We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 15 Marathon hotels

Gulf View Waterfront Resort

Save
You added Gulf View Waterfront Resort to your Saves list
58743 Overseas Hwy, Marathon, FL 33050
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Gulf View Waterfront Resort
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Marathon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marathon
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    88
    25
    14
    3
See reviews for
119
127
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (307)
  • Mar-May only
    (87)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (82)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (58)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (80)
All months
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in room 18 which was perfect for us and our 9 month old. It's not fancy but it's perfect! Nice property and clean rooms. Close to the beach and attractions. Also was never crowded. Owner was super nice! We will be back. Also our baby loved coco the bird!

Was this review helpful? Yes
GulfViewResort, Front Desk Reception at Gulf View Waterfront Resort, responded to this review

Thank you Rhonda for your kind review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us. Until next time, The Gulf View Waterfront Resort More 

Corona, South Dakota
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After considerable research we picked the Gulf View as a base camp for our four day exploration of the Keys in January. It was exactly what we expected and hoped it would be -- a well located, reasonably priced older place run by a friendly and helpful family. A quick visit to Key West on the way back from a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GulfViewResort, Front Desk Reception at Gulf View Waterfront Resort, responded to this review

Thank you Bill! We are glad that you enjoyed your time here to the fullest. We look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards, The Gulf View Waterfront Resort More 

Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great location, great accommodation, great experience. While on a motorcycle trip through the Keys, had an excellent experience. Kitchenette, safe secluded parking, quiet sleeping and coffee overlooking the gulf - what else could one ask for! Extremely well maintained family owned business. Great suggestion for dinner. Thanks to Mike and his family for a slice of Florida before commercialism took... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GulfViewResort, Front Desk Reception at Gulf View Waterfront Resort, responded to this review

Thank you James. We are glad that you feel like you've taken a trip back in time to classic Florida. We hope to be your lodging of choice for your next trip through the Keys. Kind regards, The Gulf View Waterfront Resort. More 

Dorking
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A rather quirky place to stay. Nice, helpful folk run the place and fixed a taxi to take us to a local restaurant. It's right on the waterfront and we borrowed one of the canoes for a gentle paddle around the bay. Pelican's & cormorants on display and spotted a huge iguana sunning himself in the mangroves. The room was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GulfViewResort, Front Desk Reception at Gulf View Waterfront Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you found our location on the tranquil Gulf to be ideal. We appreciate you notifying us about the air conditioner. We are sorry for the inconvenience this has posed. Best regards, Gulf View Waterfront Resort More 

Pueblo, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2015

Dated motel with less than clean rooms. Work sandals while in room as cleanliness was questionable. Patio door locks don't lock easily. Nice grounds. Right next to Rt 1 and very noisy. Peaceful if you spend time next to water vs in room or other parts of grounds.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GulfViewResort, Front Desk Reception at Gulf View Waterfront Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. The Gulf View takes every discomfort seriously. Had we been aware of your concerns about the room we would have readily offered solutions. We will take your concerns into account to improve the experience for future guests. Kind regards, Gulf View Waterfront Resort More 

Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2015

We were in the Keys after New Years and wanted to stay at a smaller place and soak up some local flavor, we were lucky enough to find the Gulf View as we were passing through Marathon. Staying there made a great trip even better! Mike and his family are incredibly nice people who know how to treat a customer,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
GulfViewResort, Front Desk Reception at Gulf View Waterfront Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We value each and every guest and it makes us happy when we see that our guests are enjoying their stay here with us. We hope to be your place of choice on your next trip through the Keys. Kind regards, Gulf View Waterfront Resort More 

The Villages, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2015

We stayed here for 4 nights in December and were very pleased. It is right on the shore with free access to kayaks and canoes. Had a nice pool and a beautiful "backyard". Mike and Stephanie were wonderful hosts. Be sure to say "hello" to Coco the parrot.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GulfViewResort, Front Desk Reception at Gulf View Waterfront Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you are left with the memory of the relaxing, friendly ambiance that the Gulf View Resort prides itself on. Until next time, Gulf View Waterfront Resort More 

Sykesville, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2015

Just spent the past week here, We made these reservations some time ago using reviews as our guide. I want to be completely honest here, my expectations were probably a bit high. I however don't think my major complaint is unreasonable. CLEANLINESS, WE WERE IN ROOM 14 AND 15. Now that the owners know who I am. The rooms had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Management response:

Thank you for your review. Every guest review is taken into account and we appreciate all feedback. We will address your concerns to ensure that all future guests have an optimum experience. We are glad that you enjoyed our lovely tropical grounds, but we find it unfortunate that you never addressed your other concerns to us while you were here.... More 

Berrien Springs, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

Enjoyed our time here, friendly service and overal great experience. This was our first trip to florida and our stay here made it very memorable and worthwhile. The owner is very welcoming, he answered any questions we had and made sure we had everything we needed. This is a great place to stay anytime you are in florida.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GulfViewResort, Front Desk Reception at Gulf View Waterfront Resort, responded to this review

It is an honor to hear that the Gulf View gave you a good impression of Florida. We try our best to make each guest's visit a wonderful one. Thank you for leaving a review, we hope to see you back soon. Best regards, Gulf View Waterfront Resort. More 

Brandon, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015

We stayed in the mutton room from 6/14/14-6/20/14. 3 adults 1 child. The owners are kid friendly. We had a full kitchen. The rooms were clean and a great price for the money. The property owners were very nice and responsive. There were canoes available to the guests at no extra charge. We caught a ton off mutton snappers using... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GulfViewResort, Front Desk Reception at Gulf View Waterfront Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for the praise and encouragement. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to being your lodging of choice the next time you are in the Keys. Best regards, Gulf View Waterfront Resort. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Gulf View Waterfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gulf View Waterfront Resort

Address: 58743 Overseas Hwy, Marathon, FL 33050
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Gulf View Waterfront Hotel Marathon

655 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (176)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (51)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (34)
Viewed
View from room (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Other (55)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (470)
Viewed
Amenities (49)
Viewed
Beach (7)
Viewed
Guest Room (65)
Viewed
One Bedroom Apartment (76)
Viewed
Pool (37)
Viewed
Queen Double Efficiency Room (69)
Viewed
The Hotel (69)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Apartment (98)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay