We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon

2.5 of 5 4590 Overseas Highway, Mile Marker 49 1/2, Marathon, FL 33050
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon
Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon
Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    91
    81
    61
    79
See reviews for
89
152
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (368)
  • Mar-May only
    (114)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (99)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (55)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (100)
All months
Zephyrhills, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed at Banana Bay on a Thursday night on our way to Key West. We looked into a dozen other places to stay, we were right in picking this one. It was a very peaceful and quiet place. The resort had paths to walk thru the many kinds of trees and plants. There was a place to sit and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Barrie
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This was the worst place I have ever been at. The pictures are very old on the website not up to date. We booked through Expedia and left immediately and got our money back. Do not go or book this place they call a RESORT. 0 STAR!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marathon, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Ill admit it is a little outdated however, i love it. Its like being in a tropical rainforest! The pool is great and has a bar right next to it. Tons of palm trees and tropical plants, very shaded (which is a must in the heat down here).The resort is centrally located in Marathon so close to everything. The rooms... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sigfrido V, General Manager at Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon, responded to this review

Good afternoon Jeff: And thank you very much for a great review. I am glad you enjoyed your time with us. As you may already know, we are on the first stage of renovations and our first building is scheduled to return to us completely new in the next couple of months. I hope you will come back and tell... More 

Boulder, Colorado
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Do not believe a single review above poor - it would have to have been written by the employees, families, and friends. This place is old, very dirty, and outdated; they still have 600 lb. televisions in the rooms (that don't work well), furniture that was probably purchased 50 years ago at a garage sale, wallpaper that is faded and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Sigfrido V, General Manager at Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon, responded to this review

Good afternoon Rolanda; I am sorry you experience at Banana Bay was not what you were expecting. However I am glad to report that one of our buildings has already entered full renovations and will be back in inventory in the next couple of months. Our second building will undergo renovations as soon as the first one is completed. If... More 

Jackson, Wyoming
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

musty smelling standing water in air conditioner drain pan found not run stained sheets dirty bathtub way over priced good location friendly front desk person good restaurants in area great state park

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sigfrido V, General Manager at Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon, responded to this review

Good afternoon Jimmydibrown and thank you for your candid feedback. We appreciate honest and open feedback and want you to know that we are in the process of renovating our property already. We have started with our Marina building which will be back in service in the next couple of months. I hope we have an opportunity to welcome you... More 

Brampton
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We decided to stay in Marathon Key for the price compared to Key West. We paid about 500.00 for 2 nights which for this hotel was expensive but I guess location was the factor. The hotel itself needs renovation as the hallway carpet is very old and would look better with ceramic. The room door actually uses a key not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sigfrido V, General Manager at Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon, responded to this review

Good afternoon palmtreesandsun: Thank you very much for your comments and we are glad you enjoyed your time with us. Please know that our resort has already started renovations and in the next couple of months we will be introducing a new room product that we are sure will be well received. I hope we can see you back then... More 

Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is an older resort and has seen better days. That being said, the rooms were very clean (and large), the staff friendly and efficient. The pool is huge! They could use some new chairs and tables in the pool area. Tiki bar is only open on the weekends, serving beer. It's not too bad a place, nothing fancy. Good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sigfrido V, General Manager at Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon, responded to this review

Good morning Irie5678 And thank you for staying with us during the holidays. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and want you to know the next time you visit us you will be in for a surprise. The property has just started to renovate some of its guestrooms and the final product is sure to impress. We... More 

2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here about 8 years ago and had fond memories but today we checked in and left within 2 hours. The room needed a deep cleaning and had a hole in the wall. It was new year's eve and we wanted to sit by the pool and enjoy a few drinks at the Tiki bar but it was closed, looked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Sigfrido V, General Manager at Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon, responded to this review

Good morning Sarah G I am sorry your recent experience at Banana Bay was not what you expected. Certainly the items you mentioned should have not taken place. Please know that starting this month, we will start initial stages of our guestroom renovations. By early March your experience will surely be a different one, and we would love to bring... More 

Portland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Heading to Key West we stopped here as a last second decision. While the property has some age, It has an island feel, is right on the marina and is close to nightlife (Dockside grill) and much more. There is a nice pool, with a pool bar and a restaurant on site. Not a bad value for the money.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sigfrido V, General Manager at Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon, responded to this review

Good morning Kspellman02 And thank you for your recent review and positive comments about the resort. Please know that we have started renovations of our guestrooms and you are sure to enjoy even more your next stay. Stay tuned and we hope to meet you in person the next time. Sig Varela General Manager More 

Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
9 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

If you believe the pictures that are posted you would thinks it's a nice resort. Not the case. Our room smelled musty. The wall paper & paint were peeling. I found severL ants in the room. The tub didn't drain fast enough so I was standing ankle deep in water while taking my shower. But, the people at the desk... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Sigfrido V, General Manager at Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon, responded to this review

Good morning Suezm: And thank you very much for your candid review of our property. I'm glad you mentioned the level of service received by our staff as they are our main asset. Please know that our property is indeed scheduled for major renovations starting this month. This process will be done in stages and by early March you will... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon

Address: 4590 Overseas Highway, Mile Marker 49 1/2, Marathon, FL 33050
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Bay Resort And Marina Marathon Hotel Marathon

169 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (163)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (28)
Viewed
View from room (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (32)
Viewed
Room/suite (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
0:18
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (58)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay