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
gm_dur, General Manager at Bay Eden Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to post your comments on Trip advisor, we always appreciate feedback, but we’re sad to read that you were unhappy with our facilities regarding disabled assess. I’d like to take the time if I may, to address some of your points. We do appreciate that the door was faulty though was never pointed out by... More

Wakefield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Just returned from a 5 day break with Shearings hotel was very nice, everything was clean, rooms were large, all the staff were very helpful and hard working, the dining room staff were run off their feet as there were only 2 on duty had to wait quite a long time between courses, but food was ok.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
gm_dur, General Manager at Bay Eden Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou for your review and we are so glad you've given us a top rating. I would like to reassure you that our our restaurant team has an excellent reputation of working hard with between 20 and 24 covers each, whilst still engaging guests with a smile on their face. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not... More

Livingston, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Sorry this review is late ,was going to let my grumble go but then I thought,if you don't know it's broken you can't fix it!. Stayed 28,29,30th of march.happy with everything about hotel ,staff etc.Only complaint,the entertainer on the Saturday night, not a bad singer,good Hank Marviin tribute but oh he was I'll mannered and arrogant.Several people in the lounge... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
gm_dur, General Manager at Bay Eden Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou for your comments. I really appreciate feedback good or bad so I can address and resolve any issues which may crop up. We pride ourselves on a full range of quality evening entertainment and i appologise if your entertainment that night was not up to our usual exacting standards. we hope that this hasn't dissuaded you from any future... More

leeds
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Just returned from an Easter break found the hotel pleasant and welcoming. Meals where good, room was good. Due to isolated position unless you have transport not a lot to do. Staff where good and welcoming. Traffic noise outside was ok, but not good if you are a light sleeper. The swimming pool gym are good, ask at reception when... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
gm_dur, General Manager at Bay Eden Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, its good to hear that you enjoyed your stay. You'll be pleased to be reassured that all our windows are double glazed to ensure any outside noise doesn't infringe on the relaxing mood of The Eden Arms Hotel. Furthermore if you chose to come by coach or train you'll be delighted to know that The... More

Bolton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Just returned from a 5 day Shearings holiday self drive stay we were given a very nice large room and found food to be good most nights. entertainment put on every night while there suppose due its isolated position a lot of the guests on a Shearings coach without their own transport. Nice clean swimming pool and fitness centre +... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
gm_dur, General Manager at Bay Eden Arms Hotel, responded to this review

It was great to read your comments on our hotel and in particular that you plan to re visit us in the future. You'll be pleased to know that we now offer expertly selected, high quality 'Wine of the Season' at a price I'm sure you'll find remarkably competitive. We all look forward to welcoming you back on your return.... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Bay Eden Arms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Bay Eden Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Eden Arms Hotel

Address: Rushyford, Rushyford DL17 0LL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Rushyford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Eden Arms Hotel 3*
Also Known As:
Eden Arms Durham
Eden Arms Hotel
Hotel Eden Arms

55 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (30)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Eden Arms Hotel is another one of our great character hotels. The building dates back to the 17th-century when it was a coaching inn. Many of our guests use the hotel as a base to explore the city of Durham and the picturesque countryside around. The location, just eight miles from the historic city centre, is the ideal place to relax and unwind for both leisure and business travellers alike. For those who are keen to explore further afield, the city of Newcastle with its regenerated riverfront and great shopping and hospitality is within easy driving distance. The Eden Arms offers comfortable accommodation and also boasts a leisure club featuring a gym, swimming pool, sauna, steam room and spa. It is also a popular venue for conferences and weddings. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
80

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer

    Bookmark for later
    Save Saved
    You added Bay Eden Arms Hotel to your Saves list