We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cheeca Lodge & Spa

4.0 of 5 81801 Overseas Highway, Mile Marker 82, Islamorada, FL 33036
Click for phone number
Hotel website
Hotel packages
Special Offer
Up To 25% Off Suites
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Write a Review

1,609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    781
    426
    225
    109
    68
See reviews for
480
809
20
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (514)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1609)
  • Mar-May only
    (414)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (493)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (370)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (332)
All months
LOUJPASS
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

At the moment of check in you realize you are in Avery special place. You are seated at a desk with a glass of champagne. The room was beautiful as was the surroundings . The restaurants are outstanding. Would not hesitate to return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Our entire family with 5 rooms total, stayed at Cheeca for 6 nights in July.My family of 4 stayed in a suite with kitchen and lagoon view. It was very small. My kids slept on the pull out couch, which was just ok. It had a thin cheap blanket. There wasn't anywhere to put their suitcases, or drawers to unpack.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Worldwide
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I rolled into Islamorada without a plan or a reservation. I had stayed previously at Cheeca Lodge in the 90's. I love it here. The room was awesome and the gave me a great mid-week rate (off season). I used the beach, the pool, the spa and even played pitch and putt golf ( i hate golf). The place has... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CheecaLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review

How nice to have you back after your last stay in the 1990’s! Thank you for coming back. The “old” Cheeca was a wonderful resort, but today’s Cheeca represents a legacy of luxury that really is unmatched in the Florida Keys. We appreciate your recognition of this, and are so happy you enjoyed your stay. Please don’t wait another 20... More

Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Cheeca is beautiful!! Everything is fantastic. From the front desk staff, to the rooms, to the restaurant staff, to the beach and pools it is literally amazing there!! We checked in and our room wasnt quite ready but the staff said they would call when it was and they did immediately and early before the official check in time!! We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CheecaLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your excellent review of our tropical island paradise in the heart of the Florida Keys. Our mission here at Cheeca is to orchestrate an unforgettable vacation experience for each and every guest, and it sounds like we accomplished that with you. Fantastic! We are delighted you enjoyed your meals at the oceanfront Tiki Bar and Atlantic’s Edge,... More

PSL, FL
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The rooms were so amazing and large. We had an ocean front room 2018 that was incredible!! All the staff was amazing and I would strongly recommend this resort to all!! Will definitely come back again! The outdoor tubs included in some rooms really made it special to soak and see the ocean!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
CheecaLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review

We really appreciate your wonderful comments. Our suites in the main lodge are the largest in the Florida Keys (840 square feet), and each has roomy soaking tub on the open air balcony. This feature is one of the most popular of our room amenities, and we are so happy you enjoyed the stunning ocean views from yours. We are... More

Austin, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We had a wonderful ocean view room with a tub on the balcony. The grounds and the room were truly gorgeous as was the sunrise every morning. However I will second what a lot of reviewers say about expensive food and mediocre experiences with housekeeping and reception staff. Something came up with our reservation that needed to be resolved. As... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CheecaLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review

We strive for perfection every day with all our guests, and it sounds like we almost got there with you. Thank you for your compliments about your spacious room, our tropically landscaped grounds and our adults only spa pool. We apologize for our shortcomings with housekeeping; we are undergoing staffing and departmental improvements that will address these issues. We are... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

We just got back from our stay at Cheeca, and everything was absolutely amazing. There were no rental cars available in Marathon (where we flew in to), so we had to take a taxi there. Needless to say, not a great start to the beginning of the honeymoon. Thankfully the Cheeca Lodge was able to turn everything around and make... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CheecaLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review

Your amazing review made us pause for a moment to appreciate how rewarding the hospitality business can be. We are absolutely delighted that we made your honeymoon so memorable, and that we exceeded all your expectations. It is wonderful to hear that you made good use of our complimentary shuttle service, and that you found our restaurants to be excellent... More

Watford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My wife and I just had a really nice relaxed week here. We booked through a UK agent and got a deal which I think would be essential, otherwise very expensive. Not many people around as it was low season but even when busy the grounds are big enough to lose everybody. Two pools and adult pool was very quiet.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CheecaLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review

We are delighted you had a nice relaxing week here after traveling all the way from the United Kingdom. Cheeca has 27 acres of lushly landscaped tropical gardens, so you are right; there is plenty of room for everyone here! We are glad you enjoyed the peaceful tranquility of our two swimming pools and salt water lagoon. We are also... More

Fishers, IN
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Let me start by saying that I absolutely love this place, which is why we just returned from our 2nd visit! However, I do have to say, that it is far from perfection and if one is paying full price for these accomodations, they may be disappointed. We stayed in one of the bungalows right on the beach - which... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CheecaLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review

We greatly appreciate your kind and honest review of our property. We are thrilled you came back for a second stay, and it sounds like you will be returning again which makes us very happy. We agree with you that our beachfront bungalow outdoor furniture needs to be refurbished and you will be happy to know that we have started... More

Deerfiield Beach, FL
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We've always enjoyed Cheeca but disappointed by the quality of bedding in a $400++ room. Lumpy hard pillows and sandpaper sheets. Really surprised. Room had broken knob on bathroom sliding door. Spent a lot of money for a "garden view" room only to check in to find we overlooked a white roof with palms on the distant perimeter. Told no... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CheecaLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review

We were deeply dismayed by your review. As one of our treasured repeat guests, we find your comments disheartening. We are truly sorry that we did not meet your expectations during your visit, and we certainly would have moved you to a more suitable room if one had been available. We apologize for the issues you had with your bedding... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Do you own or manage Cheeca Lodge & Spa?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Cheeca Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Hotel Summarization (Beta)

What travelers say

  • Resort fee(48)
  • Very nice(36)
  • TIKI bar(26)
  • Main building(18)
  • Adult pool(14)
  • Atlantic Edge(12)
  • Very good(9)
  • Great Place(9)
  • Family pool(9)
  • Golf course(8)

Additional Information about Cheeca Lodge & Spa

Address: 81801 Overseas Highway, Mile Marker 82, Islamorada, FL 33036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cheeca Lodge & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Jetsetter, Amex, Travelocity, Otel, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cheeca Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheeca Hotel Islamorada
Cheeca Resort Islamorada
Cheeca Lodge Florida
Cheeca Lodge And Spa
Cheeca Lodge Islamorada
Cheeca Lodge Spa

917 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (632)
Viewed
Room/suite (81)
Viewed
View from room (45)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (143)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (119)
Viewed
Bathroom (23)
Viewed
Dining (39)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
1:59
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (176)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (258)
Viewed
Adult Pool (15)
Viewed
Amenities (23)
Viewed
Beach (31)
Viewed
Family Pool (24)
Viewed
Hidden Lawn Jaccuzzi (8)
Viewed
Luxury Lagoon View Double Queen Room (76)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (10)
Viewed
The Hotel (71)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay