We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
1410 Overseas Highway, Marathon, FL 33050
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Captain Pip\\
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

231 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Arundel, Maine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Because we booked so late we could not get one room for our entire stay so was moved around to three different rooms. Marlin-awesome, clean, great views of ocean, flounder was the same, comfortable and clean. Looe Key-run away from this room. very strong mildew smell that made eyes water and nose burn. this room needs total rehab ASAP!!

Helpful?
Thank Bob6900
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was our first time at Captain Pip's and did not know what to expect. The room was clean, nicely furnished, and the efficiency kitchen had all the equipment we needed for preparing meals. We were pleased to find that the room came with a cooler and beach towels that we could use - in the future we will be... More 

Helpful?
Thank M J
CaptainPips, General Manager at Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us this great review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you will come back again for another visit soon! More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The check-in attendants were very nice. The Marina has plenty to do. Our room was very clean and the bed was comfortable. Kitchen sized refrigerator and nice microwave. Out back was patio furniture, a gas grill and an ocean front view to kick back.

Helpful?
Thank Kevin K
CaptainPips, General Manager at Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the great review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you come back to visit with us again at some time! More 

Terang, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

These rooms are very overpriced. Yes, all of the Florida keys are expensive but given there isn't much around this place and the rooms are basically in fishing shacks with a lick of paint and some new furnishing. The walls are paper thin (I could hear every word of the conversation next door, above and also the next building's loud... More 

Helpful?
Thank Frequentjaunts
CaptainPips, General Manager at Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway, responded to this review

We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us, and that there was a problem with the air conditioner. We have found that the compressor went bad & have replaced it. Our resort is always totally full, so your comments that the upstairs a/c was broken and going on & off all night with no one... More 

Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2016

We were in the Keys so we could spend Christmas with our son ,Rick. The room was clean and well furnished, the area around the motel was very nice and the pool was great. We would like a room with more room and a kitchen and sitting room if we come back. We were only there 3 nights and the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank crispy752014
CaptainPips, General Manager at Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us this nice review. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you come back soon for another visit! More 

Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2016

From the moment we checked out of Captain Pip's, our family has been talking about going back, currently working on plans for summer 2016! We loved the "old Florida" feel to this place, but also appreciated the updates, and very clean accommodations. The Tree-top apartment is a very spacious, comfortable one bedroom upstairs unit, with a comfortable sleeper sofa, plus... More 

Helpful?
Thank UNCMickey
CaptainPips, General Manager at Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us this great review! We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you all again later this year! More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2016

We stayed here 2 nights in 2 different rooms only because i wasnt sure of our plans and missed out getting the same room, however even with that i was able to check out of one room and be in the other within about 1 hour which was great. The first night we arrived late to some confusion that the... More 

Helpful?
Thank MrFargs
CaptainPips, General Manager at Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us this review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will choose to stay with us again at some time. We are sorry that you found our staff to be "hit or miss". Usually everyone is very pleasant, helpful and goes out of their way to make... More 

Kolbotn, Norway
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2015

We stayed 3 nights here while exploring The Keys.Normally using chain hotels and the like,it was an experience not to be shoved the keys to our room and pointed the way but actually taken by the friendly receptionist all the way to the dwelling where she opened the door and guided us through the room,while telling us everything we ever... More 

Helpful?
Thank zaraththustra
CaptainPips, General Manager at Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us this great review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you will choose to stay with us again. We would LOVE to put up a huge sign in the front of the resort but unfortunately the city will not allow it! More 

Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2015

First of all -- it's a nice place! They have some 1950s-era rooms that they have totally worked over and made 2010s nice. But this is the Keys, so you have to work with the place and the cool, friendly people like those who run Captain Pips. This is part of a marina, which we think makes it cooler and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Steve R
CaptainPips, General Manager at Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us this nice review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We only reduce our leftover rooms at the last minute, so if you had waited there is a very good chance that you might not have gotten anything at all! More 

Stoughton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2015

our room had a nice ocean view;you can watch marine life from pier;our room had a full kitchen;nice sitting area staff was very nice and helpful.several restaurants in area close to key west.without the high key west prices.would highly reccomend

Helpful?
Thank dick98
CaptainPips, General Manager at Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us this great review! We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you will come back again soon. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

160 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (118)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Other (55)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (42)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
5.9 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
6.0 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Seashell Beach Resort
Seashell Beach Resort
#10 of 18 in Marathon
3.5 of 5 stars 191 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Hammocks at Marathon
The Hammocks at Marathon
#6 of 18 in Marathon
4.0 of 5 stars 248 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay