We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pelican RV Resort and Motel

Certificate of Excellence
59151 Overseas Hwy, Marathon, FL (Formerly Pelican Motel & Trailer Park)
Hotel amenities
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Pelican RV Resort and Motel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

55 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    22
    14
    8
    4
    7
See reviews for
22
16
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (55)
  • Mar-May only
    (12)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (22)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (8)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (13)
All months
Level Contributor
5 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I've have never experienced such horrible service, poor treatment and overall abuse by a staff in my life! We had planned a trip for lobster mini season a tear in advance. When we arrived the rates went up 35.00 a night. Ok I understand. No clean towels. Ok I understand No coffee for the coffee maker in our rooms. Ok.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PelicanRV, General Manager at Pelican RV Resort and Motel, responded to this review

Dear Sir, When you and your friends arrived at our Resort you were fully aware of the rates, which were extremely reasonable for a busy holiday season. At check in, prior to payment you asked about the rate and we informed you that it was a pre-set amount. At that time, you were offered the choice to cancel your stay... More 

Miami, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

On arrival the Pelican RV Resort (and motel) announced there was a rate change increase and when we complained they said if we didn't like it they would be happy to refund our money, however they knew there were no rooms available anywhere in the FLORIDA KEYS because of the highly popular Lobster mini-season. They would only provide one room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PelicanRV, General Manager at Pelican RV Resort and Motel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, As I remarked in your duplicate review, you and your friends were informed of the rates for the holiday season in advance of your stay, those rates were reasonable and had been pre-set for season in advance, we did not change the rate last minute. We did offer you and your friends the ability to cancel without penalty... More 

Travelers are raving about these Marathon hotels

Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2015

Hôtels in Key West being too expansive, we decided to go for a stay a little away in Marathon. Located at an hour drive from Key West, we found a well maintained place. Regarding the room itself, there's not much things to say. It was clean and offered what's essential. Three minor things seem to need some remarks about our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PelicanRV, General Manager at Pelican RV Resort and Motel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit to the Florida Keys. We are glad that you had a great time and we hope that you come back to visit us again in the future. As for the beds our rooms are scheduled to be updated "Fall 2015" which will hopefully resolve and strange sounds from... More 

Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2015

Used this as a stop for seeing The Keys. Room was bright and clean although the bases of the beds could do with being covered as they're covered in scuff marks. Our room had two doors so we hung the do not disturb on the main door but from an early time could hear cleaning going on next door and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PelicanRV, General Manager at Pelican RV Resort and Motel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit to the Florida Keys. We are glad that you had a great time and we hope that you come back to visit us again in the future. As for the beds our rooms are scheduled to be updated "Fall 2015" which will resolve any issues with the furniture.... More 

Zurrieq, Malta
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2015

The resort was very well kept, room was large clean and good amenities. Great place for exploring all of the keys. Reception could have been slightly more helpful. It's amazing how helpful staff can make a place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
PelicanRV, General Manager at Pelican RV Resort and Motel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit to the Florida Keys. I am sorry if any of the front desk team members did not help you to the max, which is not the norm as they are normally very helpful and pleasant. Please come back and try us again in the future and I will... More 

blackpool
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2015

the place was ok rooms clean and modern, location slightly out of Marathon centre but a good base for exploring . Marina very nice and people very friendly on the RV park . No bar on site and only one in walking distance really . All in all not bad - pool out of action the 2 days we were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PelicanRV, General Manager at Pelican RV Resort and Motel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit to the Florida Keys. We are glad that you had a great time and we hope that you come back to visit us again in the future. I apologize that the pool and wifi had issues during your visit, we work hard to keep these things to a... More 

Sterling, VA
Level Contributor
105 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2015

We stayed for 5 nights in late May. We rented the kitchenette room and it was perfect for my family and 2 dogs. This is a very simple place, but that's the beauty of it! The residents are friendly. I fished by the Gazebo every morning (mangrove snapper) and enjoyed the beautiful sunsets. The front desk worker (Judy) was really... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PelicanRV, General Manager at Pelican RV Resort and Motel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit to the Florida Keys! We are glad that you had a great time and we hope to see you again in the very near future!! Best Regards, Maria Simon, Regional Manager More 

Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2015

We spent our last night here after spending around a week exploring Florida. We stayed in room number 9 which was absolutely huge, with two double beds, a lounge area, a kitchen area and a bathroom. We only had dealings with two staff but both of them were very friendly and nothing seemed like too much trouble. There is adequate... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PelicanRV, General Manager at Pelican RV Resort and Motel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit to the Florida Keys! We are glad that you had a great time and we hope to see you again in the very near future!! Best Regards, Maria Simon, Regional Manager More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2015

I celebrated my third marriage anniversary with my wife and chose this hotel to spend a weekend. The staff is really friendly and helpful. The room is very clean and organized. I do recommend if you plan to spend a few days in the area and want to have a great time :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
PelicanRV, General Manager at Pelican RV Resort and Motel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit to the Florida Keys! We are glad that you had a great time and we hope to see you again in the very near future!! Best Regards, Maria Simon, Regional Manager More 

various
Level Contributor
147 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2015

We visited he keys for 6 days and 5 nights in our motorhome and ended up staying 5 different RV resorts. One evening we found the Pelican is clean, rustic, 'old Florida' design, clean pool, boat docks, gazabo on the water where we watched the sunset. To use the cable TV, we were told we needed to purchase a Comcast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PelicanRV, General Manager at Pelican RV Resort and Motel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit to the Florida Keys! I am sorry that you had issues with the cable. The cable boxes are free, but you do have to get them directly from Comcast which can be a pain. Again, sorry for that issue and we hope to see you again in the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
11.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
1.5 mi away
Seashell Beach Resort
Seashell Beach Resort
#8 of 18 in Marathon
3.5 of 5 stars 172 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 364 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hawks Cay Resort
Hawks Cay Resort
#1 of 2 in Duck Key
4.0 of 5 stars 3,398 reviews
10.7 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay