We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bay Eden Arms Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Rushyford DL17 0LL, England
Special Offer
BREAKS STARTING FROM £89
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bay Eden Arms Hotel
Why TripAdvisor?
  • Lowest prices from 200+ sites
  • 1.5 million hotels and accommodations
  • 225 million reviews and opinions
Save
You added Bay Eden Arms Hotel to your Saves list

At a glance

66%
Positive reviews?

HOTEL PHOTOS

Bay Eden Arms Hotel
Professional photos

BROWSE NEARBY

Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Check In Check Out
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}
    Add Photo Write a Review

    312 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

    Rate and write a review
    Roll over, then click to rate
      Click to rate
    Traveler rating
      95
      111
      75
      22
      9
    See reviews for
    34
    163
    20
    10
    Rating summary
    • Sleep Quality
      4 of 5 stars
    • Location
      3.5 of 5 stars
    • Rooms
      4 of 5 stars
    • Service
      4 of 5 stars
    • Value
      4 of 5 stars
    • Cleanliness
      4 of 5 stars
    Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
    Date | Rating
    • English first
    • Any
    English first
    • All months
      (312)
    • Mar-May only
      (87)
    • Jun-Aug only
      (67)
    • Sep-Nov only
      (72)
    • Dec-Feb only
      (86)
    All months
    London, United Kingdom
    Level Contributor
    9 reviews
    6 hotel reviews
    common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
    4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

    The room was spotless and the bathroom was one of the best I have stayed in. The spa area was a bonus . The hotel is near to Durham and Darlington with a bus stop nearby. The staff were very friendly and helpful

    Was this review helpful? Yes
    gm_dur, General Manager at Bay Eden Arms Hotel, responded to this review

    A Very Nice Review! It’s great to hear your feedback as the entire team endeavour to provide the best holiday experience. You can be sure that your comments will be passed on by me personally to the staff. We look forward to seeing you again. Kind Regards, Laurie Simpson General Manager. More 

    Wigan, United Kingdom
    Level Contributor
    29 reviews
    18 hotel reviews
    common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
    4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

    We stayed here for a weekend and thoroughly enjoyed our stay, all of the staff are so very friendly and helpful. The room was very comfortable with tea making facilities. The car park has ample parking space. We enjoyed our meals and the restaurant staff are great and will chat to you, we would have no hesitation in returning if... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes
    gm_dur, General Manager at Bay Eden Arms Hotel, responded to this review

    Thankyou for your comments. At The Eden Arms our staff work tirelessly to ensure your break is enjoyable and relaxing. When I pass on such kind remarks it is very rewarding, a little praise always goes a long way. We all look forward to seeing you again when your passing through County Durham in the future. Kind Regards, Laurie Simpson... More 

    Chester, United Kingdom
    2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

    I feel sad at having to give this review. It is no reflection on the hard working staff; just management's inability to fix it. As others have said, the hotel, staff, room and amenities are adequate for the price we paid. However, lack of staff and the food being unbelievably poor is mentioned so often in reviews and yet nothing... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes 2
    gm_dur, General Manager at Bay Eden Arms Hotel, responded to this review

    Thank you for letter and I would like to take the time to offer you a balanced response. First of all let me thank you for the praise offered to our staff, they really do deserve more than 2 stars though. I read your initial views on the quality of our food with some regret. Only quality food is sent... More 

    Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
    Level Contributor
    4 reviews
    common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
    4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

    Enjoyed a 4 night break at this hotel while exploring the area. Our standard bedroom was spacious as was the bathroom...all very clean. General areas such as reception and entrance all very nice. Very large car park so no worries where to leave your motor. Staff very helpful and friendly. Hotel is approx. 8 miles from Durham I must admit... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes
    gm_dur, General Manager at Bay Eden Arms Hotel, responded to this review

    How fantastic it is to be passing on another great review to my staff, they certainly all deserve the praise they are getting. Thankyou for your generous comments, next time you visit I hope you can find the time to relax in the comfortable surroundings of our leisure club, a definate must-do to top off The Eden Arms Experience. I... More 

    Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
    common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
    4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

    Spent 5days break and can honestly say it was a spotless hotel and the staff were brilliant they made our holiday.the entertainment was excellent on the down side the breakfasts were good but the evening meals were very poor the driver was one of the best we have had from sheerings.

    Was this review helpful? Yes 3
    gm_dur, General Manager at Bay Eden Arms Hotel, responded to this review

    It’s very pleasing to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and in particular your comments on our staff who surely are a credit to the hotel. . Thankyou for your comments as it allows us to to build on the positives and learn from any negatives. We can then strive to make your experiences more enjoyable each time... More 

    Manchester, United Kingdom
    Level Contributor
    38 reviews
    13 hotel reviews
    common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
    4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

    Had a nice few days break at the Bay Eden Arms Hotel near Durham we had a lovely room with a great bathroom lovely and clean and very cosy. The food on the whole was ok don't order the fish pie it was awful the service was very slow between course's and not enough staff on duty the staff that... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes 1
    gm_dur, General Manager at Bay Eden Arms Hotel, responded to this review

    Thank you for the positives, we appreciate all feedback good or bad. I’d like to take the time to address the negatives. With regards to your thoughts on our meals, let me assure you that below standard food is entirely unacceptable and when your concerns were addressed with the catering team it was clear that this was a rare oversight.... More 

    Glasgow, United Kingdom
    Level Contributor
    4 reviews
    common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
    4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

    very good stay we had from 3rd july to6th 2015 nice large standard twin room & en suite all staff r very friendly entertainment on two night also very good good bks & dinner .also lots of parking we will stay again & recommend to family

    Was this review helpful? Yes 2
    gm_dur, General Manager at Bay Eden Arms Hotel, responded to this review

    Thank you for your generous comments which I will personally pass on to all the staff whose hard work and commitment make the Eden Arms what it is today. We aim to provide exceptional value and quality within our comfortable Hotel and Spa throughout the year. If there is anything that we can do to make our guests more comfortable... More 

    Workington, Cumbria
    Level Contributor
    42 reviews
    15 hotel reviews
    common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
    4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

    Good sized rooms, breakfast and evening meals hot and a good choice. Entertainment every night, and small swimming pool, gym, table tennis, darts, pool to keep the kids busy. Good value breaks via Bay hotels, would recommend as a base for visiting the area. Plenty of car parking spaces, need a car as bit away from anywhere. Wi-fi only worked... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes
    gm_dur, General Manager at Bay Eden Arms Hotel, responded to this review

    Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel. Our aim is to be consistent in the quality of our breaks, so it’s great to hear that you know your stay is always going to be comfortable and pleasant, whatever time of year you book. Kind regards, Laurie simpson General Manager More 

    Yorkshire
    Level Contributor
    26 reviews
    25 hotel reviews
    common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
    3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

    We stayed here for four nights. Our superior room was large and very clean, as was the bathroom, which looked fairly new. The hotel is next to a busy main road but the double glazing kept out all the traffic noise, so sleeping was no problem. The food on the whole was good (except for the fish pie which was... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes 2
    gm_dur, General Manager at Bay Eden Arms Hotel, responded to this review

    Thankyou for taking the time to post your review and I would like to address some of your concerns, if I may. Firstly you'll be pleased to know that the seasons bar only closes its shutters so that we can open our second bar right next to our entertainment in The Windlestone suite. We gladly offer table service for those... More 

    Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
    Level Contributor
    7 reviews
    4 hotel reviews
    common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
    5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2015

    I stayed here for a weekend break and had a fantastic time. This hotel is warm and friendly, the staff are lovely and the facilities are a huge bonus. After a day out visiting the many attractions of Durham I really enjoyed getting back to the hotel and going for a swim and spa before enjoying a evening meal and... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes
    gm_dur, General Manager at Bay Eden Arms Hotel, responded to this review

    Thank you for your kind comments which I will personally pass on to all the staff who’s hard work and commitment make the Eden Arms what it is today. We aim to provide exceptional value and quality within our comfortable Hotel and Spa throughout the year. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind Regards, Laurie... More 

    Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

    62 photos of this hotel

    Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

    Viewed
    All traveler photos (33)
    Viewed
    Pool/beach area (1)
    Viewed
    View from room (1)
    Viewed
    Room/suite (7)
    Viewed
    Dining (1)
    Viewed
    Bathroom (4)
    Viewed
    Hotel & grounds (1)
    Viewed
    Family/play areas (1)
    Viewed
    Other (17)

    Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

    Viewed
    All management photos (29)
    Viewed
    Dining (6)
    Viewed
    Hotel & grounds (8)
    Viewed
    Room/suite (3)
    Viewed
    Bathroom (1)
    Viewed
    Business center/function rooms (4)
    Viewed
    Pool/beach area (1)
    Viewed
    Other (6)
    Check In Check Out
    Show Prices
    Hotels you might also like...
    Also consider these accommodations in or near Rushyford
    13.5 mi away
    Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant
    11.7 mi away
    Redworth Hall Hotel
    Redworth Hall Hotel
    #1 of 1 in Redworth
    4.0 of 5 stars 2,134 reviews
    2.8 mi away
    Premier Inn Stockton-On-Tees West
    Premier Inn Stockton-On-Tees Wes...
    #2 of 8 in Stockton-on-Tees
    4.0 of 5 stars 218 reviews
    Show Prices
    Show Prices
    Show Prices
    3.2 mi away
    Premier Inn Stockton on Tees/ Hartlepool
    Premier Inn Stockton on Tees/ Ha...
    #1 of 8 in Stockton-on-Tees
    4.5 of 5 stars 258 reviews
    15.7 mi away
    Manor House Hotel
    Manor House Hotel
    #1 of 1 in West Auckland
    4.0 of 5 stars 652 reviews
    2.9 mi away
    Wynyard Hall
    Wynyard Hall
    #1 of 1 in Billingham
    4.5 of 5 stars 546 reviews
    Show Prices
    Show Prices
    Show Prices
    Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

    Amenities

    Enter dates for best prices
    Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
    Price Your Stay