We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cheeca Lodge & Spa

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel packages
81801 Overseas Highway, Mile Marker 82, Islamorada, FL 33036
Offers & Announcements
Spring Weekday Sale!
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Write a Review

1,847 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    889
    490
    264
    126
    78
See reviews for
533
932
20
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (607)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1847)
  • Mar-May only
    (454)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (493)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (426)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (474)
All months
There are newer reviews for Cheeca Lodge & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Asheville, NC
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We had been looking forward to this vacation for nearly a year...and we really needed one where we could simply do nothing...and Cheeca offered just that. Upon checking in, we were told our room would not be ready until later in the afternoon, which was fine with us, so we went out and got some groceries for the room. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
CheecaSales, Director of Sales at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review

We were very honored to hear that you chose Cheeca for your yearly vacation. It is unfortunate that you had some issues with your room amenities – we apologize! Fortunately it sounds like our maintenance department was able to care of the problems in timely manner. We are so sorry for the inconvenience caused by the noisy guests, and for... More 

Melbourne, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

I have been looking forward to this trip to the Cheeca for quite sometime. I have always wanted to stay here. Our room was beautiful and almost everything I had imagined that it would be. There were a few inconveniences such as the ice machine not working and no remote for the tv but overall I was very satisfied with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
CheecaSales, Director of Sales at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. We were delighted to hear you found your accommodations beautiful and almost everything was how you imagined it would be. It was very disappointing to read about your experiences with our restaurant servers. We take great pride in our level of service in all areas, and we are so sorry that we did... More 

Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

This was our first adult weekend away in 10 years so we were looking foward to a week-end away in Islamorada. However the lack of customer service left a very bad taste in our mouths. From the horrible delays at the Valet Stand to no acknowledgement from the staff when trying to ask a question. We felt as thought for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
CheecaSales, Director of Sales at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review

We appreciate your comments and were happy to hear that your room was the highlight of your stay. We acknowledge and apologize for our lack of customer service. We find reviews like yours distressing to say the least, and make it our main mission to get to the heart of our service challenges. We think that the photos on our... More 

Washington, DC
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We just returned from a three night stay at Cheeca Lodge. We stayed in a bungalow on the beach, which had the advantage of being fairly secluded and away from most of the crowds on a very popular holiday weekend. While the room itself was nice, we were pretty appalled to find that the bathroom was unclean and that the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
CheecaSales, Director of Sales at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review

We thank you for your input, and were glad to hear your beach bungalow was nice. It was so rewarding to hear you found the service at our restaurants, beach and pool areas to be excellent and that overall, you enjoyed your stay here. With reference to the housekeeping issue, please accept our deepest apologies. We are investigating how this... More 

Miami, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

My family loves to stay at the hotel or the bungalows when we visit from Miami. The food has never been better and the service has improved quite a lot over the last year or so. Many new faces add to the familiar staff and most are very attentive. One thing, unfortunately: the music is awfully loud and unpleasant. In... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
New York City, New York
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

My son, his wife, their two boys and I stayed for 3 nights at Cheeca Lodge. We all thoroughly enjoyed our stay. While it was expensive we felt we got good value. There is lots for the kids to do. The high light for me was our dinner in the Japanese restaurant. It was the best I have ever had.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I've been waiting to go to the Cheeca Lodge for more than a year. I've looked in awe at all of the online pictures and heard a couple of nice things from people in passing. When I pulled up to the Cheeca Lodge, it looked very nice. It had a Key West European flare. Unfortunately, the remainder of the premises... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Warwick, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed in the Premier Oceanfront King Suite with the open-air soak tub. Amazing room!! We loved our stay there. We went in early December and it was very quiet. Only thing I personally didn't like about the trip was that the FL Keys by the resort doesn't have ocean waves.. it's more like bay/still lake water but that isn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
palm bch, county
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

This was our 1st trip to antwhere EXCEPT, Key West.. And we loved it.. Very peaceful..Just what we were looking for. The staff was very friendly, grounds were nice , clean, and even went for a nice bike ride. Not fishermen ourselves, but sure the fishermann would love it here, also. We would love to go back..

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

During my experience at Cheeca Lodge and Spa. I had incredible services with Allison Ertischek. She was a great Esthetician. I recieved a facial with her last year. we rebooked our trip today, and are excited to experience the spa again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hotel Review Summarization

What travelers say

  • Resort fee(47)
  • Very nice(34)
  • TIKI bar(25)
  • Main building(18)
  • Adult pool(14)
  • Atlantic Edge(12)
  • Family pool(9)
  • Very good(9)
  • Golf course(8)
  • Great Place(8)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

989 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (703)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (152)
Viewed
Room/suite (95)
Viewed
Bathroom (31)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (173)
Viewed
View from room (49)
Viewed
Family/play areas (4)
Viewed
Dining (41)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
1:59
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (155)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (258)
Viewed
Adult Pool (15)
Viewed
Amenities (23)
Viewed
Beach (31)
Viewed
Family Pool (24)
Viewed
Hidden Lawn Jaccuzzi (8)
Viewed
Luxury Lagoon View Double Queen Room (76)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (10)
Viewed
The Hotel (71)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question