We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sunset Inn

82200 Overseas Hwy, P.O. Box 561, Islamorada, FL 33036
Sunset Inn
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    38
    29
    16
    15
See reviews for
22
42
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (125)
  • Mar-May only
    (53)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (32)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (11)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (29)
All months
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Its an old hotel , good inexpensive place to sleep , no more , no less . I usually stay there twice a year , and one of those is for a week . no issues of any sort . I use the hotel for shower and sleep , it works for me !!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Schenectady, New York
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The floor in the room was disgustingly dirty. There are not enough plugs to charge both your phone and your laptop simultaneously. The mattress was very thin, old and you can feel every spring. The small refrigerator is rusty and keeps making noise all night. The pool was filthy. There was dust on the table and something sticky. The morning... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Islamorada hotels

Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This place is a gem!! Its not Holiday Inn so don't come expecting 4 star motel. It has the best price, clean swimming pool is great with shade and sun loved watching the lizards run around. Maid service was A plus. They have tables to sit out side and bbq grills for you to use. We stayed 5 days and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I would love to call this place "quaint" or "retro keys" but I can't, it's just bad. The rooms appear clean but they are certainly not maintained. The light fixtures were full of bugs. The edge of the sink fixture was broken, trim peeled off the bathroom shelf and what was growing behind the panel by the shower control, I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bay City, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This inn looks like the sterotypical 1950's roadside motel. We made reservations over the phone because they don't offer online reservations. It's run down, could benefit from a great deal of updating. Our first room had a wet towel on the bed, and was supposed to have been cleaned. We were switched to another room, and appeared cleaner and somewhat... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Philadelphia, Pa.
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
21 hotel reviews
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I recently visited Islamorada, Florida to attend our nephews wedding. We planned to spend a week here, so we checked the Trip Advisor site for a reasonably priced hotel. We read the reviews and picked the Sunset Inn as our home base in the Keys. Good choice : ). We rented an efficiency unit in the back... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Deborah G, Owner at Sunset Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the nice review. We are not the Hilton but do have clean rooms. We work hard at keeping the rates low. Hope you will come see us again. More 

miami
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very simply put, this property is great for what it is, a roadside Motel. Dont go in with grand aspirations because you will be disappointed, instead go with an open mind ready to relax and enjoy the Florida Keys. The property is perfectly situated to be able to travel the middle and lower keys and still avoid many of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Deborah G, Owner at Sunset Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review. We are constantly updating things. We work very hard to be clean Hope you will come see us again soon More 

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I was a little nervous at first after reading the reviews on here... I have to say what a pleasant surprise !! Its not the Ritz or a $300 a night resort but for a motel on a popular Island it was perfect !!! When we arrived we were greeted by a nice young lady who was very helpful. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Deborah G, Owner at Sunset Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review. As you said, Its not the Ritz or a $300 a night resort We are clean and neat and a very reasonably priced. Hope you come and see us again soon. Thanks again for the great review. More 

Naples, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My sister-in-law and I spent two nights at the Sunset Inn last week. It was very nice. A friend had told us what was provided and what was not, so we were prepared with a large ice cooler, coffee pot and hair dryers, shampoos etc. If you know this in advance, it's no big deal. Towels and bar soap provided.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Deborah G, Owner at Sunset Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for the Great reveiw We are an older motel but try to keep the pricing reasonable so everyone can enjoy the Keys. We have a pool but no beach but the Lorelei is walking distance for GREAT sunsets, food and music. Thanks again. Come see us soon. More 

West Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2015

I hav stayed here many, many times.. this place is an old Florida-style motel.. it is not the Hilton nor the Marriott, but then again, its less than half the price of those places.. with that said, I will tell you that when I go to the upper keyes I want to spend my money on swimming with the dolphins,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Deborah G, Owner at Sunset Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for the Great review. We work at keeping our rates reasonable. I am the owner and at any time you could find me working the desk, helping a guest, assisting the maids. That is how we keep the expenses down so you can have a great affordable stay. Thanks again Come see us soon More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

18 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (18)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities