We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 15 Marathon hotels

Tropical Cottages

2.0 of 5 Motel   |   243-61st Street Gulf, Marathon, FL 33050
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Tropical Cottages to your Saves list
Tropical Cottages
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
62%
Ranked #7 of 15 hotels in Marathon
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014
snwatson36
  • Overview
  • Reviews (214)
  • Photos (357)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (50)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

214 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    68
    65
    27
    21
    33
See reviews for
27
121
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

This was my second year in a row staying at tropical cottage. I truly enjoyed my stay! Will be back. However last year the tiki bar was up and running this year it was not! I would like to see that back up and running again. The location is great!! Quiet also! Parking easy. Just a over all great place... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sheila L, Manager at Tropical Cottages, responded to this review

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.....and enough to come back for a second time. The tiki area is a great place to relax, on one of the comfortable couches, or hammocks, or hanging hammock chairs....there are tables under the tiki to sit and enjoy a meal, and a great gas grille to cook it... More

Irving, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

After viewing photos of the Tropical Cottages accommodations on their website, I admit that I didn't have high expectations. Although the interiors looked very dated and more "shabby" than "chic", the exterior of the cottages appeared to have a lovely vintage charm, and the common social areas of the property looked good. I reserved cottage #14 for myself, my teenage... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Sheila L, Manager at Tropical Cottages, responded to this review

We are happy to hear that you "mostly" enjoyed your stay with us. We do apologize if you thought one of office staff was rude....I do believe setting up your reservation was a little difficult....contacting through e-mail, and then talking with you, and then your sister about the details. .....I think the office personal were correct in letting you deal... More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

This place does not let you look at rooms before you pay and its nonrefundable,It is run down .The furnishings were found at the curbside.The couch had torn covers and dirty.would not stay here again.You never see the owners.There was a sign on the door will be right back.It was there the 3 days we were there.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Ft. Myers Fl.
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

we once lived in marathon and return as often as possable. we love staying at coconut cay because of the great staff, many on site free activities, and you can dock your boat at your back door..and at a reasonable price..but this was our annaversity and we thought a cabin would be great..i reserved the room for four nights directly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
Sheila L, Manager at Tropical Cottages, responded to this review

"On rare occasions, I will address a guest like this man....but not often, I do it for the readers of these reviews....Our friend here called the office after seeing a special on Booking.com....it is as follows: A discounted price, due to being "Non-Refundable" which means you book your time, and pay the full amount in advance, and if something should... More

State College, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We were aware of their office hours and stepped by the place early to check in. Room was not ready yet but we just wanted to get our keys in order to be able to enter the room later in the evening (we had planned to have dinner in Key West). Everything went smoothly, lady was really kind. Place is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sheila L, Manager at Tropical Cottages, responded to this review

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We are 1950's "Old Keys" style cottages. We are not for everybody, and we are okay with that. For those of you who enjoy the laid back Keys style.....we are for you. We have cute little cottages, each one different, to accommodate many different tastes......However we are not the Marriott.....and... More

Dandenong, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

After a long day we arrived at Tropical Cottages. Unfortunately my husband / driver had a migraine so we did not venture further south on the Keys. The Cottage was very cute - compact but sufficient for a rest and 1 nights sleep. We had cottage #6 with the outdoor shower - thankfully not too cool the following morning.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kissimmee, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

I stayed for 3 nights. On a positive note, room was large and clean upon arrival. The big picture negative note -- no one seems to care here, or perhaps the owners don't really want to be in the hospitality business....that's how they act. No one is friendly, no one inquires as to whether the customer needs anything or is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sumter, South Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Tropical Cottages for two nights on our way back from a Key West anniversary getaway. We booked through the website booking.com and it showed us pictures of cute, quaint little cottages. Once we checked in, we realized that the pictures were deceiving! After opening the door we were greeted with a worn out rug... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Belleville, Canada
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Like so many other reviews already written, which unfortunately I read when I returned home, Tropical Cottages in Marathon seems to still be getting away with the same shoddy practices and deliberately misleading advertising that characterize many of the reviews given in the past couple of months. My own experience was to have paid in excess of $200 a day... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

My wife and I stayed at Cabin #4. Accommodations were adequate but not fancy. A great setup for a fisherman or fisher woman. The cottages were cute and roomy. The front desk clerk was very helpful and friendly. He informed us of the places to visit during our stay. It is off the beaten path but great for a little... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sheila L, Manager at Tropical Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Tropical Cottages. We are quaint, and we are relaxing. We are an original 1950's Old Keys Experience.....we offer clean rooms, at a reasonable price. And although we are located on a small side street....61st St Gulf, we are just off of U.S. 1...which is the main, and only path through The... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Tropical Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Tropical Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Cottages

Address: 243-61st Street Gulf, Marathon, FL 33050
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tropical Cottages 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Tropical Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Cottages Hotel Marathon

357 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (134)
Viewed
Room/suite (57)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
2:34
Videos (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (47)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (153)
Viewed
Amenities (8)
Viewed
Premier King Cottage (88)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (24)
Viewed
The Hotel (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (71)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (68)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
10

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer