We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Horizon By The Sea Inn

4229 N Ocean Drive, Lauderdale by the Sea, FL 33308
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Horizon By The Sea Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Horizon By The Sea Inn
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    14
    7
    1
    15
See reviews for
23
22
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (65)
  • Mar-May only
    (22)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (16)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (12)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (15)
All months
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

An old property doesn't have to mean a bad property. But in this case it does. The Horizon by the Sea is poorly run, in disrepair and dingy. The owners are very rude and definitely in need of customer service skills. If you complain about something, they tell you to check out. But they refuse to refund your money. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
horizonbythesea, Manager at Horizon By The Sea Inn, responded to this review

Here we go again. It is another post by Suraiya and their friends. TripAdvisor removed one of their review already. But looks like it does not stop them from posting same kind of review. It speak for itself. If you think you paid too much for room, book your reservation somewhere else. Please do not blame us for your choices.... More 

Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

We came from Boston for a week and were delighted with the accommodations. We were in a studio which was clean, air conditioned, and good size for two people. Lauderdale by the Sea is quite busy this time of year and it was nice to have a 5 minute walk to a beautiful beach as well as shops and restaurants.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2015

Found the hotel to be acceptable but with a few areas for improvement . Temp in room could not be adjusted by us so we had to ask for air conditioner to be adjusted to our comfort level. Also the windows were permanently closed and it would have been nice to open them for fresh air. The unit was clean... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

The room was neat and clean. We had to cross over two main roads to get to the beach which was tough with lots of kids and beach gear. It was nice being within walking distance of downtown Lauderdale-by-Sea which had amazing restaurants, ice cream shops, and stores. The overall maintenance and staffing of this place is falling apart and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2

Travelers are raving about these Lauderdale by the Sea hotels

Morrisville, Vermont
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

After arriving tired from traveling from the snowy Northeast, we were looking forward to the fresh, warm Florida fresh air. We had booked 3 nights here. Because we arrived late, we checked in and paid for the first night and then for the additional 2 nights before seeing the room. This was our mistake, I admit. When we went up... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2014

What a delightful hotel. Pretty, clean and next to everything you would want - beach, restaurants, shopping. Owners are super helpful. It's a bit noisy, being between two very busy beach arteries. If you want to hang at the pool, bring your headphones.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tuckahoe, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

This inn is everything anyone could ask for!! Location to the beach and famous restaurants are a skip away from the hotel!! Bus transportation right out front!! And most important, owners are wonderful people, and will accomadate you in whatever you made need to make your stay Perfect!! I found myself a perfect place to vacation!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

This hotel property is very clean and a great location and the price was good for what we had. There were three of us and our rooms were attached. The pool was also clean with plenty of lounge chairs. It was off season, not sure how it would be during high season. Nice enough that we would definitely return again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Lauderdale by the Sea, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Nice, quiet, clean and a great location! Roma has very nice customer service! Great location, two blocks from the beach and restaurants. Everything walking distance. You park and you dont need your car until you leave!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Made a reservation to stay at Horizon by the Sea Inn, based on my knowledge of the area and good reviews on Booking.com. Could not make the trip with my family but faced paying a $160 cancellation fee, since I missed the refund deadline. Booking.com tried, but could not help. Called the hotel and spoke to the manager to explain... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

28 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question