We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Hammocks at Marathon

Hotel website
Hotel deals
1688 Overseas Highway, Marathon, FL 33050
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Hammocks at Marathon
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Hammocks at Marathon
The Hammocks at Marathon
The Hammocks at Marathon
Add Photo Write a Review

230 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    91
    91
    29
    13
    6
See reviews for
62
98
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (230)
  • Mar-May only
    (70)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (65)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (51)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (44)
All months
Atlanta
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Not sure if the bad reviews were before they were renovated, but we had a great time, great room and great service all around. Our room couldn't have been nicer. The bed was great, The staff was always nice and helpful. The Tiki Hut on sight was nice and offered us the best sunset of the week. Jerry's Watersports next... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Trenton, Michigan
Level Contributor
55 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We had been before, but typically for a weekend, not a week. We enjoyed two evenings in Key West and a day in Key Largo. It's nice to be in the center of the Keys as the drive to any attraction is reasonable. The pool is nice and views are lovely!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Henryville, Indiana
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We are owners at Bluegreen and we had a family here in the Keys. We weren't disappointed at all. The resort is beautiful & clean and the staff is very friendly. We spent alot of time at the marina, pool & Barnacle Barney's. Luis was awesome at the Tiki bar and there were two gentleman outside we dealt with and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Georgetown, Indiana
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was my second stay at the hammocks and I loved it! I love the location on the marina. You can easily see nurse sharks, Rays,large tarpon,parrotfish, and lobster just standing by the waters edge. We also saw a manatee in the marina. The room was excellent and clean. I love the free washing machine and dryer on each floor.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BluegreenCares, Manager at The Hammocks at Marathon, responded to this review

Hello cheaptravel2014, Thank you for sharing your love for The Hammocks Resort. It sounds like you had a great time enjoying the marina and surrounding area. We are happy you found our accommodations excellent and that your children enjoyed the pool area. We appreciate your feedback and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon! More 

Fayetteville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The first thing I will always remember this "resort" for is the crazy long zigzag hallways. Very...VERY annoying. I guess this ludicrously long zigzag pattern is due to the property's lot shape and water boundaries. But, seriously, it was easily a +3-minute (one of our party claims 5-min.) walk from the front entrance to our room, and this from healthy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BluegreenCares, Manager at The Hammocks at Marathon, responded to this review

Hello M2M4645, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Hammocks Resort. We are committed to providing our guests with exceptional accommodations and customer service. We regret to learn your experience fell below this commitment. We will be sharing your concerns with resort management and would like to further discuss at your convenience. Please contact us... More 

Mount Dora, FL
Level Contributor
138 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed over the July 4th weekend. It was such a nice place. We are Bluegreen owners so we kind of had expectations coming into our room. It didn't disappoint. We really enjoyed the fact that the bedroom was it's own room and not all one space. We used the pool several times a day and our 3 kids had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
BluegreenCares, Manager at The Hammocks at Marathon, responded to this review

Hello FLGirlForever, Thank you for staying at The Hammocks Resort. As Bluegreen owners we greatly appreciate you taking the time to review. We are happy you were pleased with our condo-style accommodations and resort amenities. The information you have shared regarding the surrounding area will certainly be beneficial for those planning a visit. We hope to have you back soon! More 

florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

As a bluegreen owner of 12 years, I always stay here. Close to 7mile bridge and eateries and grocery. Friendly and knowledge staff. Clean. Great pool and tiki bar. Best place to see an unobstructed view of a keys sunset. Good tarpon watching too. Jerry's water sports next door for those who want rentals.

Was this review helpful? Yes
BluegreenCares, Manager at The Hammocks at Marathon, responded to this review

Hello blondie37857, As a Bluegreen owner we greatly appreciate you sharing your experience at The Hammocks Resort. We appreciate your kind remarks and look forward to welcoming you back! More 

Vinton, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2015

Beautiful room, recently remodeled , very spacious. Room is wll supplied and the king bed very comfortable. Pool area clean and well maintained. The "beach" area is just a sandy area, not much there. But all else great. Very attentive staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
BluegreenCares, Manager at The Hammocks at Marathon, responded to this review

Hello Randy F, We are thrilled you had a wonderful vacation at The Hammocks Resort. We appreciate your kind remarks regarding our accommodations, amenities and staff. Thank you for sharing! More 

Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2015

I was a guest of an owner. So.....having been my first time at the resort....I loved it! Rooms were awesome! The TIKI bar was never open but I really did not miss it! We grilled out by the pool, swam, and watched the iguana's. But....the 10:00 am check out was harsh!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
BluegreenCares, Manager at The Hammocks at Marathon, responded to this review

Hello PDBTexans, We are happy you loved your first experience at The Hammocks Resort. We appreciate your feedback, and hope you will consider returning! More 

Albany, Georgia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2015

We really like the low key and laid back nature of this property. The onsite tiki restaurant has a nice food selection (loved the garlic fries). Wish they offered liquor at the bar. We had a nice day fishing with an onsite charter boat.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BluegreenCares, Manager at The Hammocks at Marathon, responded to this review

Hello Scott T, We are happy you enjoyed your experience at The Hammocks Resort. We appreciate your feedback, and hope to see you soon! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

177 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (164)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (29)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (24)
Viewed
View from room (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (37)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
1:35
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
5.7 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
5.8 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Seashell Beach Resort
Seashell Beach Resort
#8 of 18 in Marathon
3.5 of 5 stars 171 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
13.3 mi away
Hawks Cay Resort
Hawks Cay Resort
#1 of 2 in Duck Key
4.0 of 5 stars 3,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay