We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 2 Marco Island B&Bs / inns

Hemingway House of Marco Island

727 Fairlawn Lane, Marco Island, FL 34145
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$99/night Summer Special
Hemingway House of Marco Island
Certificate of Excellence 2013
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marco Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Write a Review

81 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    74
    3
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
51
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My husband and I stayed at Hemingway House from March 30 until April 6, 2014, and enjoyed every minute. Breakfast was just right with sweet strawberries, orange juice from a citrus orchard, fresh croissants homemade jams, cheeses, wonderful coffee and several mornings something wonderful freshly made in Marlene's oven. The saltwater pool was refreshing before breakfast , and relaxing to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Burlington, Vermont
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I really enjoyed my recent stay at the Hemingway House which I discovered through an internet search prior to my first trip to Marco Island a few weeks ago. As an experienced traveler, before reservation I checked online reviews, compared prices and amenities to other area venues and examined house policies. My trip was for a medical conference at a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Urbandale, Iowa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My friend & I headed for Marco Island for a four day getaway. Based on other Trip Advisor comments we decided to try Hemingway House. Everything was delightful. Our room was quaint & clean. The best part of the visit was how relaxing we found the environment. A lovely salt water pool (your skin feels wonderful after swimming). What a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wilmington, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

As a very experienced traveler - for years I did documentaries for public television and more recently have written a travel column for a local magazine, I was very disappointed with the experience at Hemingway House. After reading reviews I was under the impression that we were going to a high class, iconic house on Marco Island. Instead we went... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HHOMI, Owner at Hemingway House of Marco Island, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, We do not hold out to be a high class iconic house. We are small and private. We hope our atmosphere is pleasant, relaxed and homey. As an experienced traveler, you know that the consequences of a strict policy can be mitigated by travel insurance... We are sorry that you were so disturbed. Our policy is NOT in... More

chicago
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This review is long overdue. I did not feel welcomed by Marlene. I had bedandbreakfast.com gift cards that she did not seem to want to accept. Also, when shown our room it was not what I expected. The "private bath" was a closet turned in to a toilet. The wall didn't go all the way to the ceiling so that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HHOMI, Owner at Hemingway House of Marco Island, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, First it makes me very happy to see a review (good or bad) posted more than 2 years after your visit!! I am glad you slept well, that's the main reason why people stay in nice inns... I am glad you mentioned how clean we are! We really try... All of our guests like and enjoy our little... More

Fort Lauderdale
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed only one night but spent most of the time in the property. Marlene takes good care of her customers. It is a nice, clean and well maintain B&B. Nabil was also so nice with us and gave us tips on the places to go. The breakfast is good for all ages and palates. It is a good place... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

My wife and I had a wonderful time staying at Hemingway house. Marlene did so many little things to make our vacation a pleasant experience. I don't know why anyone would want to stay at any of the large impersonal hotels when one could stay where the atmosphere is peaceful, rejuvenating and delightful. The view of the water from our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

My husband and I thought we were going to Aruba but because of ice storm and flight cancellation in Atlanta, we had to come up with Plan B. Plan B was better than Plan A. Staying at Marlene's beautiful house on Marco was the best thing that could have happened to us. She was delightful and gave us great recommendations... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Livonia, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

The Hemingway House is exceptional. Marlene and Nabil are excellent hosts; like old friends, they made sure we had everything we needed, were very knowledgeable about the island and gave us many good memories to return home with. We had an excellent adventure exploring the island on the bikes; only to return to the house for a relaxing swim in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

If you like B&Bs, you will love the Hemingway House. We only had time to stay for 2 days but felt right at home in this lovely house. Nice pool, location and rooms but most of all nice innkeepers! I hope they come visit us on Cape Cod in the summer.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Been to Hemingway House of Marco Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hemingway House of Marco Island

Also Known As:
Hemingway House Of Marco Island Florida
Address: 727 Fairlawn Lane, Marco Island, FL 34145
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Marco Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Marco Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hemingway House of Marco Island is a short term rental which includes a complimentary breakfast with your stay. It's a beautiful Key west style house, every room has its own charm! King size bed, connected bathroom, sitting area, TV, small fridge, access to the pool/dock/water area, wrap around porches, beautiful view overlooking the Bimini Bay and the Marco River where you can see the Manatees and the Dolphins playing! Charming and relaxing! Where you can vacation and enjoy all the activities, or sit back and just relax! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hemingway House of Marco Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hemingway House of Marco Island to your Saves list