We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 15 Marathon hotels

The Hammocks at Marathon

2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1688 Overseas Highway, Marathon, FL 33050
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Save Saved
You added The Hammocks at Marathon to your Saves list
The Hammocks at Marathon
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
82%
Ranked #6 of 15 hotels in Marathon
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Rick W Orlando, Florida
  • Overview
  • Reviews (187)
  • Photos (124)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (39)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

187 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    71
    78
    22
    11
    5
See reviews for
49
86
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Wonderful location with a beautiful view from the pool overlooking the open water. Unfortunately the view from each room is not as pleasant. We had 2 rooms on different floors, both were nicely arranged and supplied with toiletries and kitchenware. Nice grill area and Rod the maintenance personnel is great to deal with in any situation! He always tries to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BluegreenCares, Manager at The Hammocks at Marathon, responded to this review

Hello Rick W, Thank you for staying at The Hammocks Resort. We are happy you found our location wonderful, featuring beautiful views. We are glad our accommodations were well-equipped. We appreciate the feedback you have provided, which will help to ensure a pleasant experience for all guests. We hope you will consider returning. More

Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a studio room for our week in Marathon. I was pleasantly surprised with how roomy it was! Our king bed was just as comfy as the Hampton Inns we usually stay in when traveling. The studio had a large mini fridge and microwave and they also provided a basket with plates, cups, and utensils, which was much appreciated.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BluegreenCares, Manager at The Hammocks at Marathon, responded to this review

Hello Caitlin G, Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback regarding your stay at The Hammocks. We appreciate your compliments about our accommodations and amenities. We are delighted to know that our staff has made your stay extraordinary. We are glad to learn that you had such a great week-long stay. We hope to welcome you again! More

Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

2 rooms were linked together w reservations w special request. One request was to be near each other, we are 2 floors apart. Room is older. Bathroom had hair on the floor and coffee pot had a bit of coffee water in it. Our guest got a requested bayview room but we did not and it feels like a lousy... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BluegreenCares, Manager at The Hammocks at Marathon, responded to this review

Hello arena3jean, Thank you for staying at The Hammocks. We regret to learn of your disappointment. We thank you for sharing your experience and would like to further discuss. Please contact us at info@bluegreenvacations.com. Thank you for your feedback. More

West Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I took my family for a weekend get away in the middle of July and loved it. The positive: We only had a studio which is just a big hotel room with two beds. The room was clean and ready for us when we arrived The bar/restaurant is a really nice place to watch the sunset. The bartenders are really... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BluegreenCares, Manager at The Hammocks at Marathon, responded to this review

Hello Jeff B, Thank you for sharing your positive feedback. We are glad to hear that you were satisfied with our accommodations. We are thrilled to learn that our staff delivered a great experience to you and your family. We appreciate your kind remarks regarding our amenities. We hope to welcome you again! More

Louisville, Kentucky
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We just left The Hammocks on July 14, 2014 and we did NOT want to leave. Great room, perfect for the two us. Every single staff member was Wonderful, always saying Hello with a smile. We had room 309 - perfect view of the Ocean, pool, and Barney's Tiki Bar. We loved Deanna and Luis, and Luis can cook up... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BluegreenCares, Manager at The Hammocks at Marathon, responded to this review

Hello Skyeblue-Sauer, We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your experience so much at The Hammocks that you did not want to leave. We appreciate your generous compliments about our accommodations and staff. I will certainly be sharing your praise with the team. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back! More

Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We went there on July 1. When we looked at the online pictures, we thought this was very expensive hotel. But when we reach there, it was not as expected. However, the hotel is very good and peaceful. The swimming pool is clean. Most of the time we went to Key West instead of staying at the hotel. Staffs are... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BluegreenCares, Manager at The Hammocks at Marathon, responded to this review

Hello Meteoraz, Thank you for reviewing your experience at The Hammocks. We are happy you found our resort nice and peaceful and our staff friendly. We appreciate your feedback and hope you will consider returning! More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

The location was perfect. The lobby, pool area and tiki bar were nice and well kept. The room was very out dated and the couch was so dirty we put sheets over it to even sit down. The young blonde at the front desk was put out to check us in but the rest of the staff were very helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BluegreenCares, Manager at The Hammocks at Marathon, responded to this review

Hello Ssmo, Thank you for the review of The Hammocks. We are glad you enjoyed the location and our amenities. We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced regarding the room accommodations. We welcome you to contact us at info@bluegreenvacations.com if you wish to discuss your experience further. Thank you, and we hope you will consider returning. More

Savannah, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

This property was a perfect place to get away. Excellent customer service. Nice Tiki bar and Grill. Medium sized pool and a choice of a fine bunch of fishing charters on the dock in back. Boat and jet ski rentals next door. Room was clean and comfortable .Room had a great view.

Was this review helpful? Yes
BluegreenCares, Manager at The Hammocks at Marathon, responded to this review

Hello Zack D, Thank you staying with us and for providing this feedback. We are so pleased to hear that you got much-needed relaxation. We are thrilled that you found your perfect place to get away. We will be delighted to have you back at The Hammocks! More

Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

This was our first time staying at a BlueGreen facility and it has set a high standard for the rest of them! From the moment we walked in the staff, particularly Patricia, was phenomenal! Each hotel employee welcomed us and seemed incredibly excited to have us at their location. We were early to check in and asked if we could... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
BluegreenCares, Manager at The Hammocks at Marathon, responded to this review

Hello KSo75, Thank you for sharing your experience at The Hammocks. We are so glad you were impressed by the high quality of our resort and our focus on exceptional customer service. We are thrilled that you would be interested in staying with us again. It would be an honor to welcome you back soon! More

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Room was clean - more than enough towels. Staff was very courteous and helpful. There was only one thing that could be changed was that the air conditioner could have been lowered below 75. We had to purchase a fan just to keep it cooler at night. Room 320 has the best view by far! The bed could have been... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
BluegreenCares, Manager at The Hammocks at Marathon, responded to this review

Hello Rhonda G, Thank you for sharing your review of The Hammocks. We are pleased to hear that you loved the view from your room. We appreciate the feedback you have provided, which will help to ensure a positive experience for all guests. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Hammocks at Marathon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Hammocks at Marathon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hammocks at Marathon

Address: 1688 Overseas Highway, Marathon, FL 33050
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Hammocks at Marathon 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your The Hammocks at Marathon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hammocks At Marathon Hotel Marathon
The Hammocks Marathon
The Hammocks Hotel Marathon
Hammocks Marathon Florida

124 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (116)
Viewed
1:35
Videos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
View from room (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (25)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Marathon with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
79

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Hammocks at Marathon staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer