We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Seashell Beach Resort

Hotel website
57612 Overseas Highway, Mile Marker 57.5, Marathon, FL 33050
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Seashell Beach Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Seashell Beach Resort
Add Photo

165 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    37
    52
    31
    18
    27
See reviews for
35
82
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (165)
  • Mar-May only
    (50)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (36)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (36)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (43)
All months
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed for two nights, the rooms are very simple but you don't go to the keys to hang out in your rooms. There was a small kitchenette with a small stove/oven and some basic cooking necessities. There is a lovely little beach which is quiet and private. The hotel rents kayaks and is a short drive from the main... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marathon, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We've stayed at this resort multiple times in the last few years. The staff is friendly, the grounds were okay before, but now are nice. The rooms are being renovated, and a small pool has been added. The beach could use a tad br of clean up, there really isn't a beach swimming area here. But I will always choose... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It's not much, but it's everything you need. Pool and pool furniture are very nice. And I'm picky. Door to our room open right to the water. On our way back now for our second trip. We're staying in the queen suite this time - last time was king suite. Was great.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here for Memorial day weekend, a busy weekend in the keys, and we felt as though we had the place to ourselves for the most part, the majority of the 3 nights we were there (which was fabulous). Obviously there were other customers, however it felt that way. The rooms are older, outdated, but still had wifi &... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Wow, the view is amazing in the morning, and the hotel knows it. We woke up to find all of the lounge chairs facing the view and coffee being served in the tiki hut. Ok so the room was super outdated, the shower was tiny and there was no central air, just a unit in the wall/window. But seriously, this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Uusimaa
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2015

We stayed there few days ago. It was hard to find room at night after reception close at 9pm. But we did it and had a good sleep. Only problem is I have lots of bed bug bites in my arms and back. Worst thing is we came back to our home we rent out to travellers and I dont... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Tim B, Manager at Seashell Beach Resort, responded to this review

I was deeply concerned after reading your review, we had a exterminator come out today and check the entire property, he did not find any traces of bed bugs in any room, he checked the entire property since you didn't inform the desk that you had bites. He suggested that the bites were from noseeums which are a common pest... More 

Travelers are raving about these Marathon hotels

Gainesville, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2015

I booked this hotel through Booking.com where they advertise they WONT put you in a crappy hotel. Well I was duped... this hotel was on the OCEAN side on flats. This means that the water is brown and smells like a sewer. Aldo there was renovations being done but my room wasnt done. The bathroom countertop was coming up along... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2015

This is a great bargain and a very sweet place to stay. The room was nice and bright. Could have used a little extra dusting and a new shower curtain, but those are small issues. The view was nice of the beach and the pool was clean, though small. There is a fish smell outside at times when the tide... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Washington, District of Columbia, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2015

The Seashell is a piece of the classic Florida keys. Growing up in South Florida we would often visit the Keys, and although the Seashell may not have the brightest most polished Rooms, they have plenty of atmosphere. The beach and grounds are pretty amazing, just out on your balcony, in the hammock, your patio area or the dock is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Caledon, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015

I should've paid attention to the reviews on trip advisor. The room we got felt like someone's poorly finished basement apartment. The cutouts in the drop ceiling for the electrical pot lights were really roughly done. The microwave oven looked like it was about 30 years old. The fridge was also very old. One of the elements on the stovetop... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

183 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (128)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (29)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (55)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (36)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay