We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 15 Marathon hotels

The Hammocks at Marathon

2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1688 Overseas Highway, Marathon, FL 33050
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Save Saved
You added The Hammocks at Marathon to your Saves list
The Hammocks at Marathon
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
83%
Ranked #5 of 15 hotels in Marathon
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Amy S Charlottesville, Virginia
Write a Review

174 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    68
    73
    19
    11
    3
See reviews for
47
79
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We went to the Hammocks for Spring Break, taking one 15 year old and two 17 year olds. The hotel is wonderful. We sat with the concierge and he told us all about the area, in a quick and efficient manner. We learned about the Marathon Lady for fishing and Porkys for lunch. This is a a small time share... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tupelo, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Went on 3 scuba diving boat trips while staying here which was main purpose of our vacation. Also took day trips to Key Largo & Key West. Nice scenery. Do not expect a beach at Hammocks. There is a harbor but no beach. Enjoyed the hot tub area. Pleasant stay but not my fav Bluegreen resort. It was fine as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Westover, Maryland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We usually go every spring, but decided to go in October for fantasy fest. Resort is always the best when it comes to customer service, great location, beautiful scenery and excellent amenities. Our favorite vacation location.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Gronlid
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We loved our stay here, staff was excellent, lots of good places of where to go, what to eat. Easy drive to Key West, watched the sun set at Mallory Square!! Room was large, baloney's are also large. We were on a presentation and we loved the sales staff, not pushy, left feeling informed and excited!! Had to drive to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BluegreenCares, Manager at The Hammocks at Marathon, responded to this review

Hello Wambus, Thank you for sharing your experience at The Hammocks. We are thrilled you loved your stay and enjoyed the large room and balcony. We hope to welcome you back soon! More

Savage, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here as a group of 6, in 2 studio units. The rooms were large, and the balconies were great. The air conditioning worked very well. We did not have any bugs or other pests in our rooms. The rooms each had a small refrigerator, microwave, coffee pot, and dishes in them. There is a lot of parking. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BluegreenCares, Manager at The Hammocks at Marathon, responded to this review

Hello RN_Mom_to_2, We are delighted you and your group had a nice stay at The Hammocks. We are happy you enjoyed the large rooms, balconies, and the pool area. We hope to see you again soon! More

Sunfield, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We stayed at The Hammocks at Marathon for 3 days end of January 2014. The grounds and property were amazing! View from our room of The Gulf was beautiful. Staff was very friendly and helped with things in the area. Food was awesome! We will definately stay here again if given the chance!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BluegreenCares, Manager at The Hammocks at Marathon, responded to this review

Hello Danielle W, We are thrilled you had a great time at The Hammocks. We appreciate your compliments regarding the property and staff. We hope to welcome you back and share happiness on your next visit. More

Lindenhurst, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

We were a little worried because of some of the reviews, but although I really appreciate top-of-the line accommodations, it is not something I require to enjoy myself on vacation. That being said, the accommodations were more than adequate and the staff was friendly and helpful. The one thing that would make The Hammocks much better would have been a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
BluegreenCares, Manager at The Hammocks at Marathon, responded to this review

Hello P K, Thank you for reviewing your stay at The Hammocks. We are delighted you had a wonderful time and enjoyed the location. Thank you for your comments regarding the staff as our goal is to share happiness with all of our guests. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to the Keys. More

Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We are Bluegreen timeshare owners, so I had to compare this resort to the other timeshares we've stayed at and this is the worst, by far. Considering the cost of the stay, what we got in return was unacceptable. Apparently, the management gives away the best rooms to the people coming from nearby (mostly Miami) for a weekend, while we,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
BluegreenCares, Manager at The Hammocks at Marathon, responded to this review

Hello Ksenoid, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Hammocks. We regret to learn of your disappointment as a Bluegreen owner. We invite you to contact us at info@bluegreenvacations.com if you would like to discuss your experience further. Thank you again for your feedback. More

Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We were a little worried about going here as some of the reviews were awful. However, we wondered if we had come to a different place! It was clean. It smelt fresh. The staff were lovely. Kind and polite and helpful. The room was large, quiet, clean well equipped and very comfortable. Only small drawback was that the TV was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
BluegreenCares, Manager at The Hammocks at Marathon, responded to this review

Hello saramck, Thank you for reviewing your stay at The Hammocks. We are delighted you had a lovely holiday and enjoyed the accommodations. We look forward to welcoming you back and sharing happiness on your next visit to Marathon. More

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

We stayed here on Christmas eve. The grounds are beautiful and well kept.We had an amazing view from our balcony and bedroom..There is a great pool, hot tub, Tiki bar, three grills.Customer service was extremely friendly and helpful. The room was clean, large and with a very nice kitchen. We woke to that gorgeous view...stay here if you enjoy making... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
BluegreenCares, Manager at The Hammocks at Marathon, responded to this review

Hello pcbeachgal, Thank you for sharing your experience at The Hammocks. We are thrilled that we were able to share happiness and make memories for you. We are happy you enjoyed the accommodations and amazing view. Thank you for your compliments regarding the staff. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Marathon Key. More

Been to The Hammocks at Marathon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hammocks at Marathon

Address: 1688 Overseas Highway, Marathon, FL 33050
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 hotels in Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Hammocks at Marathon 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Tingo, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your The Hammocks at Marathon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hammocks At Marathon Hotel Marathon
The Hammocks At Marathon Hotel
The Hammocks Marathon
The Hammocks Hotel Marathon
Hammocks Marathon
Hammocks Marathon Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hammocks at Marathon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.